We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll need a bank loan to go here!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You'll need a bank loan to go here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Too expensive, spoilt our 2 night break. £9 for a 250ml glass of wine - over £25 for a bottle. Burger £18 yes that's right £18 for 1 burger in the bar! Breakfast £17.95 and then you had to pay extra if you wanted something other than an English fry up. Note pushed under door to explain that the painters may be at our window in the morning as they are trying to redecorate outside. The staff however were lovely and they themselves embarrassed at the pricing of drinks and bar snacks. Bread with your evening meal was an additional £3.50 and you only got 3 small slices! Well OTT

Room Tip: Don't go in the Garden Suite unless you want to be woken up by the kitchen swing door banging ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, we always apreciate feedback whether compliment or contructive.

I am firstly very pleased to hear that you felt our team to be lovely.
I am dissapointed that you felt the wine prices too high, as although you say the staff were embarrassed by the cost, I feel they are quite the oppisite, we have over 60 wines on our list to suit everyones taste. I did look into your comments and you did choose one of our particularly nice wines, however there is further choice of less expensive and more expensive, which I am advised was highlighted to you.
I would agree our burgers are not the cheapest, however they are prime scottish beef and made to order to ensure their freshness, Macdonald Hotels pride themselves on their food produce and will only provide the finest quality.
With regard to the breakfast we are very proud of our offering and term it 'breakfast brilliance', I would say that once again the price reflects the product, we have many items on our cold buffet, including fresh yogurts, cheeses, meats, cereals, fruits and much more, this is included in the price alongside a freshly cooked breakfast
I do apologise that you were dissapointed to get a letter advising you there would be painters outside, but it was actually to advise if you wasnt going out during the day, please let us know and we would ensure you wouldnt be disturbed. We upgrade our premises continually to ensure it is presented at its best and we do try to do this with the least inconvenience to our guests.
Thank you once again for your comments
Kind regards
Karen irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    319
    125
    48
    25
See reviews for
132
844
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Booked hotel very last minute on Thursday evening and arrived for a two night break to same night. Arrived at hotel at 10pm to be greeted by a very friendly man on reception, who upgraded our room to one with the view of the lake. Room was excellent, wonderful views of Ullswater and the mountains. The breakfast was great, cooked to order and good choice of pastries/cereal etc. The view from the dining room was stunning and a great start to our day. Prior to booking this hotel, we had looked at a number of different B&B's and hotels in the Ullwater area. We are so glad we booked to stay here. The location is perfect, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the staff are very friendly. Would highly recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
"Would highly reccomend to everyone I know", wow, thank you so much for such fantastic feedback.
It is really rewarding to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Leeming House so much and that you felt your room and the breakfast to be of such good quality.
Thank you for choosing out hotel to stay at and I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley,UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay to celebrate our Pearl Wedding anniversary.We had booked using some Tesco Clubcard vouchers and so paid the full rate. We were allocated Room 35 which was in the additional wing of the hotel on the top floor.
It had a stunning view and a balcony but on trying to open the patio doors found them to be stuck and had to use some force to get them open. The balconies of all the rooms are in need of painting and some new patio furniture.
The room itself was spacious but the furnishings could do with renewing. Also the bathroom floor tiles were cracked and the expelair didn't work.We had pre-ordered a bottle of wine to have with dinner as we had been told it was cheaper to do this (call me cynical but I think it's a way of bulk buying wine & selling it on at a profit!!). When we got to our room we found a bottle of wine chilling in a an ice bucket and thought it was a nice touch, however we later had a phone call advising us that this was a mistake and it was the bottle we had ordered for dinner!! On the plus side the service was excellent and we had a fantastic meal to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was very quiet and in a lovely location. If the rooms were renovated we would definitely return for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_and_John_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedaback further to your recent stay at Leeming House.
I would agree, our feature rooms offer excellent views over the lake and surrounding fells and we are very fortunate to be in such a lovely location.
Its good to hear you had a fantastic meal and found our staff to be excellent.
You are correct the balconies and doors are in need of attention and painting, which I am glad to say is in progress at the moment. We are having a full external redecoration, now that the weather is fine.
We are also looking at the renovation of the rooms in the future, I do hope that you can visit us again.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights half board, having stayed for one night last year. Our stay was very enjoyable, the double classic room was v good with plenty of room. The food in the restaurant was first class with excellent service.

The location is absolutely stunning and we had three rain free days walking around and above Ullswater. We had a break deal for £405 for two d,b&b and was fantastic value. We hope to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer block are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for returning to Leeming House a second time,that is a great compliment.
It is good to know you found your room to be very good and spacious and the food to be first class.
I know the team will be pleased to hear you found the service to be excellent.
We look forward to welcoming youback in the future
Kind regards
karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked as a double celebration, we were expecting great things but after a long and under whelming check in process plus noise in the room (from a banging kitchen door and cleaning staff) and cleanliness issues, we asked to be moved to another room.
To the receptionists credit, he gave us room 6 which is a lovely room with a great view.
The food in the hotel was lovely and staff were excellent, well trained and very friendly so this fact helped to make up for poor 1st impressions.
It seems there are a number of on going maintenance issues in the hotel that need fixing but the breakfast alone is worth making a visit.

Room Tip: room 6 is lovely but check that shower tray has been fixed as it can over flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent stay at Leeming House.
Its always good to hear when a guest lets us know they have received excellent service with friendly staff.
I was sorry to hear of your first impression, but good to hear it was dealt with straight away to your satisfaction
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed during Valentines weekend and I was left somewhat disappointed. The view is amazing and the service was good. The food is a let down hugely. It was overpriced and I should not have opted for the breakfast option.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, I would agree we do have amazing views and a great team.

I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with the breakfast however, this is suprising as it is an area we gain great feedback for usualy, with a huge choice on the cold buffet, with fresh meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, yogurt and much more, then in addition a full cooked hot breakfast.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

... I booked the best room available...feature room, for us to recline and chill, I travel a lot and get little downtime. View from room excellent, wonderful, 2 full length picture windows.... Shame you couldn't see through one for dirt and the other for lime scale buildup for a leaking roof! Dusty skirts, dusty headboard, ..had room re cleaned,and to be fair the team were straight onto it. Picture balcony from bathroom, had staining all down it due to clearly well established leak from roof.... ( housekeeping left a permanent towel there to catch the drips!) 2 balconies had wonderful views...however were mossy and with loose tiles...and bits of twigs sticking out randomly. Nespresso. Machine was a nice touch...shame there were no capsules in the whole of the hotel and 2 coffees in the lounge was £9.30!, have to say though the staff did respond quickly and did re clean and also give us coffee free, which was much appreciated.the sofa was a sofa bed, therefore uncomfortable to sit on, and you would never sleep 4 people in that room anyway! Way too small.. Bed very hard, linen very clean though. More damp patches on ceiling again at patio doors... Clearly a flat roof which needs attention..... Toilet blocked and my husband was so embarrassed he cleared it himself!!!, power shower was a trickle,,,,, buy a booster! It costs pence to fit, ....It was potentially a Lovely room... It was just really let down by attention to detail. For me it was a bog standard room, not feature, and I wasn't happy that is booked this for leisure and the reason I picked the top room avail on the internet was that I wanted a bit of nice time to chill out in our room.... We did ask about room 6 which is apparently the latest nicest room. But that had an additional 49 pound surcharge.. Which is odd as I couldn't see it advertised on the web as anything other than a feature suite... The hotel itself was really lovely and the staff nice but a little hit and miss. Shawn, was fantastic. and remembered every detail, he was fabulous, however dinner, though very very tasty when it arrived took 50 mins to come...and 2 tables were served theirs and they came in after us. Breakfast however was faultless! Totally fantastic.... I want to love this hotel and five star it...as it's potential is wonderful, the homemade shortbread, the crackling fires, the view, the staff... It's just tired, and it really dampened what was a surprise weekend for my hubby.. Attention to detail is genuinely all that is required to make this fantastic...however we did get a fab D BB rate, so it felt less painful.... I told the staff all the problems we had had and they did rectify what they could,which I felt was a real positive, they certainly helped improve our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ri1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Leeming House.
I am sorry to hear there were some dissapointments with your stay and clearly some areas we did not get right.
It is however very reasurring that you felt the staff to be fantastic and that they inproved your stay.
it is never our intention that any of our guests should leave less than satisfied, and should you wish to discuss some of the areas of your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me personaly
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing