We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This hotel is set in a beautiful location. I spent one night here on business and found the staff very friendly. Room rates were very reasonable and the food in the bistro was very nice.

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Very nice grounds
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ash1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    187
    79
    46
    29
See reviews for
159
366
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We stayed for two nights as part of a wedding party. Breakfast was very poor - don't ask for marmalade (you'll be disappointed !). We were in the 'annexe', which is separate from the main building and roughly identical to a travel lodge in fittings - i expected better for the money. The cleaning was suspect and a complaint from one member of our party elicited the response that 'if he didn't like it he knew what he could do'. Housekeeping staff left my daughter's room unlocked after cleaning and we had no hot water on the second morning. Don't think i'll be rushing back there.

  • Liked — wedding dinner was very good
  • Disliked — cleanliness, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

I fall for it every time.

The "country house hotel" web site, the glowing prose, the photos of rolling countryside.........

I stay in hotels about 50 nights a year for both business and pleasure, and on this occasion it was for business.

Yes, the grounds are beautiful, the building stunning and steeped in history..... and maybe these are important if you are there for a weekend on a romantic break or something. However, for business travellers, the agenda is somewhat different.

My room to be fair was huge, as was the bed. However, it was a bit like staying at your nan's. All the furniture was 1930's and the decor was definately 1980's. But fine. OK for one night.

I stayed on a chilly evening at the end of October. The very helpful man at reception helped me with my case to the room but then, astonishingly, dumped it outside in the corridor (is that just me being picky?). All the corridors were unheated and freezing, as was the room. To be fair, once I turned the radiators on, it warmed up in a couple of hours though. Went down to the bar and it was all a bit Fawlty Towers. One, exuberant but completely untrained, lady was serving drinks and serving the entire restaurant! She was doing her best, is all I can say there! I was rushed with indecent haste from the (unheated) bar into the (unheated) restaurant and force fed food at an astonishing rate! When you are on your own in a hotel, you like to make the bar/restaurant thing last all night -but here it was all over in 40 minutes!

It wasn't terrible or anything. But I wouldn't go back on my own money. I think the only reason I was there in the first place is that it seemed the best place in the area - so if push comes to shove, yes, I would go there again - but only if there wasn't anything obviously better. Maybe next time I will go a bit further afield to the Hollins Hall or something 20 mins down the road.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank GillyHolidayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

I booked this hotel simply because it was so close to my business appointment the following day however based on my experience I will stay there even if my appointment is further away.

When I arrived I was very very pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel was. It is situated a few hundred yards away from the road in lushious grounds (the golf course) and is stunningly beautiful in that olde worlde England style. Very classy.

The service did not disappoint either. The young gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful and pointed out the facilities (bar and restaurant). There is no lift which could make it a bit of trek for older guests.

The room or suite in my case was beautiful. Four poster bed, tasteful decor and a lovely bay window looking out onto the grounds and the beautiful yorkshire scenery in the background. Definitely worthwhile bringing the girlfriend next time.

And for those travelling on business there was even free Wifi internet access. Not fantastic speeds that you might get in the city but very useful and appreciated for basic browing and email.

Didn't see any facilities for youngsters or children.

Since I arrived late at night and had already eaten I did not try out the restaurant but I will make a point of doing so next time. I don't think I will be disappointed somehow.

All in all I recommended Bagden Hall highly, due to its beauty, its friendly staff, free internet access and lovely rooms. Business or pleasure I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julesybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
945 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
456 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing