We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by a mean main course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spoilt by a mean main course”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful hotel with views to die for. Probably the best hotel around Ullswater
Rooms equally good but perhaps need a coat of paint and TLC some time soon.

What a shame they go and ruin it with an evening main course meal that a best could be described as portion control and at worse pathetic invalid food
"Fish of the day" consisted of two tiny tail end triangles of plaice fillet (cooked weight estimated at no more than 50 grammes) on a small mound of risotto rice.
The price of this, I quote from the menu, " complete meal" was £21 so I estimate around 50p in raw materials at retail prices if I am generous.
The hotel agreed to a 50% discount but sorry the damage was done
The next 2 nights we voted with our feet and dined well at the pub down the road.
Come on McDonald you can do better than this

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    329
    135
    53
    27
See reviews for
139
874
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a lovely hotel!! Set in the most peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms very comfortable with everything you could have needed. I thought the menu choice was a bit restricted and whilst the food was very tasty there really wasn't much of it and it was very pricey. We were on half board and it was hard to keep within that budget even without wine. But overall a great stay and I wil definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex4994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent.
Lovely hotel, staff and location.
We will be back. Can't comment on food as we eat out but the breakfast was really good. Some rooms look over towards the lake and some don't but the old house part of the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I have visited Leeming House 7 times now and we are just back from another fabulous time. We were truly spoiled by the wonderful staff and cannot thank them enough.
We couldn't get in for dinner on the Saturday night as the hotel was fully booked which wasn't a problem as the staff after apologizing profusely recommended somewhere else and once we had eaten we came back and sat in the garden with a lovely bottle of wine, even though the staff were extremely busy they still found the time to make sure we were OK.
This is just a short review to say a big thank you to all the wonderful people who work at Leeming, they have made it a home from home for us and we are always sad to leave.
Keep up the excellent work. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeshireDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July, in the middle of the heatwave. We had booked through a MacDonald’s promotion for an executive feature room with a balcony, but the booking had gone through as a room without balcony. (This has happened to us before with an internet booking – take your booking info with you). The matter was quickly resolved by Anna on reception who gave us a choice of two rooms – we picked one in the new wing with a delightful view of garden and lake. The room was a good size, and as it was on a corner there was a flow of air between the window and French doors. Although the room (39) could do with a bit of TLC it was more than adequate and had all the things you would expect.

The gardens of the hotel looked fantastic, and it was lovely to sit on the patio looking across the gardens to the lake.

We dined at the hotel both evenings, as there aren’t any alternative eateries within walking distance. The food is very good, with some of the dishes bordering excellent. I notice some reviews mention tiny portions, which is what one expects with a fine dining menu of this type, but even though the amounts of food were small we struggled to find room for pudding, although we did manage to share some cheese on the first evening. There isn’t a table d’hote menu – starters are priced around the £7-£9 mark, and mains at £15-£25. Service was very good on the first night, the team being led by Arek, but not quite as attentive on the second night when the restaurant was busier. Still acceptable though.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and it was good to see staff who had been there on our last visit a couple of years ago. They provided good service, but were a little thin on the ground in the bar and patio area. The bell to summon attention in the bar was out of order, so to find someone to serve was very difficult at times.

It was a little disappointing that the corridor area at the bottom of the stairs leading to the first floor in the new wing was filled with laundry for all the 3 days of our stay – I would have expected it to have been stored away on the day of delivery.

Other really annoying features - £3 surcharge to pay by credit card? We’re in the 21st century for goodness sake. £10 pd for wifi? Is that really necessary to cover costs, or just another way to increase profit?

Gripes aside, altogether a lovely hotel in a stunning setting with staff going the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. For a comfortable, relaxing break I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were at Leeming House for our son’s wedding in June 2013. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with wonderful views of the lake and fells from all the main rooms and many of the bedrooms.

Our son and daughter in law chose Leeming House after considering almost every hotel on the shores of Ullswater and we felt they’d made absolutely the right choice. The hotel has a comfortable country house feel rather than a glossy luxury style and for us this made a perfect backdrop for a personal family occasion like a wedding. The hotel was closed to other guests for the evening and night of the wedding and this made us feel even more at home there.

The hotel management and staff really helped our son and daughter in law to put things together to suit their own taste and they were able to use the published wedding packages as a starting point rather than a rigid formula. They were also helpful and encouraging with their plans for a marquee, and the individual touches around the rooms used for the reception.

All the staff were friendly and helpful as well as professional and this made the whole party feel welcome. They were only too happy to help with the small practical problems that arise during a big family party. Food and wine were whisked into the garden for the parents of a small baby who needed quieter surroundings. IOU notes were written for drinks in the marquee during a temporary mishap with the power supply.

We have had several meals here including the dinner served at the wedding. All of them were delicious and to a very high standard (particularly impressive for the wedding meal). As it was a family party I saw several other bedrooms in the new wing and they were all spacious and comfortable, although some may feel that the laid back country house style is a little dated.

The hotel has a new manager who was always about and very helpful, and I know that some refurbishment is planned. Based on an earlier visit and some of the other reviews I think that this hotel is improving and I will be watching future reviews with interest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaydr3amer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review further to your sons wedding.
weddings at Leeming are always a delight and thank you for your positive comments.
'Exclusive use' are very popular as are smaller intimate ones. Flexibility is important and we try to tailor to the individual taste of the bride and groom.

Your son and daughter in law and all of the wedding party were such good fun and it was great to see everyone enjoy themselves.

I am pleased to hear that you felt the food to be delicious and of a very high standard.

I look forward to your next visit

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A stay that was spoilt by far too many trivial extras being charged. Having booked a Dinner BandB rate we discovered that the allowance for dinner was insufficient to cover the cost of a three course meal. There was also a charge for WiFi and a charge of £3 for using a credit card to settle the bill. A power cut exposed the lack of a back up generator. There was not a fresh flower to be seen throughout the hotel.
Far too much emphasis on cost cutting instead of guest enjoyment.....such a shame.

Room Tip: Pay a premium for one of the refurbished rooms with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing