We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2ND TIME AROUND - EVEN BETTER THAN THE 1ST”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“2ND TIME AROUND - EVEN BETTER THAN THE 1ST”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

What can I say? I booked this trip as a surprise for my Husband for our wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Rampsbeck eight years ago for another special occasion. I did not think you could improve on perfection. How wrong I was! We stayed in Ullswater, a stunning room with a lake view, four poster bed and Jacuzzi bath. The room itself was immaculate. Lovely flat screen TV with a seating area, and the room was equipt with facilities for hot drinks, plenty of choice. Stocks of tea/coffee/biscuits etc were all topped up when you left the room for dinner in the evening, along with the bedsheets being turned down, which was a lovely touch. Staff at the Rampsbeck are in a classof their own, and are a credit to Marion, thank you, thank you thank you! Never too close for comfort, but always attentive and make you feel welcome. Food - no other words for it but out of this world. Dining at the Rampsbeck was a wonderful, indulgent experience. We enjoyed breakfast and evening meals during both nights. My husband and I really do love the area, and to be honest, I think would struggle to choose anywhere else when we next visit. Thanks so much. You made our anniversary so very special, and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thankyou for sharing your experience of your time with us on Trip Adviser, we appreciate all the time and effort it involves.
Since your last visit we have undergone a total refurbishment, it took three years to do but wasn't it worth it !
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, please don't leave it as long until your next visit ! We look forward to seeing you again,
Kind Regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees, UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed at the Rampsbeck over Valentine's weekend in one of the rooms overlooking the Lake. The hotel is situated in a lovely spot on the shores of Ullswater and the view out of the hotel down to the lake is stunning.

Our room was very pleasant, elegantly furnished and spacious. The beds were a touch hard for my taste. There were some plumbing issues - the bedroom was too hot and there was a rumbling noise throughout the night about every 20 minutes or so that appeared to come from behind the toilet cistern. This rather spoilt what should have been a good night's sleep considering the quiet location the hotel is in.

The service in the hotel is very personal and the food in the restaurant is good, but not great. The appetisers and starters were excellent, main courses good but the menu is let down by it's dessert choice, commented on by past reviewers. Some more simple, traditional dessert choices would be more suitable. The wine selection is good if somewhat oddly arranged on the menu and the service in the restaurant was attentive.

Breakfast was excellent although a bit early finishing at 09.30 as we would have liked more of a lie in.

One point of note was the receptionist - although friendly and welcoming, she had a number of very loud conversations over the phone from the reception area that could be clearly heard throughout the downstairs area of the hotel. We could hear every word and after 30 minutes decided to retire to the peace and quiet of our room!!

Overall, this 2 night trip cost £750 and although I did enjoy the break overall, this is simply too much for what you get. I have stayed at a number of other hotels in the Lakes for the same or less and have had better value for money. They are trying hard but lack the finesse that is required for such a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Many thanks for your review and all your comments raised.
We continually strive to improve the service given to guests and to address any comments given by them.
At present we are considering changing our breakfast times in response to other customer reviews.
We are sorry that you thought your stay was over priced, we do try very hard to balance the expenses incurred in maintaining the hotel with providing value for money for our guests.
Kind Regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We were fortunate to stay in the beautiful deluxe room called 'White Knott' with stunning views over Ullswater. We were made to feel 'Special' from the start to the end of our stay. We have never relaxed anywhere so quickly. The Staff were so nice. Special 'thanks' to Steven, Tracey and the lady who showed us to our room. They were so helpful, and professional. The whole hotel is so very tastefully furnished and beautifully decorated. The grounds and surrounding views of the Lake are amazing. The presentation of the food, in the elegant dining room and the service were excellent. Our stay was a really wonderful experience. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolHornsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Many thanks for writing a reveiw on Trip Adviser.
It was a pleasure to meet you and look after you both, and I am delighted you had a wonderful time with us.
Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future !
Best Wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Thought we would give it a try after getting a Flyer about the hotel at a local fair we had attended, it looked just the job for an overnight stay

The hotel is very well situated at the lake edge, bit of a problem finding it with quite poor signage but then the very bad weather didn't help either but then it is winter in the Lake District.

Bit of a drab entrance hall that needs some re-organisation, especially with a log fire as a focal point (when we arrived it was was barely lit) which was a let down considering the raging gale that greeted us and a reception area, well a hole in the wall actually, that does the hotel no justice and clearly needs sorting, that aside the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The bedrooms all have names which is a nice touch and it was clear that ours had been refurbished, it was very well presented, large, airy, clean and spotless with a nice comfy bed and a spacious sitting area, the view out of the french doors was fantastic.

The hotel had very few guests and the public areas even less, it felt a bit fawlty tower's ish, that aside we had dinner that evening which was very, very good. It lived up to its honest reputation, it is not an extremely high standard like a Michellin but then they don't repute to be that calibre and the restaurant staff were all very pleasant

We had a good nights sleep but would have liked a longer lie in, the policy is Mon-Sat breakfast by 09.30 and out the room by 11.00, it would be better to extend breakfast till at least 10.30 and out of the room by 12.00, considering the good standard of the meal the night before the breakfast in selection and quantity and quality was not up to the same level, unfortunately that final moment rather spoilt the night, we left £450 lighter for dinner B&B and it just seemed overall to be moderate value for money which is a pity, a bit more effort and thought in the areas mentioned would certainly help them

We would probably go again in the summer

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keredewor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Manager at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Firstly may I say what a pleasure it was to meet you at the Christmas Market at Knaresborough and how delighted I was when you both decided to visit us at Rampsbeck.
We were sorry to hear that your stay at Rampsbeck failed to meet your expectations and will certainly take your comments into consideration in our continued efforts to improve the quality of the service we offer.
In response to your review I would just like to clarify a few points that may relay more the ethos of Rampsbeck and offer suggestions as to why you feel your experience was less than the perfection we strive to deliver.
The National Park that is The Lake District is, as you correctly point out, lightly sign posted and can make travel in the area a little more difficult than one would experience in heavily built up areas. Rampsbeck’s situation at the Head of Ullswater however, is only a short distance from the main M6 junction 40, Penrith. I can imagine it felt much longer if you are unfamiliar with our narrow roads.
As you will see from a previous review the policy in the Hotel is to keep the house heated at all times throughout the public rooms and accommodation, some of our guest’s are more elderly and therefore feel the cold, It is with this in mind that on occasions we do allow the fire to ember rather than blaze whilst the heating is on during the afternoon, I am sure that you will agree in the evening it was a roaring log fire, I usually build it up myself when I come back on duty at around 5p.m for dinner service.
I am pleased you commented that your room had been recently refurbished. I discussed with your wife that we had just finalised a three year transitional period where all the public rooms and accommodation have been updated. This has included the installation of new bathrooms with under floor heating, Wall mounted flat screen T.V’s, many of the beautiful pieces of original Art work and the antique furniture. This was all done with the intention of re-instating the “Country House” feel, so at times our public rooms are quiet and we can only hope that during periods of low occupancy guest’s enjoy having the place to themselves. Regrettably a lot of the Hotels in the area close for the quieter months as it can be difficult to justify opening a house this size for few guests.
Had you requested a late checkout we would have happily offered a departure time of up to 1p.m, provided your room was not required for an arriving guest on your day of departure. It is usual however, that with 19 bedrooms we have to have a departure time of 11 O’clock to facilitate our check in time of 2p.m. We do try to be flexible to accommodate our guest’s wishes
I am sorry you feel our table served breakfast is not what you would expect. Again, we are always happy to offer larger portions or alternative combinations of the hot food we offer. In the hope that you will indeed visit us again in the summer perhaps you could email me directly with “your ideal breakfast” and we can improve on your next “final moment”.
steven@rampsbeck.co.uk
Once again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Steven
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Just stayed fot two nights at the rampsbeck hotel staying in the Halin Room , the hotel was wonderful looking out over Ulswater and the staff could not be more helpful . We chose to dine in the restaurant and the food was no disapointment again brilliantly served and delicious .The only slight problem we had with our stay was that our room was at times a little too warm and we could not work out how to turn the heating down , this is minor and we would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acefaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Management Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, we do appreciate it.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you will return in the future,we look forward to seeing you again.
I do apologise about the heating problem in your room, we were closed for three weeks in January for the final phase of our refurbishment and the heating system needed re-balanced, I can confirm that this has now been rectified and should not be a problem in the future .
Thanks again for taking the time to review us on Trip Adviser,
Best Wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed for a weekend to walk in the area. We were a group of 22. The hotel is well positioned for exploring this part of the Lakes. The staff were very welcoming and the service excellent throughout. Rooms good, food very good. They coped well with a large group of people and even arranged to reserve us a lounge to ourselves - possibly to protect the other guests! The house has been beautifully restored and furnished. The only minor criticism was the lack of information about the history of the place - what they told us sounded fascinating. Apparently it's on the "to do" list. Will definitely be back to check!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Management Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us on Trip Adviser.
It was lovely to meet you and the rest of your walking group, I do agree that we are in a fantastic position for exploring the lakes, also there are some lovely walks close to the hotel.
We are currently working on the history of the Rampsbeck ,however I have to say this is proving to be rather more complicated than we anticipated, there are lots of gaps in what we have compiled so far,but please bear with us, we will get there eventually !
Thanks again for your kind comments,
Best Wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed the last week-end in January for our annual winter walking break, all 22 of us. Everyone was delighted with the rooms, the food, the service and the comfort of the day rooms; even the weather was kind to us!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampsbeck, Management Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Many thanks for writing a review on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that your group found all aspects of your stay delightful, we can't however take any credit for the weather !!
Many thanks once again,
Best Wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Another Place, The Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith
Another Place, The Lake Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing