We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, looking forward to my next stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet B
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, looking forward to my next stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming. Great thought and care has been put into creating this lovely holiday cottage. All mod cons and beautiful countryside. Lots of walking straight from the door. A great local pub is 10mins walk away and there is lots to do in the area. A great destresser, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and quality
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a two night stay at Granary Cottage and loved every minute of it! Jackie and Ray are very welcoming and attentive to anything we needed. Special thanks to Jackie for helping us find our way on our walk around the beautiful sandstone trail! We would recommend this stay to anyone! Thank you again, we hope to stay again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuandGwe...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite Simply, EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed over the Christmas period whilst visiting family. This is our second stay and now have enjoyed both of the cottages. The standard of the overall accommodation is excellent!
the lounge, bathroom and bedroom are lovely. I was particularly impressed with the kitchen. all the appliances and accessories are really "top notch" WiFi is also superb!
I would never hesitate in recommending Granary cottage.!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
477liz
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best self catering accommodation ever!”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Absolutely beautifully maintained cottage. Everything looked like new from the kitchen saucepans to the decoration of the cottage. When we arrived we were welcomed by Jackie (her husband Ray was away visiting his parents) and she said if we needed anything during our stay to let her know. We stayed for seven days and did not need to bother her once except to say that I had broken one of their champagne glasses! i.e. she had provided all and more than we needed. She even allowed us to take our cat, Toffee, which was so kind and made our Christmas even more special. Cannot recommend this accommodation more. You will not be disappointed, I promise, if you say here!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“Charming cottage, very well presented in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I would like to say how much we really enjoyed staying in Bakers Cottage (next to Granary Cottage). It exceeded our expectations on every level and we would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a charming self-catering cottage in the peaceful Cheshire countryside. The owners, Jackie and Ray made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Look forward to staying there again soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Modern Accomodation”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Enjoyed my stay, Ray and Jackie were wonderful hosts. The scenery was breathtaking.
The accommodation was of very high modern standards. Looking forward to my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice country side setting
Liked least: A bit far from the nearest train station
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe M
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect break before Christmas”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Jackie. She welcomed us into the beautiful cottage which had everything we needed for the weekend. We had the best of both worlds with having a day and night in Chester City centre, which is a 20 minute drive or £20-25 taxi fare and the following time in the countryside making trips to some local castles.

The cottage itself was very clean and of a high standard. The owners Jackie and Ray made us feel very welcome and helped make our experience one to remember. The touch of the eggs and honey were a nice little treat too. Oh and not forgetting the fresh milk in the fridge. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to take a short or long break. Thank you Jackie and Ray.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel
Liked least: Can not fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing