We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Another Place, The Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
725
116
46
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
116
46
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrampsbeck hotelwatergate bayliving spaceunderfloor heatingdining roomcountry house hotelfirst classspecial occasionhigh standardwine listfantastic hotelcourse meallittle touchessecond to nonebeautiful locationbeautiful roomone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Probably one of the best medium sized hotels in the Lake District.Attentive staff nothing is to much trouble. The food and drinks are first class if a little expensive Bedrooms are classy with good bathrooms all in all can not go wrong.

Room Tip: Side of hotel is good you can still see the lake
Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear James B,
Many thanks for posting kind comments after your recent stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at this hotel.
The hotel is beautiful, very high standards of cleanliness and really warm and comfortable rooms.
Our room overlooked the extremely well maintained gardens and we had a good view of the mountains and part of the lake.
The food was excellent and the service in the dining room was very attentive at all times, we both had the lamb which was cooked to perfection, the breakfast menu was also excellent.
We had previously read reviews about the staff at this hotel, being stuffy,snobby and rude and we were quite apprehensive after reading this.
On arrival we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by the lady on reception who showed us to our room, all the staff who we saw around the hotel were very friendly at all times, always smiling and saying hello to us.(we are not elderly or have silver spoons in our mouths)
We did stay at Rothay Garden Hotel about a month ago, and we did find some of the staff quite cold and rude there.
On checking out at reception, the same lady was very helpful giving us directions to the Aira Force Waterfalls, which are a definate must see and lovely walk.
We would definately return to The rampsbeck Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazza430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear cazza430,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us for others to read on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you had a peaceful, relaxing time with us.
Have you signed up for our Newsletter which has details of all our future Special Breaks and offers on? All details of how to do so are on our web-site or alternatively please do just give our Reception team a quick call.
Thanks again for all of your kind comments.
we look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay but feel that a few aspects have to be addressed ...... repetitive taped music in the evenings - no bar staff on duty so had to go in search of service both evenings - a buffet of cereals / juices / fruit would be welcome at breakfast. The meals were good but the dinner was over priced. Staff were very friendly and professionally efficient and our spacious bedroom, looking out over the attractive gardens to the lake, was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndabaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear IndabaYork,
Thank you for sharing your views with others on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you found us to be " so close to perfection".
All of the subjects you raised will be discussed at our next managers meeting and so, hopefully on your next visit to us we will be even closer to perfection !!
Best wishes to you
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Rampsbeck has standards, high standards and as far as we can see it meets or exceeds them in all aspects of hotel management and guest satisfaction. It's not cheap but it is value for money. The food was very good, not outstanding, served well and with a reasonable wine list (not many hotels of this size would list two CdP's albeit the Beaucastel was a 99/2000 vintage at £100+ and one wonders how many of those move in a year even in this hotel). The room was both well maintained and well equipped with a nice full length window view of the garden and lake. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and very helpful with local knowledge of where to ramble, eat out etc. We did not find them to be the slightest bit 'stuffy' as some poor souls have alleged.
If we cavil about anything it would be that the style of shower that we encountered (overhead rose only without a hand held attachment) is not to our liking and, horror of horrors ...... there was some mould on the bottom of the shower tiles; someone in housekeeping will probably be shot for that omission.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Nataliatiyad,
Many thanks to you for posting a review regarding your stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
We do have some members of the team who are "locals" and so have quite a good knowledge of the area and are always happy to help out with advice on walks, places of interest etc.
Regarding your comments about the Housekeeper, just to let you know she won't be going in front of the Firing squad on this occasion, [.....!!!] we are aware of the problem and it is on our Maintenance list for new silicone and to refresh the grouting.
Once again, many thanks for your comments,
Kind regards to you
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a little gem .The welcome was warm and the ambiance superb. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake with a nice seating area and a great bathroom. Also was very quiet at night .
The service was good... attentive without being intrusive. We ate in the restaurant and it was excellent - probably in our top 5 of UK places to eat.
We can't wait to visit again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear AnnA A
Thank you for posting a review on TripaAdvisor, we do appreciate it.
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Rampsbeck for what we hope is going to be the first of many visits !
Best wishes to you both ,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews