We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice building food not”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we booked table for 5 sunday lunch , the hotel is a lovely building in a woodland setting the gardens immaculate . The food did not live up to this average at best , we would return for a drink but not to eat . There was a wedding on at the time but i got the impression food would have been same anyway .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

I was sorry to read you were disappointed with your Sunday lunch experience. There was an Anniversay Party taking place during your visit rather than a wedding . I spoke with you on the day as you had chosen the haddock for your main course but it was not to your taste- an alternative main course was offered but refused . The gentleman who paid the account seemed very happy with this gesture of goodwill .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Bagden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had my wedding here and couldn't have asked for a better day. The staff were amazing especially Charlotte who was always on hand for any questions I had. A very big thank you to Barry who made our day go very smoothly. Was on top of everything couldn't have asked for anyone better in charge of our day. Nothing was too much trouble. Myself and 20 of our guests stayed the night before, food was amazing and good value. Bagden hall gave us such a fantastic day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely commments - I will share your feedback with the Team - particularly Charlotte & Barry . Good luck for your future lives together from everyone at Bagden Hall .
Warmest regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stay in this area regularly on business and this is the best hotel in the area. Reasonable rates, fantastic location and grounds, good sized, clean rooms and lovely food. What more could you want! Had to laugh at the poor review regarding the farm. Yes, there is a farm next door and, yes you can smell the cows, but this is all part of the charm and what do you expect when you are in the middle of the country?! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review - and your comments regarding the local Farm. I will share them all with the Team - its always great to hear from a business guest . We hope to welcome you again soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed with my sister in law, for one night, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds, we stayed in the main house, bedroom was good size and clean, they have lovely outside areas to sit and relax, breakfast was good, would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F4V-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for your positive comments & we hope to welcome you back again very soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A pleasant and peaceful location. I stayed in the Lakeside Lodge complete with flickering lights, loose wall sockets and zero internet access! But, the staff were friendly and the full English breakfast a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Sometimes things do go wrong but once alerted we are eager to put them right . I am pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast & found the staff friendly .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went for a silver wedding anniversary meal - there's was 13 of us and i must say the meal was fantastic - choice of starters main and deserts all were lovely - was quite cold that day so did not go in to the gardens but the inside was just as lovely - would go again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

afternoon tea was a birthday present and I picked this hotel as it was on our way home from a few days away. the hotel is beautiful and the girl who served us was very friendly and polite However there were 2 of us, and another couple in for afternoon tea, who ordered just before us their sandwich fillings, they ended up with some of our fillings we chose ie beef without horseradish the other couple got cheese we got what they had ordered they got our beef with horseradish etc Could have understood it better if they had been busy! Couldn't distinguish the difference from ordinary afternoon tea we have had before elsewere to their deluxe afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I was sorry to read that we confused your Afternoon Tea order.
Thank you for your nice comments regarding the Hotel & the service you received
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
985 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
911 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,620 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,035 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range: £63 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing