We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queens Head Hotel
Bedford
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This pub used to be run by the local brewer Charles Wells, and is now part of a chain, Old English Inns.
LOCATION
This is the only pub in the vaillage, but it has never been noted for its fare. Whilst it is now classified as an hotel the standards have not really changed, and I would consider that it is at the lower end of the scale, and suspect that it is a good boarding house rather than an hotel. However, I have never seen the bedrooms and do not know anyone who has.
ATMOSPHERE
This is an old building, which has the potential to be an extremely pleasant place to eat and drink, however, the decorations have not been changed for a good ten years, and the carpet is simply dowdy and in parts disgusting. Some of the tables in the bar need a lot of care and attention.
The whole establsihment is poorly laid out, with access to the hotel reception via the bar and restaurant. Thus people enter and wait next to diners in both parts of the building, with that section all being open plan.
FOOD
There is a reasonable selection of food, at various lower end prices, and all of it is reasonably well cooked. Being part of a chain it appears that the food is cooked down to a minimum level, rather than there being that little extra something to draw you back. The meats are all just acceptable, and a better butcher would supply better meats.
We have eater here a number of times, but the gaps between visits are extending.
Every time we have visited there has seemingly been a shoratge of some incredients, this time was no exception, no bubble & squeak. On previous occasions some compensation has been given, not monetarily but with a little bit of tlc and that little bit extra. This has depended upon how busy the pub has been. On this occasion there were 10 other people in, and it difficult for one member of staff to deal efficiently with that number, whilst also attending the bar, answering the telephone, and talking / being sociable with the customers.
The two meals for £10 is reasonably good value, but obviously the sizes of the portions reduce accordingly.
The daily specials seem to last more than a day!
SERVICE
Adequate, sometimes slow, and sometimes without a smile, but that may be the rush.
WILL WE RETURN
One day, but it may take some time, again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We at the Queens Head are sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We are working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well know for. I hope this has not put you off either the Queens Head or Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    69
    23
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
75
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed this weekend, wish we didn't have to leave. James and Conner, who were running the hotel, were great, nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely, credit to the chef, great menu. Will be going back. Thanks James and Conner for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLawrence2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. The manager is on holiday at the moment and both James & Conner have come from other hotels to help out so it is great to hear that they are doing a great job. Thank you again for taking the time the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston super
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have just spent a couple of nights in a very olde world pub in the middle of the country with my boyfriend Andy
The two guys that we saw running this establishment were so polite and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble, going out of their way with every customer, so thanks to James and Conner for their excellent customer services.
The menu for the pub was varied and interesting and when we placed food orders, there isn't any waiting about (probably 5 minutes- at the most). the best we have experienced yet - compliments to the chief.
The shower in our room was fantastic, so hot without having to wait.
Tea and Coffee provided.
The room itself doesn't provide enough switch sockets. No hair dryer that i could find.
The bathroom was very small, and we are not big people.
Apart from that, the room was warm but needs updating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. The manager is on holiday at the moment and both James & Conner have come from other hotels to help out so it is great to hear that they are doing a great job. Thank you again for taking the time the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently stayed here with our little boy and were made to feel more than welcome. We were greeted by the friendly staff and Bev couldn't do enough for us with the set up of the position of the room in case our little boy woke up in the middle of the night. We only stayed one night but the evening meal was lovely and there was a good children's menu as well with decent portion size. Breakfast was great with different choices available.
Would definitely stay here again really enjoued our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laursi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments online. It is great to hear that you have had a great visit at the Queens Head. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

As a local I am keen to frequent local hostelries as are my friends however every time we visit we swear it will be our last. The bar/restaurant lacks atmosphere, the manageress is just miserable and unfriendly. For example, my little boy ask for a glass of milk amd was duly served one but the manageress publicly told the waiting staff off for selling milk - the poor chap them got told off again publicly for serving wine in the wring glass.The waiting staff to be fair are lovely and trying their best, the food is run of the mill but perfectly edible for a local quick bite. I frequent place maybe 2x's a year in the hope it will change but it never does. The area does lack decent pubs so it should be packed with locals but it isn't because it has no atmosphere, is unfriendly and the manageress miserable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pjr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am very sorry to hear that your visit to the Queens Hotel was not to our normal high standard. I have spoke to the manageress and she assures me that the quality of the service will after the retraining we have carried out over the last couple of week will be back the correct standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I was lucky enough to be spending the day at Jonathan Palmer racing, so stayed here the night before. It was clean, tidy and reasonably up to date. Dinner was provided quickly, was freshly made and tasty. Bev the landlady was friendly and polite, as were Deb and Lou that served my dinner. Comments on Tripadvisor about noisy airconditioning are true, but it is a minor problem. I'd come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to your comments online. We at the Queens Head are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I arrived about 19:30 last night and was immediately greeted with a smile after quite a long drive. Check-in was no problem, the room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. I enjoyed a lovely meal and a couple of pints of real ale in the bar before catching up with some work via the free and quick wifi connection and enjoying a good night's sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely and checking out was no problem either. The staff were extremely friendly without being overbearing - I felt genuinely welcomed and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_haz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Ernest
2.6 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
2.8 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Hotel

Property: The Queens Head Hotel
Address: Rushden Road, Milton Ernest MK44 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Milton Ernest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Ernest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Milton Ernest, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing