We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location is so beautiful, next to Ullswater with wonderful views of the lake and surrounding hills. You can either walk round the beautifully maintained gardens or sit on one of the chairs outside and watch the sailing. Sadly it rained whilst we were there(not unusual for the Lakes) but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant following by a lovely breakfast in the morning. We went for a short gastro break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The views of the lake in the dining room are stunning. Enough superlatives, the staff were also lovely, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Great walking location with a bit of luxury to come back too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed three nights last weekend, our Nephew had his wedding celebration on the Saturday, but we stayed Friday Saturday & Sunday.
The views of the lake and gardens are outstanding, in both rain and shine. The fine dining never disappointed but the Ace in the pack are the staff, unobtrusive, elegant and understated. I have stayed in far more expensive places, with ego's and star recommendations to match - they could all learn something from Rampsbeck.

Room Tip: Try Martindale or Ullswater
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stunning hotel set in beautiful location on lake ullswater.

Rooms lovely, elegant and classy hotel with great staff. A thoroughly relaxing stay. We didn't want to leave!

Wifi poor but otherwise outstanding.

Room Tip: They all seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had our wedding last Saturday - and it was wonderful from start to finish. The food and overall service was excellent and all our guests thought the same too. An unforgettable day. Rooms were immaculate. Location is stunning at the side of lake ullswater.We cannot thank them enough for making everything go like clockwork.

Room Tip: we stayed in silver crag - the bridal suite - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJ0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a wonderful place.
The hotel is beautifully decorated. The staff are friendly and seem happy in their work, this really adds to the relaxed atmosphere.
We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed excellent food. The dinner menu changed each night.
The setting by the Lake is stunning but the gardens are also very beautiful. The gardener must be congratulated. Not a weed to be seen!
The attention to detail was evident everywhere you looked around the hotel.

Cost, not the cheapest but it does represent excellent value for money because of the very high standards set in all areas. We are already thinking of another visit.
I think this is my new favourite hotel!

Room Tip: A Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent one night in this splendid hotel which was very traditional. The welcome was very warm and we were given a tour and brief history of the estate. We declined the Al a Carte dinner and had a very enjoyable bar meal that was well presented although a little top heavy on price.
Breakfast not a buffet but ordered at the table which proved a little slow. The room was well appointed but as a booking.com special we were allocated the smallest room but it was very comfortable and the bathroom was recently renovated and very nicely finished.
My only complaint which is a basic requirement in this day and age is INTERNET, it was non-existent anywhere in the Hotel. I complained and was told to sit in a specific chair in the lounge for the best reception!!!!!!! Even that failed. Sorry but no internet no return visit.

Room Tip: Wherever you can find internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I brought my partner here on the 24 July to celebrate his birthday.
We tend to favour country house hotels in the area and had recently retuned to Sharrow Bay after it went down in our estimations...fabulous now.

We had been to the Rampsbeck twice last year and really enjoyed so were looking forward to our lunch.
We left Hungry !

Food is very artistically presented and delicious.
Starter gorgeous but tiny ...more room for the main course we thought !
Main course was a small piece of Pollock with minuscule cauliflower florets and No potatoes ! All delicious but not enough food for a rabbit !
Pudding more substantive ...probably as we had eaten our way through two bread baskets and the waitress noticed.
Disappointing !

The setting is beautiful.
The Staff are excellent...attentive without being intrusive.

Come Monsieur Chef...Feed your customers !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patsiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
377 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Another Place, The Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing