We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Easter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Glenspean Lodge for 3 nights over Easter. The hotel setting is beautiful, overlooking mountains in the Nevis Range and only a few miles from Fort William itself. On arrival the proprietors, Ian and Suzanne, made us feel very welcome, our bags were carried up to the lovely room looking out over the mountains. The room and bathroom were spotless and very cosy, with plenty of hot water available. The bar is amazing with over 130 different types of whisky available (most of which I had never heard of). Both bar and restaurant menus are available, but wherever you eat the food is beautifully presented, of excellent quality and absolutely delicious. Even when the place was busy we never had to wait very long for our orders. For breakfast try the full Scottish, it sets you up for the whole day. Ian and Suzanne are very knowledgeable about the area and always happy to give advice on how and where to spend your days. After only 3 days we felt like part of the family, arriving back at the hotel every night after days out was like coming home. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, the only problem for us is that it is 350 miles away! Thank you Ian and Suzanne, we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope we can welcome you again if your ever up this way, you were a pleasure to have as guests.
regards, Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    63
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
62
164
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stunning views ideal location for Scotland ski resorts pity about the weather for the skiing this was made up by the peaceful location and the lovely garden, food was excellent, what more could you ask for Ian was a fantastic host and the room was lovely . Will definitely be back in the summer this time to get the chance to appreciate the beautiful countryside

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, glad you managed to get a bit of ski-ing in while you were here, summertime in the highlands is even more beautiful hope we can welcome you back again on your next trip up here. Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wish I could have stayed longer. Owners Ian and Suzanne are wonderful people. Hotel was charming, clean, located in serene beautiful location. easy to find, easy to love Scotland's best. Food was amazing! My daughter and I were treated so well, we didn't want to leave. Scenery is magnificent. Décor was quaint and definitely refreshing and relaxing. Plenty of parking. Ian was a perfect host, full of local information and pointed out many sights to see and enjoy. This was definitely a perfect way to experience Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the majestic mountains, it was breathtaking waking up to see snow covered moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bucketgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you ladies very much, you were a joy to have, we have never laughed so much in ages, glad you enjoyed Scotland and hope we can welcome you both back one day!
Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were delighted with this hotel. The hosts were charming. The "turret" room was fantastic. The food was excellent. A super base to enjoy the great outdoors but plenty to do if the weather is bad: a large selection of board games, dvds and a small snooker table. We travel a lot and this is as good a small hotel as we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 11 would be well described as a "junior suite". The bathroom is in the "turret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectordood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, room 11 is one of our favourites too, especially being able to lie in the roll top bath and watch out over the mountains! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that one day we can welcome you back again. Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benllech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We came here from the statesmen rail trip and what a fantastic reception we had from all the staff. The hotel is top class and a warm friendly place to relax. The rooms are lovely. The evening meal we had was amazing. The weather was poor but the hotel and hospitality more than made up for it. Thankyou for a fantastic time, we will be back.

Room Tip: We had roo seven friends I room six and more friends in the braveheart room all fab rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, its a shame you weren't here a couple of days later as the sun has come out and everything looks so much nicer than in the rain, maybe we can welcome you back during the beautiful summer months one day! Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We came to the Glenspean lodge as one of the choices on hotels for a Statesman Rail weekend tour. What a splendid choice - and the obvious good relationship between Statesman Rail and the hotel itself just made this even better.

After a long (but splendid) journey, and a short coach ride it was a delight not to have to deal with paperwork - it was all done for us, quietly and efficiently. We just picked up our keys and went to rooms. The room was nice enough, but truly saved the best for morning. You couldn't possibly see at 8pm at night, when it was already very dark, that the view that would greet you in the morning was so great.

But it's not just the view. The proprietors are very friendly. They helped to make the weekend more like a house party with a superb Saturday night gala dinner (more like a Burns' night dinner - including the piper and addressing the haggis). There's a wonderful choice of whiskies in the bar and Ian is very happy to help you through them with recommendations. Many hotels might do such things, but all the whiskies are a reasonable price too.

Breakfast, in the restaurant overlooking the mountains, was also just what you wanted.

It would have been lovely to spend a little more time and do some walking in the area; but even if the weather is poor you could enjoy your time inside.

Ian and Suzanne - thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your trip and your stay with us and hopefully if your ever up this way again we can welcome you back, some fantastic walks and of course the famous "Ben Nevis". Ian & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
6.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
12.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
175 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenspean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenspean Lodge Hotel

Property: Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Address: Roybridge PH314AW, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenspean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenspean Hotel Roybridge
Best Western Roybridge
Best Western Fort William
Glenspean Lodge Hotel Roybridge, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing