We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

we were bought a voucher for afternoon tea the building was lovely but had empty glasses on the outside tables had to wait for somebody to be found to take us to the room had our order taken our tea and coffee was bought the teapot dribbled on to the table linen once the afternoon tea arrived the staff were not seen again did not feel special at all

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I was disappointed to read your comments . It is unfortuanate that you arrived for Afternoon Tea just as we were seating our wedding .I am sorry to hear that we did not make you feel special which as you can read from many of our reviewers is what we usually strive for & are proud to achieve . I am sorry this was not your experience.
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    186
    79
    46
    29
See reviews for
158
362
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have stayed at a number of Classic Lodges so expected to enjoy Bagden Hall, and we did. This hotel because of its' great reputation and stunning venue is a very popular wedding venue. We had a little and understandable noise from wedding guests on one night onlyThe staff from the time we arrived until the time we left were superb, they could not do enough for you. We had two small dogs and they made them welcome too. Unusually they said that they do not get many guests staying for a week so they went out of their way to make us welcome. That said we think they did this with every guest!
We were located in the annex as we had dogs and that suited us fine so cannot talk about rooms in the main building. Our room was adequate and appropriate for a 3 star hotel although we could have done with a bit more light in the room (lighting was subdued) and also a few places to hang robes and outside jackets would have been good too.

The food was very good quality well presented and served with great professionalism and a smile!
The hotel is an ideal location to sight see this part of Yorkshire. The sculpture park and the National Coal Mining Centre in particular.

Well done Bagden Hall we had a great time and enjoyed the walks in the grounds with our two dogs.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are quiet and convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & that we made you and your dogs feel welcome - we all hope to welcome you back again very soon .

Kind regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This Hotel has been a wonderful find and met all the criteria l was looking for. I booked a one night stay for my husbands birthday, as soon as we entered the building l knew the choice was right. Very friendly staff a relaxed atmosphere and the room was huge. We went for a stroll before our evening meal in the grounds it was just perfect a fairy tale. A small lake and a restored building we came across and were able to enter the later a candle had been lit and a lovely old monks chair set out . We had lost track of time and we had not even started to explore more parkland when we realized we should be heading back for our evening meal.

We sat at a window setting we were made to feel as if we were the only people being waited on the wine list is excellent the food was amazing l was in shock every dish we had was unbelievable and presentation spectacular ,they must never get rid of this Chef . I did not want the evening to end one of those magical evenings never to be forgotten so thank-you to all staff from Coral and Malcolm Burgess

Room Tip: Ours was a corner suite and a upgrade it was quiet and the right choice. There were buildings in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - your review was just great to read .
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Warmest regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We decided to visit Wakefield Hepworth Gallery and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and chose Bagden Hall because it was billed as "dog friendly", its proximity to the YSP and the consistently good reviews it receives. We were not disappointed. We were in the Lakeside Rooms because we had the dog and (as other reviewers have said) are in a block with nice views a short walk to the main house. I cannot praise the hotel enough. Our room was nicely decorated and superbly clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and our dog just loved the place. Plenty of space for her to let off steam (she is a young cocker spaniel) and even doggy sausages for breakfast. Dogs are not allowed in the main dining room which is fine by us but are allowed in the bar and bistro areas. Many thanks to Caroline and her staff for a really enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback . I was happy to read you enjoyed your visit to us & we hope to welcome you back very soon
Kind regards
Caroine Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We Chose Bagden Hall for the reception venue for our Daughter & Son-In-Law’s Wedding on the 25th July, 2014. We were really pleased Bagden was our first choice and it certainly lived up to everything we dreamed of and planned to be the perfect day.

We cannot praise and thank all the staff at Bagden enough. The Reception staff was always so friendly and helpful whenever we phoned or visited. Charlotte our Wedding Co-ordinator was so professional she made sure everything ran so smoothly and nothing was too much trouble for her, even down to minor details, Charlotte helped and guided us to a truly wonderful day. Tom was our Master of Ceremonies who did an excellent job.

We loved the location of Bagden Hall, the grounds are the perfect setting for guests to enjoy and a dream for photographer’s to capture beautiful scenery, the weather was absolutely gorgeous to enable us to make full use of the grounds.

Our Wedding Breakfast serving 100 guests was really good, the food was excellent and served in a very professional manner and by very pleasant happy smiling faces.

In the evening we had a BBQ which everyone commented how good it was and was enjoyed by all, The D.J. had the dance floor full the whole of the evening and was lovely to see everyone dancing the night away.

We stayed overnight along with many of our guests, everyone enjoyed their stay and was really impressed with breakfast the following morning, there was plenty of choice which catered for everyone and was served by very pleasant and welcoming staff.

We have had good comments from our guests about our Wedding which was lovely to hear.

A BIG Thank you Bagden Hall to everyone of your staff who made our Daughter & Son-In-Laws Wedding a very special day, you all worked so well together you are clearly teamwork and we are so glad we made Bagden our No. 1. choice.

For anyone looking for the perfect Wedding Day, you would not be disappointed with Bagden Hall. We will be visiting Bagden Hall ourselves in the near future because we now have such special memories of a truly wonderful day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments which I will share with the Team and specifically with Charlotte & Tom .
We hope to welcome you back again very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came here with a voucher for deluxe afternoon tea. The staff were friendly and attentive and the dining room was a lovely space with a nice view of the surrounding countryside. The food was absolutely delicious, very filling and beautifully presented. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable afternoon tea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LottyP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments I was pleased to read you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience & we hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
Genertal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked Bagden for a surprise private lunch for my parents' Ruby Wedding Anniversary; just a small group of 14 people but they gave us a private room, oval table, first class service from beginning to end. All the waiting staff were perfect, and managed very well. We couldn't fault them for attention to detail. The food was lovely; real roast dinners - my sirloin beef and Yorkshire pudding was delightful.

Altogether my parents had a lovely few hours at Bagden, and it being private we were able to do some speeches too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Happy tp read you enjoyed the celebrations for your parents Ruby Wedding Anniversary. I wll share your feedback with the Team & we hope you choose to dine with us again very soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Scissett, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing