We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Watermillock, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnieM196...
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself, a friend and her mother stayed for 3 days in May 2017. Fantastic views in every direction. The 3 bedrooms are downstairs, beds very comfortable and good sized rooms. The kitchen/diner is on a half level and the lounge/living room up another half level. All the amenities you could want, large, comfortable rooms. We have already recommended this property to several people as a wonderful place to stay. We had a couple of minor problems during our stay, which were attended to very quickly. All in all a really nice stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swallows Barn. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the fantastic views form this property. It is great to hear you have already recommended this place to others as a wonderful place to stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
custardca...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic !! awesome!! amazing cottage!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

wow what can I say just spent a week at swallows barn and it was mind blowing. beautiful cottage which could sleep a family of 6 with ease. it was great having all that space for just the 2 of us and we could have roller skated around the front room as it was soo big lol. the views to the fells are breath taking and change every day. lots of walking in area we tried Helvellyn but the snow on the tops stoped us from reaching the top but we will be back. aria force is another great walk and ullswater is stunning and only a 10 min stroll from the cottage. will defo be back to stay here again and again and if my numbers come up I would buy it!! love it !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swallows Barn. We are delighted you had such an awesome stay at this amazing cottage. It's great to hear that you will definitely be back and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesbell...
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic cottage. Well laid out, with plenty of room. The views are amazing and breathtaking. The owners have put a lot of thought into the accommodation, which is very comfortable and thoughtfully decorated.
If you want a peaceful stay with lakeside views then this cottage is a must. It is reasonably priced for the size and location. Out in the country, but close to Pooley Bridge and a short drive to Keswick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Swallows Barn, Howtown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at this fantastic cottage and appreciated its amazing and breathtaking views.
We hope to welcome you again soon
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing