We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer, Food and views from Beer Garden !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brackenrigg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brackenrigg Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Watermillock B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Food and views from Beer Garden !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spotted this place on the way back from Lowther a few weeks back and we decided to stay in our motorhome a mile away last weekend in order to try this place out.
Fabulous views from the front terrace and beer garden at the back across Ullswater. Friendly staff great food... I had chicken in a truffle and mushroom sauce with French potatoes and sticky toffee pudding with ice cream. Excellent for gastropub grub at a reasonable price.
Fabulous local brewed Eden Gold pale ale in superb condition. I had two pints and it ran out !! Gutted....but they found another barrel in the cellar and we were back in business.
Quite obviously they clean their lines regularly which is an important part of serving real ales which sadly many others can't be bothered to do.The Mrs had a few locally distilled gins of which she remarked 'Langdons' was the best.
Thoroughly enjoyable few hours in beautiful sunshine.
One piece of advice I would give the owners....Whilst the front and sides of the pub are well kept please paint the back of the pub as sitting in the beer garden the sight of the peeling and mossy paintwork at the back is a bit uncomfortable on the eye and looks scruffy......paint doesn't cost much and makes a difference.
Will deffo be back again !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambrettaGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    193
    73
    43
    60
See reviews for
98
289
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
prestonian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed one night at the brackenrigg inn,very picturesque very clean,unfortunately wasn't told on arrival to book table in dining room for dinner so had to eat in bar area and being a bank holiday was very busy and noisy, the bedroom was a double with single occupancy not very big for two people and the onsuite was the smallest I've ever been in, just the width of the shower stall with the wash basin the size of a cereal ball, had to shave with the door open to be able to bend down to rinse my face.the choice of meals is very good and the breakfast was excellent they have free wi fi but this only seem to work within a few feet from the reception area.

Room Tip: Don't know about other rooms but room 5 is small for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lankiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was working in Lockerbie and couldn't resist stopping at The Brackenrigg - it was worth it.
Great beers on tap, fantastic food, wonderful staff.
I stayed in a different room 1st time in 13 - unlucky for some! It worked well for me slept like a log.

Dinner was superb and I had a steak off the special board, washed down with a special couple of beers. Pity I had to miss breakfast - had an early start 0530. However, it was a fantastic stopover.

The welcome and quality make it worth while.

I will be back - for sure

Room Tip: All good - no fitness centre - however you will be compelled to walk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We only stayed at The Brackenrigg Inn for one night on 30th December but found it a great place to stay.The weather was atrocious with roads flooded when we arrived and we were given an upgrade to a lovely big room.The food was great and so was the beer.The only reason I did not give it *5 was the fact that it is quite away from anything and when the weather is really bad and at a quiet time of year you are stuck;nevertheless a first class Inn !

Room Tip: Just turn up !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylandswaine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We popped in here whilst staying in the area and had a surprisingly good meal not expected in a pub like this. The fish and chips looked amazing! On leaving , the host who I presume was the manager even gave us his complimentary tickets to the motor museum which we both enjoyed the next day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Stefano di Magra, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stopped for a night on our drive up to Scotland without booking in advance. The accommodation was a bit on the pricey side, but we had a small flat to ourselves with a private entrance in a converted barn. Unfortunately it did not have a view over the lake. The evening meal however was sensational, with fresh local ingredients lovingly assembled, giving some real taste sensations at a reasonable price. The staff were generally friendly, but at times one didn't know what the other was doing and so we were quoted 3 different prices, first one price for bed & breakfast, then a slightly higher price, which was supposedly including dinner and in the end we paid the higher price PLUS dinner. So this ended up rather more expensive then expected, but the location and the food made up for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in April, our room was upstairs in the converted barn on the hotel side. When we turned our lights out to go to sleep we couldn't believe how dark it was, but that was short lived. The outside light at the back of the hotel came on, which was directly opposite our room, and was shining into our room. This made it difficult to sleep, and stayed on all night. With that and the noisy kitchen staff leaving it made it a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watermillock hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Inn

Property: Brackenrigg Inn
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenrigg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the brow of a hill overlooking picturesque Ullswater in the beautiful English Lake District, The Brackenrigg Inn provides excellent accommodation for those wishing to explore this stunning part of the world. With comfortable guest bedrooms, delicious food and drink and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, this 18th-century coaching Inn is the ideal place for walkers, families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brackenrigg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenrigg Hotel Watermillock
Brackenrigg Inn Watermillock, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing