We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely over night stay”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely over night stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here recently for a night for a relaxing day ... we arrived at 4,30 to find afternoon tea was included in our deal as well as evening meal and next day breakfast ...
lovely afternoon tea except for the sandwiches .. i would have liked to have been asked what sandwich i prefer.. as it was it was ham tomatoes and mustard .. salmon or cucumber ... i hate all three so my hubby enjoyed them all ....scone and other cake with cream was nice ... evening meal was lovely but waited over 45 mins for it to arrive even though their was only 3 couples in the restaurant ....room lovely and clean ... went for a bath fixed shower panel ..so i had to climb in to turn on the taps ..and got soaked with freezing shower water as someone had turned ithe switch round ...
but i really enjoyed our stay even though i asked for a touch of lemonade in my wine found out next day on my bill they had charged me £1.21 for it ....daylight robbery lovely well kept grounds though beautiful gardens would return ... but i will take my own splash of lemonade ....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback . Our special Spring Offer includes Dinner and Afternoon Tea- that is a really great offer so I am sorry you felt that the charge for your lemonade 'splash' was unfair. This package includes a set Afternoon Tea but it is always possible to upgrade to our full Delux Afternoon Tea with all its delights which then would give you the sandwich choices you would have preferred.
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    186
    79
    46
    29
See reviews for
158
361
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have just eaten at Bagden Hall.I wanted to use my Hi Life card so I rang and booked. The hotel rang me a couple of hours later to ask if I was happy to eat in the main restaurant as they had a wedding taking place in the Norton Bar. I was happy to do this.
Drive into the grounds is lovely and we were directed to the bar. We chose our food and was seated in a small dining room.
Goats cheese salad and chicken and bacon salad were delivered - well presented and very tasty. Burger with extras and fish and chips were next to arrive. Again, well presented and freshly cooked. The fish was delicious and the burger was moist and tasty.No room for pud.
Settled the bill and with 50% off the food bill it came in at a very reasonable £23.50.
I will return again in a couple of weeks and try the Glendale Summer Menu which will be available then.
Staff are helpful and very pleasant. Very good value and will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftykaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments & I hope to welocme you back personally very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went along to Bagden Hall for a meal out one evening - had the fixed price menu in the Bistro. Although the menu was fairly standard pub grub dishes (fish and chips, burger, chicken etc) the food was actually really well cooked and presented well. I had the fish and chips and the fish and batter was really light. I had goats cheese starter and sticky toffee pudding for desert. The fixed price menu was £15.50 and the portions were big! So, absolutely great value for money, well cooked food and the setting is lovely too. Would definitely recommend and go back another time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments on our special offer for a 3 course meal in Nortons Bistro . Happy to read you enjoyed the food & your visit - we hope to welcome you back again very soon -perhaps you would like to try dining in The Glendale - our award winning a la Carte Restaurant
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and once the staff knew it was an anniversary stay, we were upgraded to a lovely suite in the main hotel. The room was very in keeping with the style of the hotel. The staff were all great, really welcoming and all seemed to know it was our anniversary.
We had afternoon tea on the lawn- we loved it! There are a few grassy trails around the hotel grounds and a lovely lake.
Dinner was lovely- we had the a la carte menu and the food was delicious.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit more for a room in the main hotel -lakeside lodges looked disappointingly bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It was good to read that you enjoyed your Anniversary stay with us - thank you for your very possitive comments
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were bought a Taster Voucher for Xmas ,never having had one before ,were excited at where to go and what to have !!.We chose here as it isn't too far from home and having never been ,the pictures on website really impressed us .And we weren't disappointed ..A beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings...
We chose to go for afternoon tea,with no idea with what it would entail ,We found ourselves in a beautiful dining room [also used for small weddings],soft music in the background and lovely views.Had a choice of 2 afternoon teas,and having chosen the Deluxe ,didn't have to wait long ,before it arrived.4 different types of sandwiches,scones,cakes and strawberries.!!All very delishious ,and all pre-paid !! The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.taking time to talk and telling us about other events too.Will certainly be going back ..maybe for dinner or even Sunday lunch !....

Room Tip: As a popular wedding venue would book before going for any meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCEJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope to welcome you back very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding. The whole event ran very well and the hotel staff were absolutely excellent throughout and really worked hard to ensure that the bride and groom really enjoyed their day. Barry, the MC, was excellent and did a thoroughly good job being in attendance throughout the day and well into the evening.

The place is ideal for a wedding and has some lovely grounds for photographs. Unlike other places the hotel will only host one wedding at a time.

Our room was in the main building and was excellent. It was extremely spacious and well equipped with the usual facilities including a large tv (which we didn't use). The bathroom was also very large with a traditional bath standing in the middle. My only criticism is that the shower is over this bath and you are completely surrounded by a shower curtain. There was plenty of space for a separate shower but I would agree that it would alter the characteristics of the bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable.

The meal served for the wedding was very good and well presented. The breakfast next morning was also well presented and the staff were very accommodating.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay & thank you for your comments which I will share with the Team ( and with Barry too ! )
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wow- we held our wedding reception here at the end of March and all the staff at Bagden Hall were amazing. Our day was perfect and we can't thank them enough. Everything down to the last detail was exactly as we wanted it and nothing was too much trouble.

Due to traffic problems we were late arriving after the ceremony but Tom was quick to put us at ease and everything was organised so we weren't rushed. They also managed to turn our room round in no time ready for our evening guests despite the short time window.

The food was incredible, we chose the Lamb and everybody commented positively on it. The service was second to none and no one was ever left waiting. We had canopies on arrival and they were worth every penny. They just kept coming.

I really would recommend this venue to anybody planning to get Married. The grounds are so beautiful and a perfect setting for photos. We loved the building too it has so much character including a huge open fire lit for your arrival.

We were married on Mothers Day and were initially a little concerned about the privacy. We really didn't need to be, I didn't even notice there was lunch being served at the other side of the hotel. Where the weddings are held is really private and the staff make you feel so special. Tom is a credit to the hotel, he must do hundreds of weddings a year which is evident from his professionalism but he certainly made us feel our day was unique.

But it didn't stop there, The morning after breakfast was gorgeous. A really good range of choice and of course the obligatory full English. Unfortunately a family member was late down to breakfast due to ill health and they had started to clear away but as soon a Barry realised they were there, a table was set and breakfast was served. The little touches really make a difference and the friendliness of all the staff makes this hotel brilliant.

I don't normally write reviews and only joined Trip Advisor to do this one. Thank you again to everyone at Bagden Hall we are only sorry it took us this long to write it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments which I will share with Barry & Tom & all of The Team .
Good luck to your both in your future lives together .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing