We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A pleasant and peaceful location. I stayed in the Lakeside Lodge complete with flickering lights, loose wall sockets and zero internet access! But, the staff were friendly and the full English breakfast a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Sometimes things do go wrong but once alerted we are eager to put them right . I am pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast & found the staff friendly .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    190
    79
    46
    30
See reviews for
160
371
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went for a silver wedding anniversary meal - there's was 13 of us and i must say the meal was fantastic - choice of starters main and deserts all were lovely - was quite cold that day so did not go in to the gardens but the inside was just as lovely - would go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

afternoon tea was a birthday present and I picked this hotel as it was on our way home from a few days away. the hotel is beautiful and the girl who served us was very friendly and polite However there were 2 of us, and another couple in for afternoon tea, who ordered just before us their sandwich fillings, they ended up with some of our fillings we chose ie beef without horseradish the other couple got cheese we got what they had ordered they got our beef with horseradish etc Could have understood it better if they had been busy! Couldn't distinguish the difference from ordinary afternoon tea we have had before elsewere to their deluxe afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I was sorry to read that we confused your Afternoon Tea order.
Thank you for your nice comments regarding the Hotel & the service you received
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited in June 2014 for afternoon tea. It was very nice, a lovely environment and the food was delicious.

My only small gripe is that the tea, which was stated as loose leaf, was in fact in tea bags.

Great service too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We offer a large selection of teas - 2 of which may be served as loose leaf tea - those being Assam & Darjeeling - I am sorry if you ordered one of these teas & recieved an alternative .
I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea Experience with us
Kind Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel recently over 2 nights for a wedding. The staff are fantastic, the food in the restaurant was excellent with a great choice of wines. The public rooms are good and the bedrooms are good with huge supportive beds. Only issue with bedrooms was they were a little bit hot at night but the windows opened to let some air in. Breakfasts are big and hearty and the grounds of the hotel are magnificient. All in all a fantastic stay at a great establishment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BartEcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Bagden Hall for two nights, having traveled from London to attend a friend's wedding. We stayed in room 39 on the first night, which is located in the Lakeside Building, about 50 yards from the main hotel. The room was well appointed with lovely views over the fields. We stayed in room 1 on the second night, which is a suite in the main building. Staff were happy to move our cases to our new room whilst we attended the wedding. Room 1 was also well appointed, with equally impressive views. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were very impressed with the quality of the food. All staff we encountered were polite and happy to help. We had a small issue with our breakfast room service card not being collected from our door on the second night, but following a quick call to reception we were eating a lovely breakfast in our room 20 minutes later.

This is a lovely location and venue for a wedding and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkireH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback & your very positive comments.
I hope to welcome you back to Yorkshire in the very near future.

Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My Wife and I had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday the 7 th of June, the excellent service started as we arrived at reception and followed through to the bar where Paul the bar man was polite courteous and most helpful, this continued in the restaurant with Jessica and Faye who recommended dishes from the menu, the food was superb, nicely presented , a high standard of service was given by both Jessica and Faye, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments which I wil share with the team ( particularly Paul, Jessica & Faye ) I am glad to read how much you enjoyed your visit to us & I hope to welcome you back again very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,554 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing