We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Four stars because of the very pleasant staff, comfortable public areas and a spacious room with nice views, spotlessly clean. The food at dinner was not to our taste turnip soup poured over a raw egg yolk didn' t do it for me and we found the rest of the food cold and at times bland but beautifully.presented. After being out walking all day we really enjoyed high tea which could have been even more aesthetically pleasing if the table had been laid with a cloth. The hotel itself has a really pleasant calm energy to it. Lovely gardens with easy access to the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Emerald 130944,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that over-all you enjoyed your time with us, maybe next time you would like to dine from our Bar Menu, we have some very filling favourites on there such as Fish and Chips and Sausage and Mash.!
we look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

When I arrived at this hotel I had a slight doubt because I have been to a lot of this older places that as a hotel just aren't up to scratch and just uncared for.

This one couldn't be more different, the rooms were fantastic especially those over looking the lake. I stayed here as part of a wedding group which meant the hotel was full. This did not dilute the level of service at all. The staff were all very attentive.

The food was very good whether dinner or breakfast. The whole place just felt very relaxed in a high quality environment.

This hotel is only 10 mins from the M6 but if feels like it could be miles away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear On the piste,
Many thanks for all of your lovely words posted on Trip Advisor.
It is very gratifying to read reviews such as your that reflect all the work, love and pride that goes into the Rampsbeck from not only our owners but the fantastic team here.
As you so rightly say, we really could be many miles away from the hustle and bustle of our local town of Penrith and the busy motorway, Indeed, a ten minute journey and you really could be in a different land.
Thank you again for your lovely comments,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent 4 night in this wonderful hotel. The Staff is very friendly
the location is perfect.
however, I gave it 4/5 because of three reasons only:
- The food choices is limited
- No bag carrying staff( the Reception staff will help but you have to do it yourself)
- Price is little High

Room Tip: White Knott is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kghanmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Kghamni,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your visit to Rampsbeck .
Just a little note for your next visit to us , the team on Reception are more than happy to carry and bags for you, or if Alan, our Concierge is not on duty at the time then any member of the team would willingly offer.
Next time you are over and in the area we would love to see you again,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Took a nostalgia trip to this delightful hotel and it did not disappoint. Superior twin room with side view over gardens, lake and mountains and furnished to a high standard. Service, food and staff excellent all contributing to a memorable few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLaura26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Luck Laura26,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent return visit to us with others on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that you found all aspects of this visit to be excellent....we aim to please !!
Thank you also for the five star rating.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I were in Patterdale staying with our friends who have lived in the area all their lives and who have visited this hotel often in the past, even with the Cumbrian dining club, and had good meals.Having booked , we arrived and had drinks in a loungeand some fairly tasteless canapes.We ordered our meals ,were seated and looked around the dull grey/green walls with dark wood panelling on the lower third,thenlooked through the windows to great views ,unfortunately the curtains were of dull dark brown velvety material with huge swags and falls htat brought no light or joy to the room.Service was good but the food was appalling ,one guest sent his starter back to be cooked properly and most of the other meals were minimalist badly arranged and delivered on stone cold plates.As this was a birthday "treat" I felt that this was not a good experience at all (I was assured that the head chef was on duty, I think he should retrain).A complaint (something I have never done before anywhere)brought a small reduction in the bill, but on discussing this with my friends it was classed as a gross mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Michaelvb,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rampsbeck.
I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed to live up to your expectations of us, I can assure you that we do take all complaints seriously.
As you can see from previous reviews, and from word of mouth by guest's, we do generally fulfil , and quite often succeed,all hopes and expectations of us I am saddened to hear that this was not the case for you and your friends.
If you wish to discuss the matter further please do call us direct,
Kind regards to you,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a review for the hotel.

We stayed in the room called 'Silver Crag' which has a balcony and overlooks the lake and the hills beyond. Beautiful views, especially in the evening. The room, which was always lovely, has been refurbished since we last stayed and is even more luxurious, especially the upgrade to the bathroom, which is top notch. My only minor quibble was that the water pressure in the shower was lower than I would like.
As you would expect, the staff are really helpful and attentive. The hotel itself is elegant, inside and out. Comfortable sitting rooms are perfect for enjoying pre-dinner drinks and are beautifully furnished. The grounds, leading down to the lake shore, are just right for a short stroll.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room at the front of the hotel, preferably with a balcony. You'll pay more, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StandonZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear StandonZtanzibar,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you found our refurbishments to be of a high standard and luxurious, Silver Crag is a very popular room and on the many occasions I have shown guest's into the room I do have to say that the most common reaction is "Wow" . Having said that all of our 19 rooms have been refurbished in the last few years to the same high standards and all have their own individual merits.
On your next visit to us why not ask at Reception to have a look at some of our other rooms, we would be happy to show you.
It was lovely to welcome you back to Rampsbeck, please don't leave it as long until your next visit !
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we have never stayed in such a clean hotel! The housekeeping staff deserve high praise. I have a keen eye for dirt and the room sparkled like new every day.
Great location, lovely grounds, nice staff, good food. It has all been said before so my tips that may help others to pay what is a pretty high price for the Lakes are;
Check the website the rooms are listed in descending order of desirability depending on individual taste and budget, check the photos of each room. All seem to be decorated to the same high standard so you are paying for space and the view. Do not expect ANY views in a standard and only limited views in a superior. Go for one of the named rooms.
Bar food was excellent and very good value. We had some delicious wine for reasonable money.

Room Tip: Choose a named room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Regdor,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It really is very gratifying to be able to pass on reviews like yours to our very hard working House keeping Team.
At the risk of repeating myself Rampsbeck would not be what it is if it wasn't for the dedicated team behind the scenes, the team, led by Nina have all been with us for some time now and take great personal delight in ensuring all the rooms at Rampsbeck are kept to the high standard that our guest's expect.
We have four different categories of rooms, all of which are decorated and furnished with the high quality furnishings one would expect at Rampsbeck, but as I have replied in the past I do suggest that guest's call our Reception Team who will discuss each room on its own individual merit to ensure that each room matches guest's requirements.
Once again many thanks for your kind words,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
418 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Address: Rampsbeck Grange, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: £60 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Another Place, The Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing