We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Baker's cottage: beautiful”
other traveller has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Baker's cottage: beautiful”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I can't really recommend Baker's Cottage highly enough. It's beautifully fitted out, catering for your every need. Little touches like fresh flowers and home-produced honey really added to our enjoyment of the weekend. It's warm, cosy and comfortable, within easy walking distance of good pubs and local walks. We cooked in the lovely kitchen, and it had every utensil we needed (rare I find, in a self catering cottage!). Jackie and Ray are so friendly and welcoming. We would love to return and think you should stay there too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and thought Ray and Jackie have put in to making guests welcome
Liked least: Nothing to say here...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndepTrav...
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay at The Bakery!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We love this cottage! It is comfy, clean, spacious and came with dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and even a well stocked first aid kit! The cottage has a very neat wood burner. There is also plenty of firewood and kindling for our use, which came in very handy as it got more autumnal during our stay.

On arrival, we found a vase of freshly cut flowers on the dining table to welcome us. There was milk in the fridge and a basket of apples and oranges. We also found for our use a jar of their locally produced honey, lots of fresh herbs and fresh eggs. Such thoughtful gestures have definitely set this holiday cottage apart from so many others we have had stayed in.

We love Jackie and Ray's attention to details in order to ensure their guests have a relaxing stay. I love the fluffy towels, contemporary walk-in shower, toiletries and comfy bed. He likes to play with the wood burner and loves the parking space amidst attractive garden setting for his toy.

During our stay, we visited some very beautiful and interesting places: Chester (about 20minutes drive to the park and ride), Tarporley, Nantwich, Llangollen (steam train and pub lunch by the river).

If we ever visit the region again, without doubt The Bakery is where we would want to stay again. Thanks Jackie and Ray for making our holiday very enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds...
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely Immaculate”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Without doubt, Baker's Cottage, one of two Sandstone Trail Cottages, is best cottage we have stayed in………and we’ve stayed in quite a few over the years. The quality of the refurbishment and attention to detail is second to none. No expense has been spared. The solid oak furniture, stairs and bedroom floor sing out! The cottage is absolutely immaculate. Fresh flowers, fresh fruit, and a little window ledge herb garden are lovely touches.
The kitchen is fully fitted with dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer. The utensils and crockery are first rate. High speed internet – 45,000 download – is available.
There is a private parking space for your toy, and a beautiful little garden to the front of the property. There is also a lock up shed for bicycles and BBQ equipment. Logs are provided for the wood burner. There is even a Bose Bluetooth loudspeaker to use with your smartphone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful presentation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked our stay as Sandstone cottages as a present for my husbands 30th birthday treat. We can certainly say we had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Our accommodation was beautiful, clean , comfortable and cosy set within the stunning and peaceful country side.

We couldn't wish for more friendly hosts - from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

We particular enjoyed collecting fresh eggs from the hens and eating them for our breakfast. Our two year old son thought this was brilliant! These little touches were very much appreciated.

They made our break extra special by having such a kind and caring attitude.

Thank you for having us! We would love to come back one day.

Lucy, Dan & Benjamin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRidds
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome awaits at Sandstone Cottages”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed at Sandstone while competing at the Pony Club Championships at Cholmondeley Castle. Jackie & Ray couldn't have been more accommodating. After the damp and mud of the show grounds, it was wonderful to come back to the luxury of the cottage to have a lovely soak and a good night's sleep in beautiful bed linen. After one particularly tiring day, they even supplied cold beers to come back to!! Wouldn't hesitate to book a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury bed linen and towels
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDunc
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Can't Decide Which One Is Best”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our second visit to Sandstone Trail Cottages. This time we stayed in Bakers Cottage for a long week-end. We had a great time in this beautiful cottage. Jackie and Ray again made us fell so welcome and treated like old friends. They really pull out all the stops to make you feel at home.
We had a debate which cottage was the best. They are both fantastic but if you were to twist my arm, I would go for Bakers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollythed...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spotless, luxurious and dog friendly ”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were so pleased to find a property that looked really nice and comfortable and accepted dogs. When we arrived we were amazed. It is truly gorgeous - every detail thought of and an innovative use of space. There are great walks from the door, which the dogs loved.
Jackie greeted us on arrival and was so friendly that the motorway drive stress vanished immediately. It's just heaven. Book now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing