We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Really nice hotel but dinner, though good, was very expensive for the limited choice avalable.

Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were friendly and attentive.

One of the few English hotels I would happily return to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancepor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, its always a pleasure when guests comment on how attentive and friendly the staff are.

So glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner, we look forward to your return

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel was exactly what we expected - relaxing for a few days. Great service, very clean, big rooms, perfectly situated - a place to relax. The dinner which was included in the price was culinary delight. Of course the normal price is realy high but if you get a special offer – like we got – it’s worth. We will go back – if we get the same offer again:-).

Room Tip: We had a standard room and was more than adequate but if you want to have more luxury you should boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geigerhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Great service, very clean, culinary delight, thank you for such lovely comments.
Leeming lends itself perfectly for a relaxing break, whatever season the views are outstanding and the hotel charming.

Maybe you could 'get away' for a winter break and relax in front of the cosy fires before enjoying another great meal!

Hope to welcome you back

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was the last hotel on our Northern road trip, (Nidd Hall and Redworth Hall the other two). This was the priciest of the three and initially disappointing. When we booked over the phone was told that it was a lovely room with a beautiful view over gardens to the lake. The room we were given was small and on a corner,with a sideways view of a very small part of the lake. When we asked to change to a room with a bigger bed (this was a double bed when the others on the same floor had kingsize) and the promised view we were told none available. I felt like we had been cheated under the trade descriptions act! All rooms were classed as double on website so did not have opportunity to book a king. I agree with the comments that the food is overpriced and the lack of wi fi is not good enough for a hotel in this price range. We only dined one night in the restaurant as not good value. The sister hotel spa is advertised on website as available to guests yet is miles away. All this said once we had got over the room disappointment (and the way it was handled). We had a good three days on Ullswater a quieter more tranquil part of the Lakes at this time of year and the hotel is well appointed and comfortable. Would like to stay there again but not sure if we will due to the room description when booked.

Room Tip: Don't trust the description when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for offering your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your room, We are very fortunate that the majority of our rooms overlook great scenary and are quite large, but as with all hotels, we have a few rooms which cannot offer the same outlook and as you rightly say we do have feature rooms which are larger and have outstanding views, for a small supplement. They do however sell very quickly which is why I would say the receptionist was unfortunatley unable to upgrade you on your arrival

I can assure you you that we would not try to mislead anyone into booking a room by mis representation, some of our rooms have double beds and some of the larger feature rooms have king size beds.
I do hope you are able to return to Leeming House and Ullswater and are able to choose the room type you prefer

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thanks to a lucky 'upgrade' we stayed in probably the best room (6) in the hotel; it was superb. Dual aspect windows meant we had great views of Ullswater and the lovely gardens. Resident rabbits on the lawn and squirrels by the ornamental walkway made this a particularly delightful place for a relaxing amble and observing the local wildlife!
The inside of the hotel was very classy with charming public rooms, such as the library and lounge areas. This is a great place for tranquility and peace,
The food was marvellous. The starter, smoked mackerel with apple and hazelnut salad was sheer bliss! This was followed by the pork belly which was rather scrumptious. As a final flourish I had the ginger cake parfait which was delicious; probably overload here, but that's my fault, not the chef's!
Why were we here for only one night?!

Room Tip: If available, room 6 is probably the best. It is particularly spacious with a superb bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Good afternoon

What fantastic comments, thank you for your feedback, so pleased you had such a great stay with us, I would agree room 6 is (in my opinion) the best room, the views are stunning and it is definatley worh the supplement to be in this room
We are receiving so may compliments about our food and are proud to say we recently received our second rosette.

I hope you can make it for longer next time

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Its over priced and not walking distance to any attractions other then the lake obviously. The web site states it has a swimming pool. It doesn't. We made the mistake of booking this hotel purely on the basis it is 4 star and has a pool. We have an 11 month baby who enjoys being in a swimming pool. The website states it has a pool bit when you click on the leisure icon it takes you to their sister hotel which is a 40 min drive away. I complained at reception and was told the manager (Karen) would call me. Never received a call.

Also for a 4 star hotel in 2014 not to have wifi is shocking. We were given BT wifi scratch cards. Erm....... You need to have an internet connection to activate it first !! No other guests could connect whilst we were there. The local pub has free wifi but not the hotel.

The food is average. Nothing special. The bread at breakfast was stale on all three days we had breakfast. We were told that was the type of bread they served. Really ?

This place is over priced for what they advertise. If you want spa facilities do not go here. If you want no wifi, average food at extortionate prices this is an ideal place.

Still waiting for a call from Karen. I won't hold my breath.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MKcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear of the confusion with the advertised swimming pool at Leeming House, you are correct , this is a benefit our guests can use free of charge, it is stated on the website that it is our sister hotel and not actualy at Leeming House. I was suprised to read you felt there are no attractions close by as there are many, Rheged just being one of them which is just a 10 minute drive away, it is a very popular attraction for both families and couples with lots of activities, shops and cafes etc

The wifi can be an issue that many hotels in the valley have and something that we are trying very hard to resolve, we are awaiting fibre optic being installed, this involves digging up the road to the front of the hotel which is unfortunatley holding the instalation up. We do offer BT Openzone which can be activated in most areas of the hotel.

I will certainly look into your comments regarding the breakfast as this is the first time I have ever had this comment, breakfast is something we are very proud of in Macdonald Hotels, with lots of fresh produce available on the buffet and a cooked breakfast made to order. You will see from many previous comments about our food that it is usualy something we gain the most positive comments and having recently achieved our second rosette for food we certainly want to ensure we maintain the consistancy

With regards to you not having heard from me I apologise, it is unusual for reception not to have passed this onto me, but I would have certainly spoken to you had I been aware and would welcome discussing your areas of dissapointment if you would like to give me a call.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a base for a 3 night stay on our family road trip visiting the lake district.

The hotel is lovely, but the grounds/gardens and views out the back are simply stunning.

There was a slight mix up after check in, where we had been allocated a double room with only one bed for us and our son. After checking with reception we were given an alternative room with a camp bed.

The hotel is quite remote, with one pub a mile or so away, and walking along the country roads could be dangerous.

The hotel is a little pricy, and we only ate there on our first night, and the service was very slow. However, we were given a discount on our meal because of the delay.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Leeming House Hotel, would recommend and would go back.

The views are worth the cost alone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments further to your stay at Leeming House, we are very fortunate to have such stunning views that could never dissappoint.

We are located in a rural area which offers a perfect retreat, but only a short drive from the hustle and bustle of the south lakes

We look forward to your return in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is set in lovely, well tended gardens with lovely views to the lake in the distance from the front terrace. The hotel itself exudes old fashioned charm and has some lovely period features and furniture. There were two lovely lounges and a large library for relaxation, which we didn't use as we were lucky enough to have a heatwave which made it too hot to sit indoors, but I can imagine these would be lovely rooms to relax in during the winter time. The room was lovely, large, airy with two juliet balconies and very peaceful with views of the garden and rabbits and a couple of squirrels were regular visitors. With the heatwave it was just a pity that the balconies were not large enough to accommodate a chair to sit out. The starters and sweets were lovely, with ample choice and very well presented, but we found the main courses a bit disappointing. There was plenty of choice and the ingredients were obviously of very good quality, but the main courses tasted as though they had been heated by microwave, which took the edge off. Otherwise this was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend the hotel as ideal for anyone wanting a relaxing "away from it all" break.

Room Tip: For anyone staying in summer I would think that the rooms at the front of the hotel with a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments after your recent stay with us, and lovely to hear you managed to be here during the mini heat wave, what a great opportunity to take in the stunning views from your room.
You sum up perfectly some of what Leeming has to ' a break away from it all'

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,705 reviews
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
420 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: £119 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing