We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head Hotel
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in this area and this from my perspective is the best yet.

All that I ask it that the bed is comfortable and that the noise levels are reasonable.
This hotel delivered both of the above and more.
The bedroom (room No.1) was roomy with a full sized writing desk (handy if you on a business trip).
The bathroom was a bit cramped but everything worked as it should, the shower was particularly good.
I dined at the hotel; my steak was very good and was cooked exactly to my taste.
Breakfast was also very good.
My only gripe is that the person in the room No.2 had their TV turned-up to MAX volume however they turned it off at 11pm. I have not allowed this to downgrade my score given the 11pm turn-off and the fact that this sort of INSANE activity cannot easily be policed by the Hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    69
    23
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
76
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stay in many a Greene King establishment and they are always "not the best".

However the manager Bev is without doubt the worst I have ever come across.

Not only does she talk to her staff like they are something on the sole of her shoe, but the customers as well.

She clearly thinks that she is doing everyone a favour by letting them pay to stay there.

Oh the price at least double what it is worth.!

If you read your reviews then take note "Bev" you cannot continue like this.


Brighten the place up, it might make you a bit nicer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FEOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Yesterday we were 5 ladies doing "lunch" (one in particular quite fussy and generally complains). We only meet up every 2 or 3 months so have a lot to talk about & ended up staying 3 hours having eaten lunch from the offer menu. All the staff were very nice and we were even served one course by the chef himself. There was a very, very nice young man Conner who looked after us, joked with us and joined in when appropriate. He informed us of his every move in case we wanted something - so nice to meet someone with personality, initiative, wit and could hold a conversation. Very refreshing. All in all no complaints from us except no After 8 mints with coffee but Conner said he would personally bring us some next time. ha ha Well done.

Room Tip: We didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a lovely two night break at the hotel. Room 9 was quiet,warm and well equipped with an excellent shower in the en suite.
The food was good value with plenty of choice served by a helpful waitress. Pity there was no breakfast menu in the dining room. Other Old English Inns we have stayed in have all had menus making it simple to choose breakfast rather than rely on the memory of a busy waitress.
Watched the Rugby in the bar with a few locals and enjoyed the atmosphere of a pub/ hotel.
The Manageress was very helpful as were the rest of the staff. We stayed having booked a special two day Old English Inns Offer.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms facing the car park ie no 9 or 7seem the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Further to your recent experience of our hotel I'm delighted that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at the hotel. It was pleasing to read that your stay was positive, including the hotel's location, the friendly and efficient welcome, bedroom size and amenities. and our breakfast offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Never usually read other peoples reviews before I write my own but did this time. I must of staid in a different hotel! The staff where great the manageress really nice and friendly and the food fabulous!
This hotel is right on the side of the busy A6 but you wouldn’t know it as I must say I had a good night’s sleep and I was on the front of the hotel. The paint work is a little chipped in places and some of the walls in corridors slightly marked but the overall experience was very good and I would not hesitate to book again.
Special mention has to go to the barman who was more than attentive with a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you find the hotel good value. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head on Saturday night in mid January. We booked a double room; when we arrived, it had been made up as a twin. On check in, we were asked to let the Receptionist know if the room wasn't double. When we confirmed it was a twin, we were told how the twin beds clipped together. After some negotiating, the beds were eventually made into double for us, with us helping to make up duvet etc. We were also told at check in that due to a function, no food would be available at the Inn on the night of our stay. We wouldn't have stayed if we'd have been made aware of this when booking, so this felt disappointing. Our room was spacious and comfortable, though a little tired, and slightly away from the main Inn, which meant that we weren't disturbed by the function during our evening. The Inn was charming, but looked tired, and needed a little attention. There was also a desperate shortage of staff, with only 2 members of staff at any time, 1 in the kitchen, making for a Fawlty towers like experience as the manager ran from reception to bar to restaurant etc. Not bad if you can find a good deal online for B&B, but sadly not special enough for the £80 we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G134Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms, food and the barman were the best part of this stay..
The manager however needs to learn a thing or two about customer service.
I can honestly say i have never met someone like this and the brewery should send her on some courses.
During our two night stay, She continually be-littled the hard working staff, gave her opinion on the customers and returned to the bar after cigarette breaks without washing her hands..
At breakfast we were asked what we wanted only to be told that we would probably leave certain items "and waste it like yesterday"...
The pub is lovely, but sadly is let down by this woman..i cant belive the staff enjoy this enviroment at all..she should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Choose another pub..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Comments good or bad are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Ernest
2.6 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
4.1 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#10 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Hotel

Property: The Queens Head Hotel
Address: Rushden Road, Milton Ernest MK44 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Milton Ernest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Ernest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Milton Ernest, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing