We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bunkhouse style accommodation”
Review of Roybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roybridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Roybridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good bunkhouse style accommodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well, let me start by saying that the price of a night's accommodation here is just £12.50 per person in the Grey Corrie lodge, or £15.00 in the main building. At that price it is excellent. So what if it's a bit rundown and lacking in sockets in the lodge bedrooms to charge your precious ipad? That is not the point of staying here. What you do get is a warm welcome, clean beds, made up for you on arrival and a decent kitchen/common room to relax in; complete with power points.
Shower gel and hand wash were provided - not always the case in accomodation at this price.
We made our own breakfasts, and enjoyed a hearty, good quality evening meal in the plain, but comfortable bar. Most main courses were under under £10.
One real ale was available at the weekend, badged as Herok and Howell's Festival Ale, but I believe this is a Greene King brew from the Belhaven brewery in Dunbar. A decent enough pint, served in excellent condition, which was the main thing.
Also superb views of the mountains of the Grey Corries from the kitchen in the main building, or indeed from the carpark.

Room Tip: If you want an early night at the weekend, probably best to avoid rooms in the main building directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithByTheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    18
    13
    21
See reviews for
11
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room and the breakfast were very good for the price with plenty of space and very nice people running the hotel. There really wasn't that much noise from the pub below and it is a good local pub with nicely kept beer and well-cooked pub-style food too.
The warmth and helpfulness of the staff outweighs any of the renovations needed to the hotel - yes, it needs renovating, painting etc and also a little cleaning here and there but the bed linen and bathroom were perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Remember that this is a pub, so there will be some (but not that much) noise in the night. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sesamoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When we pulled up at the Hotel it looked a little sorry for itself and indeed it needs some external and internal attention. However we were warmly greeted and interest was shown in our travels, we stayed in room 5 which was large and comfortable with plenty of room for our motorcycle gear and every effort had been made to make us feel comfortable. we had a lovely evening meal in the friendly bar and the best breakfast with yummy ingredients ! We slept really well and were sent on our way with kind interest in the rest of our journey.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious and the location is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found this hotel for £50 per night (Double) including what turned out to be a great breakfast
Great value although a fresh coat of paint would help.
We also had an evening meal in the bar, again great value basic pub food
Would definatly stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are looking for a good value basic hotel near Fort William look no further. We normaly use the budget chain hotels but decided to have a change when I found this on the internet, no regrets whatsoever. Very good value for a ensuite double room including a great breakfast
We also decided to have our evening meal in the bar rather than traveling elsewhere, once again no regrets, great value, service and food

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Duct tape holding a ceiling area together, large holes in the wall, evidence in a number of places of water ingress, some of the beds were pretty threadbare, with springs almost poking through.

The food was a bit suspect too. It came suspiciously quickly and although I wasn't exactly ill I had a fluttery stomach most of the next day.

The place is pretty scruffy altogether, and needs some money spent on it before I'll stay there again, although the staff were all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roybridge hotels

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We found this place for £35 prpn (not including breakfast)on laterooms.com, which we thought was a fantastic deal! So we decided to try it out for one night. We got there very late, which they were fine with, and the hotel looks a bit scruffy in general but the room was very pleasant indeed!! Well presented, and clean, with a television that had freeview and a fully stocked tea/coffee tray. It was a little on the small size but suited us just fine for a base into the many sites of the area. In fact we were so impressed we booked it again the next morning for another night and they let us have it at the same price. we were going to move on, on our third night there but we decided last minute to stay another night. Unfortunately the room we had just left had already been taken, however, they kindly moved us into a different room at no extra cost which was at least twice the size! brilliant. The staff were helpful yet let you have your own space.

Overall, a great base for your travels around the highlands!

Room Tip: try to stay in the hotel not the hostel. Room 2 is small but quiet, room 3 is big but can be noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
0.0 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stronlossit Inn
The Stronlossit Inn
#3 of 4 in Roybridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homagen
Homagen
#2 of 4 in Roybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roybridge Hotel

Property: Roybridge Hotel
Address: Roybridge PH31 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Roybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roybridge Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing