We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Guests”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wedding Guests”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Bagden Hall for two nights, having traveled from London to attend a friend's wedding. We stayed in room 39 on the first night, which is located in the Lakeside Building, about 50 yards from the main hotel. The room was well appointed with lovely views over the fields. We stayed in room 1 on the second night, which is a suite in the main building. Staff were happy to move our cases to our new room whilst we attended the wedding. Room 1 was also well appointed, with equally impressive views. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were very impressed with the quality of the food. All staff we encountered were polite and happy to help. We had a small issue with our breakfast room service card not being collected from our door on the second night, but following a quick call to reception we were eating a lovely breakfast in our room 20 minutes later.

This is a lovely location and venue for a wedding and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkireH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback & your very positive comments.
I hope to welcome you back to Yorkshire in the very near future.

Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    186
    79
    46
    29
See reviews for
158
362
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My Wife and I had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday the 7 th of June, the excellent service started as we arrived at reception and followed through to the bar where Paul the bar man was polite courteous and most helpful, this continued in the restaurant with Jessica and Faye who recommended dishes from the menu, the food was superb, nicely presented , a high standard of service was given by both Jessica and Faye, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments which I wil share with the team ( particularly Paul, Jessica & Faye ) I am glad to read how much you enjoyed your visit to us & I hope to welcome you back again very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
286 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a meal here and used the tastecard. The restaurant was lovely with a great view and the staff were very polite and helpful. The meal was excellent and good value for money with the card. However, without the discount, I felt it was a little overpriced. I would return, hopefully on a sunny day when we can sit and have a coffee on the lovely outdoor terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We do feel we offer excellent value for money balancing food quality, customer service & food and drink prices that reflect our market . I was glad to read you enjoyed your visit to us & were able to use your Tastecard to secure a discount & i hope you return to us again soon .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have just had my sons wedding at this wonderful hotel what an amazing day was had and the staff and management of this establishment should be giving themselves a massive round of applause at the customer service of every staff member the attention to detail the service of the wedding breakfast ,the bar staff ,front desk ,master of ceremonies where to I stop if I have forgotten anyone it is not on purpose just the fact that everyone made the day special . The food was amazing for all 70 guests .The guests were amazed at the high standard and have repeatedly said so congratulations on your high standards and I would not hesitate in recommending you to friends and family alike.whether it be for a weekend break or wedding .

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are newer and very airy the rooms in the Halls are very traditional and roomy with am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments which I will share with all the Team .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a delightful day/ night at Bagden Hall. We took our dog and arrived early, took the dog for a long walk in the grounds and then onto one of the many public footpaths that cross the outskirts of the grounds. Arriving back to the hotel we were directed to our room, we had upgraded to an executive room, very large, clean and comfortable, however if I am being a little picky the bathroom needed some TLC. We were treated to delicious afternoon tea and later went for Dinner in the Glendale Restuarant. The menu was varied, some basics but other unusual dishes, I had the Tandoori Pigeon as a starter which was absolutely delicious, for main I had the Chicken supreme with smoked tomato sauce.....again cooked to perfection. Although I was full I could not resist the lime cheesecake and was not disappointed. My husbands choices were equally as good. We had to wait for various courses but as my husband is 'in the trade' we understand that food cooked fresh needs time, so it was not a problem to wait between courses and infact allowed time to enjoy the ambience. The staff very attentive and knowledgeable. Coffee and tea served in the small but comfortable bar. Breakfast the following morning offered the usual cereals, fruit and yogurts followed by a choice of cooked breakfast, full english, smoked haddock or kippers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked to return at Christmas with friends!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BonnieRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your comments - I hope to welcome you back personally at Christmas .

Regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here recently for a night for a relaxing day ... we arrived at 4,30 to find afternoon tea was included in our deal as well as evening meal and next day breakfast ...
lovely afternoon tea except for the sandwiches .. i would have liked to have been asked what sandwich i prefer.. as it was it was ham tomatoes and mustard .. salmon or cucumber ... i hate all three so my hubby enjoyed them all ....scone and other cake with cream was nice ... evening meal was lovely but waited over 45 mins for it to arrive even though their was only 3 couples in the restaurant ....room lovely and clean ... went for a bath fixed shower panel ..so i had to climb in to turn on the taps ..and got soaked with freezing shower water as someone had turned ithe switch round ...
but i really enjoyed our stay even though i asked for a touch of lemonade in my wine found out next day on my bill they had charged me £1.21 for it ....daylight robbery lovely well kept grounds though beautiful gardens would return ... but i will take my own splash of lemonade ....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback . Our special Spring Offer includes Dinner and Afternoon Tea- that is a really great offer so I am sorry you felt that the charge for your lemonade 'splash' was unfair. This package includes a set Afternoon Tea but it is always possible to upgrade to our full Delux Afternoon Tea with all its delights which then would give you the sandwich choices you would have preferred.
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have just eaten at Bagden Hall.I wanted to use my Hi Life card so I rang and booked. The hotel rang me a couple of hours later to ask if I was happy to eat in the main restaurant as they had a wedding taking place in the Norton Bar. I was happy to do this.
Drive into the grounds is lovely and we were directed to the bar. We chose our food and was seated in a small dining room.
Goats cheese salad and chicken and bacon salad were delivered - well presented and very tasty. Burger with extras and fish and chips were next to arrive. Again, well presented and freshly cooked. The fish was delicious and the burger was moist and tasty.No room for pud.
Settled the bill and with 50% off the food bill it came in at a very reasonable £23.50.
I will return again in a couple of weeks and try the Glendale Summer Menu which will be available then.
Staff are helpful and very pleasant. Very good value and will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftykaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments & I hope to welocme you back personally very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing