We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeland at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lakeland at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We visited Ullswater for two nights and stayed at Leeming House. It is the perfect setting on the west bank of the lake with extensive grounds through meadow down to the lakeside. The views over the lake and the hills beyond from the terrace, our room and the hotel generally were fantastic as we had superb weather throughout the stay. The welcome was excellent and the accommodation in an executive room most comfortable. We dined in the restaaurant which was of the highest standard with a wonderful staff who gave above average service at all meals.
We rate this as one of the best breaks we have had. Good accommodation, good food, good service and a superb setting convenient to the many attractions of the area.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandD&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    319
    126
    48
    25
See reviews for
133
844
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

2nd time at Leeming House and even better than before. Service and staff were excellent as was the food, superb. Spotlessly clean room with massive bed and pillows. For a really chill out break there can be no place better

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

An excellent room with 1st class bedding & amenities. V good staff but most impressive was the dinner - very inexpensive and certainly of Michelin 1 (if not 2) star quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

This was our second visit to the Leeming House and was again very memorable. Our room was like before but in the new wing of the building with a private balcony, it was immaculately clean and had the most comfortable, huge bed and pillows. Just as last year the food and service were faultless and the staff friendly and efficient. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissForgetful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Some of the views are stunning, and is potentially a wonderful place to stay. Unfortunately:

We were offered 2 rooms for a low rate (as we have 4 children), which was agreed 3 separate times. On departure, we were massively over charged. This was dealt with very badly by the manager, who has not replied to any of our communication.

The food was appalling. Do not order room service. The wrong food servered, badly cooked, poor quality. We were not asked at any stage if we were happy with our stay etc.

I would say that overall the quality of the hotel is great. But poor service brings any rating down to zero as far as I am concerned. My advice is to pay up front for any rooms booked.

I would never stay in a MacDonald Hotel again unless I had absolutely no choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We had our wedding at Leeming house. Your wedding day is supposed to be the best day of your life and all the staff of Leeming house did help make it happen for us.
All our guests enjoyed their stay and were impressed with their service and rooms and food. We found that Leeming House do the small but important things well too, such as keeping the toilets nice and clean and smiling when serving people. All the staff are very friendly and polite. We are planning to go back every wedding anniversary.TnT

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazza_and_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield South Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We arrived to good size car park and easy access to reception, checked in given room 30 we had booked on line a Executive room which said doors to the garden, room 30 just had a window overlooking the garden and was very hot!! I contacted reception and with out any fuss we moved to a lower ground floor room with doors into the gardens, it was a little dark but a lovely quiet room. The food was excellent in every way, did not have a bad dish (you must note it is fine dinning so portions are small but when you have had all 3 couses you are very satisfied) The staff could not do enough for you , "always smiling" this is rare these days.
We are planning our next break there will take some beating (trying the Alverston Manor Stratford this weekend it will have to be good to beat this one)!!
Julia & Paul Hobson

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staithes2beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing