We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent 4 night in this wonderful hotel. The Staff is very friendly
the location is perfect.
however, I gave it 4/5 because of three reasons only:
- The food choices is limited
- No bag carrying staff( the Reception staff will help but you have to do it yourself)
- Price is little High

Room Tip: White Knott is recommended
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kghanmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Kghamni,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your visit to Rampsbeck .
Just a little note for your next visit to us , the team on Reception are more than happy to carry and bags for you, or if Alan, our Concierge is not on duty at the time then any member of the team would willingly offer.
Next time you are over and in the area we would love to see you again,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Another Place, The Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Took a nostalgia trip to this delightful hotel and it did not disappoint. Superior twin room with side view over gardens, lake and mountains and furnished to a high standard. Service, food and staff excellent all contributing to a memorable few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLaura26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Luck Laura26,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent return visit to us with others on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that you found all aspects of this visit to be excellent....we aim to please !!
Thank you also for the five star rating.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I were in Patterdale staying with our friends who have lived in the area all their lives and who have visited this hotel often in the past, even with the Cumbrian dining club, and had good meals.Having booked , we arrived and had drinks in a loungeand some fairly tasteless canapes.We ordered our meals ,were seated and looked around the dull grey/green walls with dark wood panelling on the lower third,thenlooked through the windows to great views ,unfortunately the curtains were of dull dark brown velvety material with huge swags and falls htat brought no light or joy to the room.Service was good but the food was appalling ,one guest sent his starter back to be cooked properly and most of the other meals were minimalist badly arranged and delivered on stone cold plates.As this was a birthday "treat" I felt that this was not a good experience at all (I was assured that the head chef was on duty, I think he should retrain).A complaint (something I have never done before anywhere)brought a small reduction in the bill, but on discussing this with my friends it was classed as a gross mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Michaelvb,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rampsbeck.
I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed to live up to your expectations of us, I can assure you that we do take all complaints seriously.
As you can see from previous reviews, and from word of mouth by guest's, we do generally fulfil , and quite often succeed,all hopes and expectations of us I am saddened to hear that this was not the case for you and your friends.
If you wish to discuss the matter further please do call us direct,
Kind regards to you,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a review for the hotel.

We stayed in the room called 'Silver Crag' which has a balcony and overlooks the lake and the hills beyond. Beautiful views, especially in the evening. The room, which was always lovely, has been refurbished since we last stayed and is even more luxurious, especially the upgrade to the bathroom, which is top notch. My only minor quibble was that the water pressure in the shower was lower than I would like.
As you would expect, the staff are really helpful and attentive. The hotel itself is elegant, inside and out. Comfortable sitting rooms are perfect for enjoying pre-dinner drinks and are beautifully furnished. The grounds, leading down to the lake shore, are just right for a short stroll.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room at the front of the hotel, preferably with a balcony. You'll pay more, but...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StandonZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear StandonZtanzibar,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you found our refurbishments to be of a high standard and luxurious, Silver Crag is a very popular room and on the many occasions I have shown guest's into the room I do have to say that the most common reaction is "Wow" . Having said that all of our 19 rooms have been refurbished in the last few years to the same high standards and all have their own individual merits.
On your next visit to us why not ask at Reception to have a look at some of our other rooms, we would be happy to show you.
It was lovely to welcome you back to Rampsbeck, please don't leave it as long until your next visit !
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we have never stayed in such a clean hotel! The housekeeping staff deserve high praise. I have a keen eye for dirt and the room sparkled like new every day.
Great location, lovely grounds, nice staff, good food. It has all been said before so my tips that may help others to pay what is a pretty high price for the Lakes are;
Check the website the rooms are listed in descending order of desirability depending on individual taste and budget, check the photos of each room. All seem to be decorated to the same high standard so you are paying for space and the view. Do not expect ANY views in a standard and only limited views in a superior. Go for one of the named rooms.
Bar food was excellent and very good value. We had some delicious wine for reasonable money.

Room Tip: Choose a named room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Regdor,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It really is very gratifying to be able to pass on reviews like yours to our very hard working House keeping Team.
At the risk of repeating myself Rampsbeck would not be what it is if it wasn't for the dedicated team behind the scenes, the team, led by Nina have all been with us for some time now and take great personal delight in ensuring all the rooms at Rampsbeck are kept to the high standard that our guest's expect.
We have four different categories of rooms, all of which are decorated and furnished with the high quality furnishings one would expect at Rampsbeck, but as I have replied in the past I do suggest that guest's call our Reception Team who will discuss each room on its own individual merit to ensure that each room matches guest's requirements.
Once again many thanks for your kind words,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed with my mother at this hotel for two nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We occupied two rooms, White Knott and Winder Green which were adjacent to each other, both with balconies and facing the lake. Unfortunately this is also the side on which the car park is located which is a pity but don't let this put you off as the hotel is in a wonderful peaceful situation on the lakeside with beautiful gardens and grounds going straight out to the lake shore.
All the food we ate was delicious and was well served in a large room with plenty of space between the tables. The service throughout the hotel was friendly and efficient. We particularly liked Alex the Romanian waiter with his infectious smile and his cheerful demeanor.
The breakfast menu had plenty of choice with no buffet in sight which is for me a true sign of a hotel that knows how a meal should be served.
Many of the items changed on the dinner menu for our second night which was most welcome. There is nothing worse than choosing your most liked item on the first night and then having to select your not so favourite on the next one.
Whilst the food was delicious I personally would have preferred a dish of vegetables rather than them being used as more of a garnish.
The mini soups served as an amuse bouche were very good and they way that they were served in pretty ceramic bowls was a nice touch.
The hotel has a problem with their wifi and a solution is still being sought but at the moment it is pretty much non existant.
The room Winder Green has a hard mattress and White Knott a soft one. I slept badly on the first night on the hard one but for the second night a mattress topper was produced and all was fine for the second night.
We thought the hotel was a wonderful peaceful escape in a gorgeous location and look forward to going back for another treat sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Hollins1,
Thank you for posting an in-depth review after your recent two night stay with your Mother.
We are delighted to read that over all you both enjoyed your time with us .
We do have to adhere to Lake District planning rules and regulations regarding the car park, and believe me we have tried in the past to move it but unfortunately our hands are tied.
Chef does change the menu daily but it is always worth mentioning if you have a particular favourite as Chef is very accommodating and if it is possible he would cook a dish to your requirements. Also please do just mention when you next visit us as Chef is more than happy to serve you a dish of vegetables.
As I have said in previous replies we have a fantastic Front of House Team who all take great pride in their work and I am sure Alex will have that " infectious smile "on his face when he reads your kind words !
We look forward to welcoming you both back to Rampsbeck on your next visit,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have not stayed here before but have often driven past and thought what a great location which it certainly is. We could only get booked for 2 nights but everything was excellent. The food, the room with balcony overlooking the lake,the staff, all first class.
Thank you Rampsbeck, we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Robert B,
Many thanks for posting a review for others to read on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you decided to visit us instead of driving past [!] it is surprising how many guest's do say "We have driven past the road end many times but never called in...!!
Now you have found us - and thoroughly enjoyed your time at Rampsbeck we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Once again many thanks for your kind words,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: £60 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Another Place, The Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing