We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed two nights at Bagden Hall Hotel on a Spring Break which proved to be excellent value. Our room was in the lakeside lodge and was clean,warm, a generous size with everything we required. Bagden Hall is a lovely old country house, formerly built by a wealthy mill owner and stands on a hill in lovely grounds and overlooks the valley below. Our break included an afternoon cream tea, delicious scones and plain, but very nice cakes. Dinner was also included and was truly excellent on both nights, taken from the table d'hôte menu. The staff could not do enough for you and seemed genuinely interested in what they were doing. The only little criticism I would make was that it would be much nicer at breakfast if tea/coffee were served in pots on the table, rather than being taken around by the staff from table to table. I think I would prefer to stay in the hotel itself if taking a winter break, rather than in the annexe.

Overall, we had the most enjoyable break at Bagden Hall and would have no hesitation in recommending it, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay - thankyou for your comments and feedback & we hope to welcome you again soon

Kind reagrds
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    190
    79
    46
    30
See reviews for
160
371
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Purchased an afternoon tea voucher for my husband for his birthday and he wasn't disappointed. Had to wait til our children went on their hols to their grandparents in Wales, but it was worth the wait. No kerfuffle with our gluten free requirements and more than enough sandwiches and alternative GF sweet treats to satisfy. Especially loved the coconut pannacotta.

Very refreshing to go to a hotel and not have to explain what gluten free is, plus the bread was clearly GF, but still fresh.

Caroline and Lewis most attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 38hardy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Happy to read you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience with us & we hope you join us again .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night on 13th april. Our room was in the main building, it was huge, clean and tidy, huge bed.
We ate in the restaurant, the food was excellent, the same with the brekfast.
The staff were excellent, even when i enquired about the helicopter in the garden!!
The gardens and surroundings are lovely. Will b lovely to sit out in the summer.
All round excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your lovely comments which I will share with The Team . We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel. Which was fairly modestly priced, the staff tried hard, the evening meal was only OK but again was not expensive. Breakfast was actually pretty good, plenty of variety and the cooked food was done well. Our big problem was that we were in the lakeside rooms which is adjacent to the main hotel and actually next to a farmyard - it actually smelt like we were in the cowshed - very unpleasant - you absolutely couldnt open the window. It really took the edge off for us, if you are planning to stay make absolutely sure you are staying the main hotel!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We are lucky enough to be set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside & have working farms nearby . I am sorry if the smells of the countryside effected your stay but am pleased to read that overall your enjoyed your visit
Regards
Caroine Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I can not find one bad word to say about this venue they were fab from the min we book until the day we booked out after our wedding day. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our day I didn't have one worry. Many guests commented on how good they were too. we have some amazing photos in the lovely grounds. The honeymoon suit was amazing, very big and clean. The food was lovely and warm. I would defiantly recommend this venue to anybody that is looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad to read you enjoyed your Wedding Celebrations with us .
Good luck to you both for your future together .
Warmest regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for a relatives wedding.
I found the mattress a bit soft and the room was freezing when I first entered it because the radiator was turned off. I assume this was because of energy bills but it would have been nice to have a little heat to walk into.
The rest of the room was faultless. The only gripe I have about the bathroom is that the shower was a fixed attachment to the wall and wasn't adjustable in any way. It also made a horrible fast clanking sound and the water pulsated.
All rooms are advertised as WiFi enabled. I was staying in the main house and had no wifi signal at all. Relatives staying in the Lakeside Annexe had intermittent connection.
The pie on the bistro menu was a bit small for my liking.
Breakfast was a mixed bag - wide selection of fruit juices, fruit and cereal. Cooked breakfast arrived quickly but the sausage was a bog standard supermarket sausage that you'd find in a work refectory. I would have expected a locally sourced sausage or at least something of a higher quality. The bacon was much cop either.

As for the wedding, well what can I say. Completely faultless. Beautiful falling off the bone lamb shanks were the highlight of the menu. Also a decent finger buffet in the evening with a wide range of snacks. A great day was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Sorry to read your room was cold when you arrived . It is very difficult to get it just right at this time of the year when cold evenings sometimes follow mild days .
We do indeed offer free Wi Fi across the Hotel - I am sorry if you experienced problems with the reception - this has now been checked out .& while it is now at full strength we are looking at putting in some additional booster points around the buildings as many of the walls in the Main House are over a metre thick and this may have caused an issue for you .
Thank you for your sharing your views regarding the food you experienced and your very positive comments regarding the wedding you attended .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We first came to Bagden Hall last October and enjoyed our stay so much that we returned a couple of weeks ago.

Once again all staff members we met were very polite and helpful, and everywhere was clean and tidy.

Our evening meal was excellent quality and piping hot as was the cooked breakfast which is freshly prepared rather than buffet style servery.

Our only negative comment is that we felt that there could be a wider selection of fruit options in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback -I am happy to read you enjoyed your visit to us again & we will certainly review our fruit offering at breakfast following your suggestion .
I hope to welocme you back again very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,553 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing