We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue ”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I visited Bagden Hall 01/08/14 for a friend's wedding. The grounds are breathtaking and lovely to walk around. We had dinner which was really nice and had food again at the evening do which was also really nice and filling. For dinner we had Chicken wrapped in Parma Ham with vegetables and potatoes. Later on we had Hot Roast Pork sandwiches with wedges and a selection of potato and pasta salad.

The room was clean and tidy, we stayed in the Lakeside Rooms. Our bed was comfy and the shower was very powerful. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Huxy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments & I hope you choose to stay with us again
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    190
    79
    46
    30
See reviews for
160
371
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned home after our son's wedding reception. From the moment we arrived everything was just right. All staff were helpful and professional without being obtrusive. The wedding breakfast room looked stunning with everything just as we had planned. The food was delicious particularly the sticky toffee pudding!
The evening buffet was a huge success too with plenty of choice. Lovely grounds for photographs and plenty of room inside to sit and chat if disco wasn't your thing.
We stayed overnight in Suite No.1 which had a four poster bed and sitting area overlooking the grounds, well stocked bathroom and fluffy white towels, plus a hige plastic duck in the bath!
Breakfast was of a high standard with cereals, fresh fruit,, various juices and a delicious freshly cooked breakfast with limitless toast and tea or coffee.
Check-out was at 11 so plenty of time to get everyone sorted ready for the journey home.
I would certainly recommend Bagden for a wedding or just a meal, they also do an afternoon tea.
What a great start to married life!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollymix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback which I will share with the Team . We all work very hard to ensure that a couples 'Special Day' is indeed special - so it is always great to read such nice comments .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Early meal on Friday evening. We sat outside with predinner drink in glorious surroundings. Our orders were taken and we were shown to our table. We ate in the main restaurant as a wedding made the bistro a bit of a cut through to the gardens. The menu we chose from was the bistro one and the food was well cooked and well presented. We chose desserts from the a la carte menu and they were equally delicious. The cheeseboard included cheeses served at the correct temperature. Staff were excellent and professional at all times. An absolute delight and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0bertjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Glad to read you enjoyed your visit to us & thank you for your positive comments -- we hope to welcome you back again very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

was so looking forwood to a 2 night stay but for £125 per night not imprested the room was no better then a premiar inn, sorry you got more room in a premiar and air con! staff were fab the grounds were beautiful the food not inpressed not much taste to it and i dont call ice cream with coffee on it very inpressive stay more than 2 nights youd find it hard to eat there! very poor for the money stayed in lots of hotels some very nice but over priced. the rooms are clean but very very small and full of formicka was hoping for some character and luxuriore hate to think how much that would of been!

Room Tip: youll have to pay a lot more than £125 for any space or luxuriouer try the pub for tasty food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claresmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I was disappointed to read that you did not like the style nor size of your bedroom and also didnt like the taste of the food. It was good to read the positive comments you made regarding the quality of the staff & the grounds . With regards to the Affogato Dessert - this is a well known Italian dessert which has proven really popular with our Restaurant diners comprising of Café Espresso, vanilla bean ice cream &, crushed amoretti biscuit.. Clearly this also was not to your own personnal taste .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had our wedding at Bagden Hall in July and it was amazing. From day one the staff were fantastic, the venue was always immaculately presented and the food always outstanding. We have had a lot of comments from guests saying how nice their rooms were and how friendly the staff were - noting was too much trouble.
We had the most fantastic day thanks to the staff a.d this beautiful venue. I can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72travel_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments & good luck for your future tohether .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We got married at bagden hall on thursday and had so many positive comments on the venue, food, staff and our totally amazing MOC Tom..he was so professional and very genuine he is a total creit to himself and the hotel, i was so nervous on the day and we had a little moment (not the hotel a family one) and he just sorted it without a moments hesitation, the food of afternoon tea was brilliant and plenty more than we had thought and on a hot sunny day went down really well.
The evening buffet was great, dj got in touch and asked all our prefered music
and played it.
Charlotte the wedding co ordinator was also helpful and lovely, friendly and ruth who we first saw too.
reception staff and lewis sorted any queries we had (on our part).
If u are thinking of getting married here all I can say is go to bagden, tell them what u want, meet who you can and go with your own feeling as it is amazing ,we could have not wished for a better day thank you to caroline also and all the staff we didnt meet on the day as alot went on behind the scenes we didnt see but was very much appreciated x x we would
d reccomend this hotel to anyone :@)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky19752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback which I will share with the entire Team .
Good luck to you both for your married life together .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for a friend's wedding. It was a lovely stay, staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Beautiful grounds. I stayed in a twin room the first night and in the lodge the second night. Both rooms looked lovely and clean although I couldn't find the remote control for the TV in either room... not concerned about it as I wasn't there to watch TV anyway. Getting to the hotel for me was fine although a few of my friends said they got lost as their sat navs couldn't find the postcode properly. Also, the sign at the entrance is covered by overgrown trees and is easy to miss do they could do with chopping back a bit. But all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kay9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I was sorry to read you couldn't find your TV remote control - I will speak with Housekeeping to ensure they are left visable rather than tucked away . The sapling by the entrance sign has now been pruned - so thank you for alerting me to a potential fuutre issue. . Thank you for your very positive comments & I hope to welcome you back again in the future
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,554 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing