We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ullswater View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ullswater View
Ranked #1 of 3 Watermillock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
“Another Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Once again we had a fantastic stay at The Ullswater View, The rooms, staff and beakfast's were amazing and we cannot wait for our next visit in December. this is by far the best B&B that we have ever stayed in and couldnt recomend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    38
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
127
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a lovely little hotel in the perfect location. It was very easy to find, and the views from the bedrooms and the breakfast room were incredible. Julie was lovely, and even though we didn't see much of her throughout our stay, she always made the effort to talk to us and gave us directions to the best spots in the lakes. The breakfast was very nice, there was a great selection of both continental and cooked breakfasts. Our room was one of the more basic rooms, but was more than enough for what we needed, including an iPod docking station, which was a lovely touch. There is an honesty policy for any extra drinks, which is great, even though we didn't take advantage of that. The only tiny little point I would make is to get rid of the carpeted bathroom in the Blea room, and that the shower could be a bit bigger! But despite that, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view, which is great. If you're going to be spending more time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberleyxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Really can't compliment the bedrooms enough. Loads of lovely touches like an iPod docking station, caffetiere with proper coffee in the room and the finish on the bathroom was superb. Good price range of rooms with extras to correspond with the price.

Breakfast was superb, even when we requested it at 6am! It even came with a smile and perfectly poached eggs!

Beautiful vistas onto Ullswater and just a really beautifully run establishment.

Room Tip: Prices are from £80ish - £120ish but I've heard the pricey-er rooms have a whirpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgrahamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Since first visiting the Ullswater View last December, I have been back for more on half a dozen occasions. The surrounding beauty is stunning, with challenging peaks, rolling hills, and deep, deep waters, icy at first, but perfect when you slip (gently !) in on a hot summer's day. The excellent breakfasts sets you up well for a stiff climb up High Street or Striding Edge, as do the packed lunch sandwiches with delightful fillings. Fine linen and great quality mattresses ensure a very comfortable night, and the hostess and her team offer the warmest of welcomes. I am sorry if my praise seems gushing, but this place deserves all the plaudits it gets. I will come again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stunning location for Ullswater whether you want to cruise the lake, amble the villages, hike, run, eat. Exceptionally clean & peaceful rooms and very friendly staff. B&B does not do this justice. Sure to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmclfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel was a Mystery Weekend for us as it was a Wedding Present from our two dear Friends. We said we would like to go the Lake District & they did the rest. We were not disappointed, the Hotel was Beautiful & the owner Julie, very welcoming. We had the room with the Spa Bath, which Julie says is fast becoming the Honeymoon Suite, we could see why, as it was so lovely with it's Lakeside View.

The breakfast was very filling & excellent Quality.

I can see us returning year after year on our Anniversary.

ps can't comment on the Value as we didn't pay for it.

I can't comment on the Value as we didn't book it & I don't want to look

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAHinchcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Breakfast amazing, room for family perfect, location stunning, staff friendly.....and lots of red deer for my son to look at. The breakfast was superb and set us up for the day, the games room was lovely whilst Millie the dog was adored by my 3 children. Went pony trekking up the fells near pooley bridge again superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
1.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
344 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
921 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater View

Property: Ullswater View
Address: A592 | Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ullswater View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullswater View Hotel Ullswater
Ullswater View Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing