We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rampsbeck Country House Hotel - CLOSED

Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$87
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Unplanned visit on way home - called in to ask if there was any chance of lunch or snack as we have stayed there previously and love the hotel. Receptionist most welcoming even though we were dressed very casually - no problem. Lovely lunch - Fish & chips less than £10 were excellent and the fish of the day - turbot was beautifully presented and superb! Couldn't fault the service - wish we could have stayed the night! We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Orville,
Thank you for posting a review after your recent impromptu stopover for lunch.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Fish and Chips, this dish is proving to be a very popular choice with our guest's.
We are open on a daily basis for Bar Meals, Afternoon Tea's and Restaurant Lunches and Dinners although I should say that bookings are advisable for the Restaurant and also for our Full Afternoon Teas.
Maybe next time we could arrange it that you stay over and sample our Full Cumbrian Breakfast too !!
Kind regards to you
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mini Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Liked the house the grounds the staff the decor and the piano. Disliked the coffee which was too week.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiveofninewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear fiveofninewales,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read that over all you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the coffee being too weak, we do have different coffee's s so please do just mention this on your next visit to us.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Luxury and a grand setting with a warm and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The rooms are superb, spacious and comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could think of including bath robes and good biscuits! The communal areas are grand yet comfortable and as it was Christmas, beautifully and tastefully decorated. We came for a family wedding and the staff were amazing and very friendly and helpful and did all they could to accommodate us including letting us into our room early so we could change. Thank you so much for that it really helped. The weather was filthy but there was no complaint about us dripping everywhere and the welcome was warm and the detail the bride had put in was amazing and well presented with the help of staff. No downside at all and amazing views over Ullswater. Thank you for everything.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Mim W,
Thank you for posting such positive feed back on trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Rampsbeck for a family members wedding.
I can vouch for the team here that they also enjoyed the day !
Thank you once again for all your lovely comments,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good food and service although the wine was a bit disappointing. We were eating quite early so there were not many people in the restaurant so it was lacking a bit in atmosphere. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the breast of wood pigeon was gorgeous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianvisitor521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Cumbrianvisitor521
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read that over all you enjoyed your dining experience at Rampsbeck and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at Rampsbeck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A lovely family meal in tasteful surroundings. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. We all had roast beef as the main course. The Yorkshire pudding was "massive" and the beef beautifully tender. The roast potatoes were really good, and there were four other vegetables, new potatoes, broccoli, carrots and beans. Desserts included apple crumble with ice cream and custard, creme brulee and sticky toffee pudding. all in all, a top class meal in a wonderful setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Steven H,
Thank you for posting such a mouth watering review of our Sunday Lunch !!
I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, maybe see you all for Afternoon Tea one day....? !!!
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rampsbeck Country House Hotel also viewed

Howtown, Lake District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Watermillock, Lake District
Watermillock, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing