We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chance Encounter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chance Encounter”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Passing through the area and booked as a last minute option to break up a journey, what a delight. From the lovely welcome to the stunning views, meticulously kept grounds, comfortable room and delicious food it couldn't have been better. I would have liked to have extended the stay but time didn't permit, I will remember to book for longer next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest
What lovely comments, I am glad to hear we were a chance encounter and you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are very fortunate to be in such a great location.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back, hopefully for longer next time
Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    325
    127
    49
    26
See reviews for
137
856
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a short break as enjoyed it so much the first time round. Fabulous hotel set in it's own grounds with excellent restaurant and fantastic views. We ate in the hotel every night we were there and were not disappointed by the choice of good fresh food on offer. Excellent breakfasts. Good clean bedroom, fabulous huge comfy bed, and spotless bathroom. Staff were very helpful and little things we asked for, such as ice or fresh milk, appeared in a matter of minutes. It's location is nice and quiet, the grounds run right down the Ullswater, but a quick drive over Kirkstone Pass and you're in the heart of the Lake District. Definitely worth driving over for the peace and the views,no road traffic and any rooms we have stayed in were quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and lake and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltzingmatilda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Its a huge compliment when a guest returns it shows us we are getting it right, I am delighted you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first and look forward toi you returning again in the future

kind regards
Karen irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights for a much needed break dinner bed and breakfast. The view we had from room2 was stunning.Restaraunt was very good and the food was great, very well ran, and had helpful staff. The only down side is they advertise free wi fi but you have to pay for BT@ £10pd. This is alovely hotel, very clean and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper tier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and were lucky enough to stay in one of our feature rooms which have unrivaled views.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the future

kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband proposed to me at Aira Force waterfalls just up the road during our stay here so this place will always be special to us! However, I can't fault the place, we found the staff to be friendly, the room was spacious and clean, comfy beds, nice bathroom BEAUTIFUL views from our balcony. We also ate in the restaurant, which was lovely! We will definitely be going back at some point.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Wonderful a proposal whilst staying in Ulswater with us. leeming and the surrounding areas are so romantic we have many couples staying with us.

So good to hear you enjoyed your stay and have such special memories.
(we do wonderful weddings, from small to exclusive!)

Thank you for your lovely comments

Maybe we will see you on your anniversary

Kind regards

Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sat hanging out the window almost writing this as I have given up trying to work on line. Arrived for 4 nights and roll on Thursday. No phone signal at all (3) therefore you have to use BT Ozone at £10 per 24hrs, so far I have had to move to sit at the window to get a signal? Tried to go for dinner but the restaurant was fully booked, hey we were offered a table in the living room!!! Drove miles to a pub which did a nice dinner.

The hotel views are stunning and the room is very clean, the lady on reception was also very friendly. I would definitely return for a holiday or weekend break but as for work it is totally pointless and very inconvenient

Room Tip: Do not use for work purposes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.
Unfortunatley the phone signal can be poor on occasion in Ulswater Valley dependant on your provider, as with many rural areas. Internet is something we are working on and will soon have fibre optic wifi, which will be an excellent service and perfect for business users.
I am sorry to hear you were unable to dine in the restaurant on one evening, we do book up very quickly, although we do still try to accomodate everyone, on that particular evening we had no space what so ever until quite late so to try to avoid a delay you were offered a menu that can be eaten in any of our three lounges, however I do apreciate this is not the same dining experience.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our stunning views and friendly staff.
I hope that you will visit us again on leisure and find that we are also suitable for business users with our great new wifi
Kin regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

When we booked this was one of the cheaper hotels on the lake of ullswater. Having said that when we arrived the setting was beautiful and a really lovely place. The staff were really helpful and very polite. The rooms were well equipped and really quite spacious. Some of the rooms have a view of the lake which is amazing.
We had breakfast the next morning and was up to standard with the rest of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post them. It is always a pleasure to know our customers have had a lovely stay and have felt it value for money.
The best compliment ever is to know you will return
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future
Kind regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights, the hotel was very comfortable and surrounding area really beautiful. The gardens were lovely and a short walk down the hill and were at the waters edge .The receptionists were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and Shawn the dining room supervisor was very efficient and welcoming. Bit out of the way but perfect if you want to get away from it all

Room Tip: rooms overlooking lake best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinty179Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

I would agree we are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area, overlooking the lake and fells. Thank you for your comments about our reception team and Shawn being very friendly, it is always our intention to ensure our guests leave having had a good time in our lovely retreat.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Kind regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing