We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! First class is an inadequate description.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!! First class is an inadequate description.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Sonya, and the team
We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our silver wedding (second timers, both) and were expecting a relaxing stay, beautiful surroundings and lovely food. OK, we had all those, but there were extras (not charged!!!).
A fabulous room because we were celebrating - but lots of the rooms are lovely. A welcome that is an example to all. A bathroom to die for - we ARE well travelled and this scores 10+.
Food that excels with a good variety and real attention to the details of flavours and their combinations. The wine list is not cheap, but there are some very good choices below £25 a bottle that are hard to match elsewhere with the same standard of food. The gardens are neat, and not yet at their best in mid April, but the work that is being done now will produce a fabulous show in Summer. All credit to the gardener who is an enthusiast.
Adrian needs a mention - he did say that he would come up Hellvellyn with us but forget to say he was having his weekly lie-in on his day off. Actually, this young man is a star and knows just how to look after guests. As do the rest of the crew at the Rampsbeck.

Thank you for a wonderful time.
(I wish other reviewers knew that Ullswater is NOT a lake - there is only ONE Lake in the "Lake District"!)
Roger and Sue

Room Tip: Always try to get a room looking over the lake. View is great, Sunrises can be spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Frost,
Many thanks to you both for your complimentary review about your recent two day break with us to celebrate your Silver wedding anniversary.
It really was our pleasure to meet you both and to look after you during your stay, which i know is just one of the many things you are doing to celebrate your Anniversary.
I have had a word with Tracey { Rampsbeck Manager} who is going to ensure that next time you come to visit us Adrian will be on the rota so that he can accompany you both not only up Hellvellyn, but also around Ullswater twice but we will keep that to ourselves for the time being then he has no time to think of an excuse......!!!
You are absolutely right in that there is only one Lake in the Lake District which is in fact Bassenthwaite Lake, all the rest are Meres, Waters etc.
Once again many thanks for all your lovely words, we look forward to welcoming you both back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Enjoy the rest of your celebrations,
Kind regards to you both,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The words that spring to mind are wonderful, wonderful and wonderful again - Rampsbeck Country House Hotel completely exceeded all our expectations (above and way beyond) and we cannot wait to return - what a superb treat and culinary experience. Everything about our stay - the location, the extremely professional and kind attentive staff, the beautiful surroundings, our luxurious room with the glorious view, the delicious menu and very high quality food, cooked to absolute perfection - everything was SUPERB! Thank you so very much for such a wonderful 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear CharlotteF90,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Reviews such as yours are an absolute delight to pass on to the team and certainly gives all the staff a tremendous boost, thank you so much from us all.
Please do call again next time you are in the area,
Best wishes until then,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We checked in on Tuesday 3rd April for a two night stay. This truly romantic hotel is set back from Ullswater Lake, although steeped in historical ambiance and period detail it was modern and tastefully decorated throughout. Every where was finished to a very high standard. We had room 21 which is described as a superior standard room, it oozed luxury, decorated in subtle shades of light greys and cream. The bed was enormous and very very comfortable, it had a wall mounted flat screen television including some sky channels. tea and coffee facilities, complimentary spring water and fruit bowl. Furniture comprised a huge wardrobe, dressing/writing table, irioning board, iron and hairdryer. The en-suite bathroom was amazing. The sash window in the room worked and meant I had a lovely sleep, The Rampsbeck also provide a bed turning down service which was a nice pampering treat. The room overlooked the 18 acre garden and Ullswater lake. In the distance were hills and mountains which became touched with snow during out stay, very majestic looking. We ate in the Restaurant on both nights the food was excellant, I reccomend the rabbit starter, but all the food we had was perfect, just the right sized portions and cooked to perfection, the presentation was amazing. It was nice to see a couple of changes on our second night to the menu just to ring the changes. The breakfast again was faultless. The staff were superb, from start to finish and made us feel really welcome, nothing was too much trouble, they were there if we needed them but NOT in your face every five minutes, Every one was great but particular thanks to the polish gentlemen I believe he might been called Adrian. I highly recoomend this place. Lots to do and see in the area.

Room Tip: I think you should ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiaknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear CeliaKnights,
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review on your recent stay with us.
For the benefit of future guests who might read these reviews I would just like to say that our Dinner Menu does change every night, and as I have replied in the past our Chefs are quite happy to cook each dish as to the guests requirements.
Adrian is a highly popular member of Rampsbeck team and has been with us for over five years as has his wife Alicjia who is a member of our House-keeping team.
Many thanks once again for all your kind words and for all your future recommendations.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A truly fantastic country house experience. The room was huge and very comfortable (Mini Deluxe on the website). Service was excelllent - formal when it needed to be but in no way stuffy. The food was exceptional, both dinner and breakfast. Highly reccomended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear T0mGriffiths,
Thank you for posting such a kind review on Trip Advisor.
W are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your 2-day break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for a night easter weekend and the hotel is really beautiful. The views are to die for, the staff very friendly and efficient, nothing too much trouble for them. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable and enormous. The bathroom was also excellent, with under floor heating. The food was absolutely superb and we will visit again I am sure of that.

Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Glynis S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at Rampsbeck and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

We wanted to get away from Tyneside for a few days, normally we would be skiing but stayed at home due to injury.
We did our research and wanted a country house hotel, that complicated feeling that you are a house guest being well looked after. Nothing too flashy just comfortable. Rampsbeck did the job admirably and was thoroughly relaxing. Staff attentative but discrete. We have found here as eslewhere that the difference between a good hotel and a great one is that the staff are never phased, nothing is a problem or too much trouble seemingly.
The hotel is well located, next to Ullswater, 90 min from Newcastle. Our room was very nice, in the rear wing of the hotel overlooking the garden and a tiny bit of lake.
The garden is clearly somone's love and it looks to be getting better.
The food is almost too generous. We stayed half-board and left the table without approaching the final sweet summit. Improve the quality a notch and decrease the quantity?
Great wine list, some very interesting bottles.
Attention to detail appears to be the aim here and our complaints are tiny.
Overall, we will be back to be enveloped in relaxation but only when very hungry.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie_Skier_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Geordie_Skier_Walker,
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent time with us with others on Trip Advisor.
The team at Rampsbeck are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our gardens are a work in progress and all thanks must go to John,our extremely hard-working Gardener, John has a lot of plans for the gardens and lots of our guests do comment on the fact that they see changes every time they visit and take a stroll round the gardens, it is a pleasure to pass on your comments to John.
With reference to your comment being unable to sample our Desserts on this occasion please do note that, as is stated on our Restaurant Menu, we are more than happy to cook all our dishes to your requirements. All of our dishes are cooked to order so for any guests wishing to follow a lighter diet we would happily do so and then maybe next time you visit us you can sample some of our Desserts, it really is a shame to miss out on them....! !
Once again many thanks for all your comments,
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a family friend who recently organised a corporate day event at the hotel. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the majority of staff (especially the Swedish gentleman) were very helpful.

However, our room was extremely disappointing We were shown to Room 17 at the back of the hotel. The room did not match the website photos at all - very small, squeaky floorboards, curtains hanging off, no view, tv did not work and bathroom light also did not work. We asked whether their was another standard room that we could perhaps move to but were told that the hotel was fully booked hence the reason we were given Room 17 - implying that they were aware that this room was used as a last resort to allocate out to guests if all other standard double rooms were in use.

We really are not in the habit of complaining however we really did feel extremely cheated and cannot understand why the hotel would choose to use this room at all if they wished for repeat business or more importantly, for their guests to generate positive word of mouth. On checking out, we were asked how our stay was... We were clear again at this point that the hotel was beautiful however the room we had was very tired - to which our response was pretty much shrugged off.

All in all, a very disappointing stay at the Rampsbeck. Thank goodness the sunshine and setting helped numb this feeling!

Room Tip: Avoid room 17!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalkSten86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Walksten86,
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor about your overnight stay with us.
I was dismayed to read that on this occasion we failed to meet our guests expectations of our usual level of care. We do regret the unfortunate combination of events that resulted in you having a disappointing stay. A piece of equipment supplying service to the televisions had blown earlier that afternoon and although an engineer was called, he was unable to repair the fault until the following day. We do always try to rectify any maintenance works as soon as they are reported and very much regret when a fault occurs that spoils the enjoyment of our guests.
On the rare occasion that a guest is disappointed with the room allocated we do always try to offer an alternative room but as was explained to yourselves this was not possible due to the hotel being full.
All complaints are taken very seriously and all comments are passed onto our Management team and also to the owners of the Rampsbeck. After reading your comments we have decided to take Room 17 out of use until the fauts mentioned have been rectified
On reflection we do consider that the experience provided on this occasion was not up to the standard we try to achieve and therefore, as explained in my personal e-mail to you, we would like you to accept the voucher we have sent you with our compliments, I would love you to take us up on this and return to Rampsbeck once more so you can sample the hospitality we do usually deliver.
Please do call us direct if you if you wish to discuss any thing further in more detail,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
15.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Another Place, The Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing