We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing atmosphere to get away from the stress of reality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived to find that our room was very cold (room 11), however the weather was awful. After complaining we were given an upgrade with no quibbles. A nice winter getaway with beautiful views and great food and no real need to leave the hotel. This was our belated honeymoon and room 4 was absolutely stunning, not as spacious as 11 but the view was amazing. Wifi would be good but when away, who needs it! Same with the television. No signal due to weather but the nice crackling log fire in the lounge is better than tv. The staff were amazing, so professional and very helpful and Moses is a superstar. We will go back as we think we have found our little piece if heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee_rollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Leeming for your belated honeymoon.
As you say the weather was awful during your stay and its so reassuring to hear that even with the challenges, you enjoyed your upgrade and having no TV didn't deter you from having a lovely stay. Leeming House in winter is a great retreat as you say, its cosy lounges and log fires looking out onto the view make up for what's happening outside.
I know the team will feel proud to read your comments about them being amazing and professional.

Thank you for such positive and kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked a one-night getaway, our first after having our baby daughter! The staff were first rate and made the stay perfect. They were warm and welcoming, had a good sense of humour and made us feel very welcome indeed. Moses and Anna on reception and all of the dining staff carried out their tasks with a smile, and this was possibly one of the best and most relaxing breaks we have had anywhere! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely, newly refurbished in purples and pinks, standalone bath, fantastic views across Ul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
One of the best and relaxing stays you have had anywhere, what a great compliment, thank you.
I am really pleased to hear you had such a good stay.
Whilst we know Leeming House is a beautiful hotel, we are aware its actually the team that make our guests stay memorable, so your comments are very reassuring.
The suite room 6 that you stayed in is one of my favourites', with its great views and amazing room and bathroom
Thank you again for taking the time to comment and for your recommendation

Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing the winter warmer offer on the Macdonald website. It was probably one of the best vfm weekend trips we have ever had. A big thank you to Moses and Oana on reception who made us feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. Also thanks to Arek, Kate and the team in the restaurant (and in the kitchen), we had two lovely evening meals and two great breakfasts. Room 40, a spacious suite with 2 balconies and views of Ullswater added to a wonderful weekend. We will be back and we finally got round to joining the Macdonald members club, despite having our Civil Partnership at Macdonald Manchester in November 2010 and booking 20 rooms for guests and 2 function rooms for he day!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Whatfordregans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
Its good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our 'winter warmer' break, its always worth checking the Macdonald website to see what great offers we have.
Thank you for your very positive feedback, I would agree the suite you stayed in is one of our best rooms and definitely worth staying in.
Good to hear that you are now Macdonald Club Members and you can start gaining rewards for your loyalty.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights stay at the Macdonald Leeming Hotel. We arrived on Friday evening to a welcoming glass of sherry from Moses on the reception. We were in room 37 which had a balcony with a view of the lake. The room was lovely with a king size bed. Very tastefully furnished. The bathroom was a good size. The food was excellent. The first night we had prawns in batter (very light batter!) as a starter followed by sirloin steak for our main meal which was cooked to perfection. The second night I had the lamb which was beautiful and my husband had the haddock. All beautifully presented. The staff in the dining room (Arek, Kate and another young lady) were very professional and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. Arek also served in the small bar. He always had a smile for everyone. All in all this is a lovely hotel which we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
It was a pleasure to read your very positive feedback further to your recent stay, it always makes us proud especially when you say you received such good service and food. I know the team members you have mentioned will be particularly pleased.
I hope that you will return to Leeming in the future and thank you for recommending us

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent a couple of nights here after New Year, the weather outside was awful, but we enjoyed a relaxing break in the comfort of Leeming.
The rooms are well appointed but could do with a fridge, the beds are just fine.
According to the company literature, there is free wi-fi. This is not the case. When I enquired about it I was told it was "coming soon". Soon is a big long word, if wi-fi is important to you, check first.
The food is very good, in fact I can tell you from experience it is better here than in higher rated restaurants within a five mile radius. Oana in reception is a star!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, especially your comments about the food and enjoying your stay so much, not everyone would consider a winter break, but it really can be a de- stress to relax in the rooms and lounges over a glass of wine or tasty dinner.
I would agree with what you say about the wifi, coming soon, we are in the process of having it fitted, due to the very poor signal in the area we are having fibre optic installed, however there have been some issues laying this to the hotel. We hope this will be resolved within the next month. Wifi is a basic requirement these days and we are committed to ensure this is provided for our guests.
Oana will be thrilled to see your comments about her, it is always important to our team to feel our guests leave satisfied and with good memories of their visit.
Thank you once again

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First stay in a Macdonald hotel and we was not disappointed. The setting is perfect upon the shore of Ullswater lake and the gardens are very well maintained. The bar area is a little small however what makes up for this is the lounge area with open fires and nice furniture were you can relax and enjoy your drink. The room (33) was nicely decorated and clean (the lock on the bathroom was missing and the H on top of the tap was missing). The room had a nice view over the gardens and the lake could be seen from the balcony. What made this hotel special was the staff they were all very pleasant and helpful from checking in to checkout. The food was really really good we did not book for evening meal at the time of booking direct which does save you money. We spent more than normal on this hotel but myself and my husband found it money well spent and would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 33 was a nice room second floor in building right side of main building view from balcony looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayLancashirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write after your recent stay at Leeming House, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about our team and it is very motivational.
Winter at the hotel is a lovely time to visit, the landscape is always stunning, but coupled with log fires in our cosy lounges its a great relaxing place to be.
Thank you for choosing Leeming House and I hope that you may have the opportunity to visit again

Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really lovely night away between Christmas and New Year. The Restaurant Manager was excellent, very welcoming and friendly, he really made our stay very pleasant and clearly went out of his way to do a great job.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneFitzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, Owner at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments regarding your stay between Christmas and New Year. It's great to hear that our Restaurant Manager, Arek looked after you so well, I know he will be pleased to see your comments as he does try to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay.
I hope that you will be able to return again this year, maybe when the sun is shining.
Kind regards

Karen Irving
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,754 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
429 reviews
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: £87 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing