We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent morning coffee”
Review of Rampsbeck Country House Hotel - CLOSED

Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$90
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent morning coffee”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Whilst driving up the Ullswater Lake, we called into the Rampsbeck hotel for a morning coffee and shortly after were relaxing with amazing views of the Lake and having a little taste of luxury during our Lake District visit. Staff were friendly and the ambience was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The little things that mean so much”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited a number of upmarket establishments in the Lake District for tea and scones during the Easter Weekend.
You might have thought that so simple a request might not figure highly in the priorities of such an establishment, but we were greeted with the same level of courtesy that you might have expected had we been staying in their best rooms for a few days.
We were escorted to the sunny terrace and in a few minutes our tea arrived, beautifully served and presented. It was one of those little experiences to savour and we enjoyed every minute.
As importantly, should we contemplate a longer stay then the manner of our reception will ensure that we went back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This is living.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Killing time, we expected to find charming tea rooms around the edges of Ullswater but were a tad disappointed as we could not find any. Friends told us, later, that we were on the "uninhabited" side of the lake. Finally a sign for an hotel that also served morning coffees, so we drove down an impressive drive to find a stately home in a magnificent setting.
First things first so I asked for directions to the lavatory and this drew a blank look from the classically attired waitress.
Coffee and scones were served elegantly in good china and silverware, with a large serving of oh-so-naughty clotted cream and jam. The coffee was, as one would expect, good. But ah! The scones were so crumbly that one could not eat as elegantly as one would wish to. Seriously, we had to scoop the crumbs into our teaspoons.
I know we were there for just coffee; we were left to stew on our own with a distinct lack of hospitality. I had to walk up to the receptionist (?) who chatted easily.

All said and done, I would love to experience the hotel and restaurant which is decidely old school.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neemwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wow, this was our first time in Ullswater and what a way to introduce it to us. The hotel is a field away from the lake and is a fantastic old country house. Lovely old furniture in high ceiling rooms with log fires. Lovely bar area with leather chesterfields and the service was top notch. Nothing is too much trouble everything done with a smile,most front of house seem to be female and always polite. The food was fantastic, the four course meal was different on the two nights we stayed, portions were just right, the 40 day old beef was unbelievably good and it was nice to be fed in a wonderful dining room overlooking the lake, though we did only get the view at breakfast which again was fantastic.
The bedroom was great, big, beautifully furnished and very clean and overlooked the lake. Bathroom was more than adequate and especially clean and shiny. Turn down service on a night was a nice surprise and water and tea/coffee replenished at same time.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, to us it was perfection, the only thing that spoiled it was the wet weather but hey the hotel, staff and food more than made up for it.
The only thing I could suggest to management would be, no denim jeans and untucked shirts in the restaurant on an evening, that is not smart casual.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear nigel1096,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that your first stay with us was "perfection", we do try our best !
We have a fantastic Front of House Team who, rightly so are all very proud of their work at Rampsbeck, and all of whom take great pleasure in reading all the reviews from guest's.
unfortunately the weather is out of our control [!!}but hopefully for your next stay the sun shall shine !
Thanks again for your kind comments
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Unplanned visit on way home - called in to ask if there was any chance of lunch or snack as we have stayed there previously and love the hotel. Receptionist most welcoming even though we were dressed very casually - no problem. Lovely lunch - Fish & chips less than £10 were excellent and the fish of the day - turbot was beautifully presented and superb! Couldn't fault the service - wish we could have stayed the night! We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Orville,
Thank you for posting a review after your recent impromptu stopover for lunch.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Fish and Chips, this dish is proving to be a very popular choice with our guest's.
We are open on a daily basis for Bar Meals, Afternoon Tea's and Restaurant Lunches and Dinners although I should say that bookings are advisable for the Restaurant and also for our Full Afternoon Teas.
Maybe next time we could arrange it that you stay over and sample our Full Cumbrian Breakfast too !!
Kind regards to you
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rampsbeck Country House Hotel also viewed

 
Howtown, Lake District
Watermillock, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing