We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carden Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Tarporley(Tarporley)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,612)
Filter reviews
4,612 results
Traveller rating
2,537
1,256
480
206
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,537
1,256
480
206
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf breakthe main hoteltwo double bedscourtyard roomvines restaurantspa treatmentslovely hotelgreat facilitiesevening meallovely groundsrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesredmonds restaurantnight breaksteam roomchanging roomsfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
3,599 - 3,604 of 4,612 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here 4/11/13 for 1 night in the king suite, absolutely stunning hotel and room was amazing. It's a bit remote if your used to amenities close by, it was also a bit expensive drinks wise ( but we took plenty of our own drinks!!!!)
It was really quite when we stayed felt like only guests in hotel. Loads to do for families and spa and pool were lovely.
Breakfast was really nice,hot and fresh
Definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely try and stay in a king suite it was lovely, clean comfortable and jacuzzi was.....fun!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We are very pleased to learn that you found your suite amazing and will definitely return. Thank you for writing this kind review - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel should be excellent, impressive building, fantastic large grounds, spa complex, etc., however, as noted by other reviewers it is all rather let down by a lack of attention to detail, and the staff who don't seem to have any real interest in providing great customer service. Check in staff were functional but not particularly warm in their greeting or welcoming. Restaurant staff not particularly welcoming or efficient, even when the restaurant (the Vines) was quiet. Menu in the Vines was somewhat limited, and the "specials" were not changed throughout our stay (2 out of the 3 specials were caeser salad and spaghetti bolognese, not exactly special). Car park badly lit, badly signposted and a long way from reception. Activity Centre all video games broken, pool table broken, table tennis bats all damaged (when I asked why they didn't buy any news ones I was told "because people don't look after them", by "people" I assume they mean customers, although I wasn't aware table tennis bats needed a great deal of "looking after"). So all in all our visit was just OK, no where near great; and if I want OK there are many less expensive hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We are sorry and very disappointed to read your review. We can assure you that the team have been made aware of your feedback, including G3 our onsite activity company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would describe this hotel as good, rather than very good, but that's not an option.
Its a very impressive looking hotel but it is lacking in some areas.
The only ground floor toilets available were at the far end of the hotel, a long walk away from the main foyer, as those in reception were being refurbed. I would have expected a toilet in both the bar and restaurant areas, but we had to take the long walk.
The 2 lifts are rather small and were very smelly throughout our stay. An air freshener would have helped.
We ordered lunch in the bar area and had a long wait. When it did arrive the steak was undercooked in spite of asking for it to be well done as our friend was pregnant. No cutlery or condiments were provided and we had to ask for these. 3 of us had to eat our meal before it went cold whilst waiting for our friends meal to be cooked correctly. Not what you want when joining friends for lunch.
After lunch we decided to use the pool and spa facilities. There we no robes available so we had to walk from our rooms to the pool with towels wrapped round us. There was no supervision of the pool area resulting in children using both the Jacuzzi and the 'adult only swimming lane' and there were no paper cones to drink water from.
Food in the main restaurant was average and our table was perched right next to a serving point so staff were constantly pushing past us. In the end we moved the table away. There were other vacant tables available that just needed re laying.
After waiting for a table or breakfast for about 10mins, we were told we could use the Vines bistro round the corner. The choice of breakfast was good, but the food was cool and dried out.
Generally the staff were rather aloof and slow. Customer service training needed.
The hotel could be excellent if run correctly.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are large with 2 double beds
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

1 family room. Picked this for the pool, but kids arent allowed in after 6pm which restricts it if you are out all day. Dinner was decent if somewhat overpriced and breakfast the usual buffet scrum. This is a big hotel so dont expect personalised service - dont think i'm the only person to note that staff are hardly attentive to what their guests want / need.. About 10 miles from Chester which is useful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review and your comments have been noted. During the time of your stay the hotel had been very busy as it was the half term school holidays and our children's swimming hours had been extended from 10am - 6pm. We are currently looking into changing the times as we try to make it fair for all our guests to enjoy the pool. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity and return outside of the school holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference.

The rooms was in 1 of the many out buildings at the back of the hotel. Looked a little dated, and the cleaner had left used shampoo & shower gel on the bath from the previous occupant. The towel rack was also hanging off the wall.

I reported these to reception and they apologized and addressed.

Food was good, well priced, and the bar prices were not that bad for a hotel of this standard.

What strikes you about this hotel is its surroundings, and the 1 mile drive up the entrance road where you can be greeted by lots of Cheshire wildlife.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for writing your review following your recent conference and thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your findings in your room. All feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write, especially that you found Carden to be a great hotel and in a good location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews