We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Another Place, The Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$519
US$329
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$61
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
722
115
45
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
115
45
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrampsbeck hotelwatergate bayliving spaceunderfloor heatingdining roomcountry house hotelfirst classspecial occasionhigh standardwine listfantastic hotelcourse meallittle touchessecond to nonebeautiful locationbeautiful roomone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 914 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a nights stay here through secret escapes. We were kindly upgraded when we we arrived. The room and views were absolutely amazing. Our evening meal and the staff and attention to detail was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jodyw1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jodyh02,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited the area for my partners birthday. The hotel has a great settling on the shore of Ullswater. The staff very very friendly and dinner was excellent, the only problem was what to choose. We both enjoyed each others choices as well. The wine list was sensibly priced with a very good selection.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sinon M,
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Rampsbeck.
It is lovely to read that you and your partner enjoyed your birthday celebration meal with us, and I do have to comment on the problems you both had deciding which dishes to choose......What a lovely problem to have !!
Maybe another visit should be on the cards so you both may sample more of Chefs dishes !
Kindest regards to you,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for my friends wedding last weekend. The place is absolutely spotless. It has a very sympathetic style to it's beautiful surroundings. We saw many of our friends rooms, we stayed in Martindale, & they were all sumptuous. The staff were very helpful & ever so friendly. Beds were massive & comfy. Food was excellent. I hope it never goes downhill like it's more famous neighbour over the water at Sharrow Bay as that would be a shame. Well done all at Rampsbeck, you are doing yourselves vey proud. Simply one of the loveliest hotels I've had the pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear David B,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Rampsbeck with others on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased you and your family and friends had a lovely time with us, I know the whole team certainly enjoyed the day too.
For the benefit of others reading this if you would like more details, not only about Rampsbeck hosting your special day, but any details regarding a visit to us or more information about our rooms then please do not hesitate to contact our Reception team.
Once again David many thanks for your kind words,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Second visit to this wonderful hotel. Food excellent, staff fantastic! Lovely location.
Having stayed over for a one night gourmet break last year, we were so impressed that we chose this hotel to celebrate mum's 90th birthday. We were not disappointed. Food was excellent, and the staff were so welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Maggie F,
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased you chose us to host such a special occasion for your Mum and are delighted you all enjoyed the whole experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Spent an amazing day and night at this lovely hotel, situated on Ullswater, peaceful surroundings, beautiful gardens. The staff were friendly and professional, could not do enough for you. The bedroooms are amazing, well decorated and furnished I. line with the style of the hotel. Bathrooms exquisite. The restaurant offered fantastic food of an exceptional standard, arriving on plates that looked like works of art. Can not fault this hotel or location, it is a must visit. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Pamela G,
Many thanks for all your kind words. we are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews