We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVED IT'S PURPOSE”
Review of Brackenrigg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brackenrigg Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Watermillock B&B and Inns
EASTBOURNE
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“SERVED IT'S PURPOSE”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We wanted an overnight stay on a budget on our way from South to Scotland. Was difficult to find a hotel with a view for 1 night for 4 couples
This was cheap and offered the view. We stayed in the stable block. We found the staff very accomadating - and when 1 couple cancelled we didn't loose the deposit! The staff were friendly and dinner and breakfast was lovely . Our room was tired( we had dog friendly room but was clean - and would I come back again - oh yes! suited us a treat for what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYHEV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Happyhev999,
We do appreciate your review and recommendation, thank you. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    198
    79
    47
    63
See reviews for
103
300
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the view from the front windows. We arrived and a key was nearly thrown at us. Up a tatty staircase to a poor room. En-suite you could hardly swing a cat in. Bedside light couldn't be plugged in. Drinks very expensive and only plan to eat if you like rabbit or venison. Breakfast cold and very poor. Service by foreign staff who couldn't understand us. Bad nights sleep as bedroom over bar and this was open late and very rowdy.

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Pam, We are all very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Brackenrigg and regret that we could not have done more to improve your experience. We do actually operate a value policy here at the Inn and I certainly would not expect any customer to accept poor service, cold food or limited menu choice.
Brackenrigg is an 18th century coaching inn and some of the rooms do have small en-suites, but we do offer a wider range of accommodation. I think it is fair to say that we call last orders in the bar at 10.45pm and it is then closed at 11.30pm.
I am really sad that you did not like us. Regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watermillock hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here or 2 nights while we attended a wedding in Glenridding. Nice rooms, excellent breakfast-good choice options for a B and B and produce used by the chef very tasty. Had dinner one evening and again food excellent. Throughout our short stay all the staff were first class, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room had a front window overlooking Ullswater lake and a side window looking across the countryside. Bathroom was small but adequate and has been said towels very flufffy. Nice tea/coffee tray in room, well furnished and most importantly very clean.
Bar had plenty of Real Ales and the only shame was that we could not enjoy them on a nice summer evening outside as the weather was showery.
All in all a very pleasant stay and at £45pp per night good value and easily better than the £180 per night room rate at the wedding venue.I recommend the Brackenrigg Inn if you are staying in the Ullswater area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear oleatbarca, Thank you for such a wonderful review and recommendation. It is so rewarding for all the staff when their efforts are recognised in this manner.
Sorry we couldn't provide some sunshine. Regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Clean, comfortable with a good location overlooking Ullswater. Particularly good breakfast. Reasonable charges. Shower water pressure was rather weak, otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Skakagrall, Thank you for your positive review. I have asked maintenance to check out water pressure. Regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

After being let down by another local hotel, I booked here via booking.com, and arrived after a nightmare journey only to be told that they didn't have a booking for us that night - it had been mistakenly booked for the following month.

Luckily, they had a room available for one night, so my partner and I decided to stay, and begin our search again for alternative accommodation the following morning.

The gentleman on reception offered to notify us immediately if there was a cancellation, so we took to our room for a quick freshen up, and then headed down to dinner.

The food was amazing (if slightly pricey), the atmosphere welcoming, and the ale brilliant.

The room was very spacious - a double, with a single bed also in the room. It was clean, and the towels are the fluffiest I've ever experienced (though not particularly absorbent...).

Lofty travellers such as myself (5ft19) will need to be aware of the low beams in the first floor rooms of the "barn" - especially as it crosses through the bathroom just inside the door, ready to catch out the unwary at 7am. Also, the bed had a footboard, which meant that I had difficulty getting comfortable in what was a comfortable mattress.

All in all, it was a decent night's stay - but we had to move on.

Room Tip: Try for a lakeview room - 1st floor would probably get you a decent enough view of Ullswater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi HayWayne, We appreciate your complimentary review, so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. Best Wishes, John,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Brackenrigg Inn lives up to the original meaning of the name "Inn"-providing good food and accommodation at reasonable prices.My room was comfortable with en suite shower,fluffy towels,tv and tea/coffee making facilities.The kitchen produces excellent food (much locally sourced) with reasonably priced wines.The bar offers a range of local beers in a friendly welcoming atmosphere.Professionally managed to a high standard, the Brackenrigg Inn is informally run and well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Graham, Thank you for such a nice review, so glad you enjoyed the experience. All of our staff were delighted with your words. Best Wishes, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was a stopover for us as a couple along with friends on Motorcycles, we had a room in the stables which opened into the car park which suited us. The accomodation was large the shower room (which was a fair walk from the bedroom) was enormous and designed for disabled. We did mention that the sink was very small had no plug and was not in the best place. Because its so small you cannot fill the kettle from the tap.That is our only criticism and is very minor. The Hotel location is ideal with impressive views over Ullswater. The Food, Bar and service was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Nogtraveller, Thank you for your kind review. Hope you enjoyed ythe rest of your trip, motorcycling through the Lake District National Park is a wondeful way to enjoy the experience.
Regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
400 reviews
5.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ullswater View
Ullswater View
#1 of 3 in Watermillock
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Inn

Property: Brackenrigg Inn
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenrigg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the brow of a hill overlooking picturesque Ullswater in the beautiful English Lake District, The Brackenrigg Inn provides excellent accommodation for those wishing to explore this stunning part of the world. With comfortable guest bedrooms, delicious food and drink and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, this 18th-century coaching Inn is the ideal place for walkers, families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Brackenrigg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenrigg Hotel Watermillock
Brackenrigg Inn Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing