We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a wonderful time we had this weekend at Rampsbeck, our first revisit since 1995. The food was great then, but it it is so much better now. We stayed in the Ullswater room, beautiful views, four poster, jacuzzi bath, tasteful and luxurious. They did not know it was my 60th birthday special present from my husband......so congratulations to you for making it so special.......especially the par excellence service from your most professional staff. Honours to Monica. Enjoyed
sharing our memories of Puerto de la crux.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoldBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Bold Barney,
Many thanks to you for post a review on Trip Advisor.
The team at Rampsbeck are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday break with us.
Monica is a very popular member of our team, and yes, many guest's do like to share their memories of her homeland with her.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Kind regards to you,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We found this hotel to far exceed our expectations. The location is stunning. The extensive grounds are magnificent. The quality of our room was as high as is possible. The staff are efficient, courteous and friendly. Breakfast, taken in the dining-room overlooking the lake, was absolutely delicious

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Lathan1,
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor.
The team are delighted to read that you found us to be "faultless" and that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
Thank you once again for your kind words .
Kindest regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is by far the best place we have stayed in the Uk, we used it as a stop over while traveling back to Shetland and will never forget it. The grounds are a work of art, the food is some of the finest I have ever tasted in my life and staff are so helpful and courteous.
We stopped in a suite overlooking the front and lake, the room is very well appointed and everything is of a high standard.

If your looking for a luxury retreat with super fine food then this is one of the UK,s finest without question.

Thanks Rampsbeck you put the Lux in luxury.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear lebutch,
Wow ..!
On behalf of the team at Rampsbeck I would like to thank you for the fantastic review you have posted on Trip Advisor after your very recent stay with us.
As is the norm your comments have been passed on to all at Rampsbeck who are really delighted by your kind words, reviews such as yours, and I have to say many similar ones on this site really do give the team a big boost, thank you!
We look forward to offering you the same hospitality on your next visit to us,
Kindest regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our daughter and son in law bought us DBB here and we had a wonderful time.
Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful and the room was gorgeous.
The dinner was best of all. It was totally delicious, looked fabulous, and served in lovely surroundings.
Then breakfast was just as good.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear chs60,
Many thanks for posting such lovely comments on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us.
Kindest regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and i spent our 15th wedding anniversary here and it was magical. The hotel is superb and we had a standard room - cant imagine what the better rooms are like. The grounds and location are both superb. The staff are lovely and the food was gorgeous. We will be back. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAAZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear SAAZZY,
Many thanks for choosing Rampsbeck to celebrate your 15th Wedding Anniversary.
On your visit to us please do just ask a member of the team to show you around some of the bedrooms, we are more than happy to do so.
We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

In the middle of May my wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Rampsbeck Hotel on Ullswater on a Travelzoo deal,which included 3 nights bed and breakfast and dinner on the 1st night.This was a truly excellent deal at an outstanding hotel.

The hotel is in a great location,near to the M6,on the banks of Ullswater,which is considered to be one of the loveliest lakes in England.The hotel is a fine building with very attractive gardens,maintained with scrupulous care by a gardener who really cares about his work and gave me good advice about how to get rid of moss!

We asked if we could have a room overlooking the lake and they very kindly agreed to upgrade us to a superior room,which gave us a fine view of Ullswater.The meal on the 1st night was outstanding.The restaurant certainly deserves its 3 AA rosettes,If we had paid separately it would have cost us £60 per head,which is not something we would normally contemplate,except on a very special occasion,but it was included in the excellent Travelzoo deal,so we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The staff were all most pleasant and helpful and I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy the Lake District.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear 1golfer2,
Thank you for your glowing review of Rampsbeck.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us after taking advantage of one of the offers we advertised with the external booking agency. I should mention that is is always worth giving us a call direct too as we also have offers, late availability deals and special breaks that we are happy to discuss with you.
Thank you in advance for all your future recommendations to us and I hope that Johns advice regarding the moss is working!
Best wishes,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just magical, My husband is terminally ill and he had just finished some tough treatment, we had booked with friends for 2 night mid week break , Ian was very weak and spent a lot of time resting, the staff and service were impeccable and so friendly, polite and very professional, the second evening my husband was to weak to go for dinner we explained to the reception and nothing was to much trouble they arranged to have our meal for all 4 of us served in our very beautiful front facing balcony room it was lovely and made the evening very special, The food is just amazing,
what made our trip, we could take our dog Saffi who is my husbands best friend and has been by his side for 7 years she loved the walks in front of the hotel around the lake
A very big thank you to all the staff for making out time away memorable

Room Tip: choose a lake view especially one of the 3 with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Lynnian7,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor, we really do appreciate it.
The team at Rampsbeck will always, where possible, endeavour to follow a guests wishes and we were only to happy to serve Dinner in your room. We are delighted to read that you, your husband and friends all thoroughly enjoyed your relaxing break with us and that you have lots of happy memories of your time at Rampsbeck,
Kindest regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,722 reviews
5.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Address: Rampsbeck Grange, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: £60 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Another Place, The Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing