We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit remote, but lovely hotel with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bit remote, but lovely hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a base for a 3 night stay on our family road trip visiting the lake district.

The hotel is lovely, but the grounds/gardens and views out the back are simply stunning.

There was a slight mix up after check in, where we had been allocated a double room with only one bed for us and our son. After checking with reception we were given an alternative room with a camp bed.

The hotel is quite remote, with one pub a mile or so away, and walking along the country roads could be dangerous.

The hotel is a little pricy, and we only ate there on our first night, and the service was very slow. However, we were given a discount on our meal because of the delay.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Leeming House Hotel, would recommend and would go back.

The views are worth the cost alone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments further to your stay at Leeming House, we are very fortunate to have such stunning views that could never dissappoint.

We are located in a rural area which offers a perfect retreat, but only a short drive from the hustle and bustle of the south lakes

We look forward to your return in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    327
    128
    49
    27
See reviews for
138
859
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is set in lovely, well tended gardens with lovely views to the lake in the distance from the front terrace. The hotel itself exudes old fashioned charm and has some lovely period features and furniture. There were two lovely lounges and a large library for relaxation, which we didn't use as we were lucky enough to have a heatwave which made it too hot to sit indoors, but I can imagine these would be lovely rooms to relax in during the winter time. The room was lovely, large, airy with two juliet balconies and very peaceful with views of the garden and rabbits and a couple of squirrels were regular visitors. With the heatwave it was just a pity that the balconies were not large enough to accommodate a chair to sit out. The starters and sweets were lovely, with ample choice and very well presented, but we found the main courses a bit disappointing. There was plenty of choice and the ingredients were obviously of very good quality, but the main courses tasted as though they had been heated by microwave, which took the edge off. Otherwise this was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend the hotel as ideal for anyone wanting a relaxing "away from it all" break.

Room Tip: For anyone staying in summer I would think that the rooms at the front of the hotel with a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments after your recent stay with us, and lovely to hear you managed to be here during the mini heat wave, what a great opportunity to take in the stunning views from your room.
You sum up perfectly some of what Leeming has to ' a break away from it all'

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Leeming House occupies a beautiful position overlooking Ullswater and the fells beyond. The gardens lead directly off the back of the hotel and run down to the lake shore and are stunning. Although the main hotel feels a little dated it does add to the overall traditional feel and the bizarre lack of free wifi is only a minor annoyance. Our room (12) was very comfortable and although faced the front was double aspect. The restaurant was typical of MacDonald hotels. Good quality food and wine and excellent service. Equally the breakfasts are superb! Probably not the best location to explore the lakes as it is a little isolated, however, I managed to get a decent 40km bike ride around Great Mell Fell before dinner!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandyrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

"Good quality food and wine" - "superb breakfast" -" stunning views"
Thank you for your great comments, its always a pleasure when our guests are kind enough to take the time to write about their stay with us.

I hope you have the chance to visit again in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to stay here on the morning after our wedding, so after a quick scramble online we reserved a room. On the drive up i called ahead to see if there was a room available early (around 1200) to which the receptionist said she'd see what she could do.
On arrival our room wasn't ready but we took advantage of the beautiful view on the patio terrace to have a few drinks and a spot of light lunch. The manageress came out to see us whilst we had our lunch to congratulate us on our wedding and sent two flutes of champagne to us on the house...a nice touch.
When the room became available the receptionist came to tell us she had managed to upgrade us to a lake view room, which again was well appreciated.

The room was of decent size and clean, maybe a little out dated, but never the less nice.
We eat later at the in house restaurant, with a very nice menu, it was perhaps a little bit too formal for an in-hotel restaurant but still retained a casual feel.

The food was exceptional as was the choice of wine, it is however on the expensive side, but worth it.

Overall we had a nice stay at Leeming House, the staff were in particular outstanding, well recommended for the Ullswater area. The only negative is the lack of Wi-Fi, there is BT OpenZone wifi available but for non BT customers it costs £10 a day, you'd really expect a hotel of this quality to provide as standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewbo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

I remember meeting you both and was delighted you had chosen Leeming House to stay after your wedding. It was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for you great comments obout our staff being 'outstanding' i know they will feel very proud to read your comments

best wishes

Karen irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Passing through the area and booked as a last minute option to break up a journey, what a delight. From the lovely welcome to the stunning views, meticulously kept grounds, comfortable room and delicious food it couldn't have been better. I would have liked to have extended the stay but time didn't permit, I will remember to book for longer next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest
What lovely comments, I am glad to hear we were a chance encounter and you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are very fortunate to be in such a great location.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back, hopefully for longer next time
Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a short break as enjoyed it so much the first time round. Fabulous hotel set in it's own grounds with excellent restaurant and fantastic views. We ate in the hotel every night we were there and were not disappointed by the choice of good fresh food on offer. Excellent breakfasts. Good clean bedroom, fabulous huge comfy bed, and spotless bathroom. Staff were very helpful and little things we asked for, such as ice or fresh milk, appeared in a matter of minutes. It's location is nice and quiet, the grounds run right down the Ullswater, but a quick drive over Kirkstone Pass and you're in the heart of the Lake District. Definitely worth driving over for the peace and the views,no road traffic and any rooms we have stayed in were quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and lake and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltzingmatilda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Its a huge compliment when a guest returns it shows us we are getting it right, I am delighted you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first and look forward toi you returning again in the future

kind regards
Karen irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights for a much needed break dinner bed and breakfast. The view we had from room2 was stunning.Restaraunt was very good and the food was great, very well ran, and had helpful staff. The only down side is they advertise free wi fi but you have to pay for BT@ £10pd. This is alovely hotel, very clean and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper tier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and were lucky enough to stay in one of our feature rooms which have unrivaled views.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the future

kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
377 reviews
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,624 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing