We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth The Wait”

Levanter Fine Foods
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Ramsbottom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We lived in Ramsbottom for close on forty years before retiring to southern Spain. As Ramsbottom became more and more a ‘foodie’ destination we followed progress from a distance. One new venture, Levanter, particularly caught our eye. It sounded like a place with not just a love of tapas, but also a clear understanding of the cuisine. So on those infrequent occasions we found ourselves in the area we headed for lunch at Levanter - each time finding it closed until the evening.
In October we finally made it with two old friends at lunchtime. What we experienced was all that we had hoped and more, and so authentically Spanish it was hard to imagine that the owners were not Basques or Galicians. Levanter wins awards in the Greater Manchester area. I can assure them that they certainly pick up awards in Spain if they transplanted the bar to anywhere in Spain.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Dee-licious food
Totally authentic and incredibly well cooked
Lovely casual atmosphere but great attention to detail
Very good wine list if a little limited but all great wines
At the upper end of mid-range prices - at the high end for Rammy but worth every penny

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Without a doubt the best Spanish tapas we have ever had (and that is many, including in Spain). Went here on a Friday afternoon, around 13:30 and found it quite lively - always a good sign.Took our time to peruse the menu and ordered a jug of Sangria - WOW. Nothing pre-prepared about this which was done at the bar in front of us from scratch, to produce an exquisite Sangria which we eventually voted a close number 2 to one we remembered in Barcelona and way better than most.Top marks to the young lady who produced this.
Now to the food.We ordered 4 dishes to share but were disappointed we did not have room to try the chilli chicken as well.In other words, great portion sizes.We had the chorizo in sherry, sea bass, oxtail and squash in honey & chilli.
I think the Sangria was £28 (litre) so £55 inc tip was very, very reasonable.
Still busy when we left about 15:15.not surprised.
Definite re-visit on the cards.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We were introduced to Levanter by relatives that live nearby and were really impressed the services was great and we were really impressed with range of Spanish wines, they also were kind enough to give us their wine suppliers details so we could order some in Brum , very imaginative tapas dishes and great flavours but they need to cut down on some of their portion sizes, the chilli chicken wings dish was enormous, we were really full by the finish. Total cost including a bottle of wine , two bottles of water and food for 4 was £80 so pretty good.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Agvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Visiting friends in Ramsbottom and on Saturday we called in to see if could get a table. We didnt have to wait too long which was good .Only my second visit to this restaurant with friends . It is only small and cosy with great atmosphere.
This restaurant did not disappoint at all the food was excellent authentic tapas .
My friend said it was the owner cooking and would be very good and it sure was .
We had a great selection off the menu choosing three dishes each sharing between three of us .
Grilled prawns ,padron peppers ,chorizo in sherry , albondigas( meatballs), special whole seabass , chickpea stew ,seafood stew ..omg all absolutely amazing and delicious .
I could have eaten it all again .
The staff were so friendly and gave great service too .
I would definately visit this little Gem again on another visit to Ramsbottom .

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank michelled595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Levanter Fine Foods also viewed

 

Been to Levanter Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing