We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked this as a stopover for one night whilst touring, without taking a lot of time to research it. We were really delighted - it is a fabulous find. My image of a Best Western has leapt - I did not realise they have such individual and impressive hotels as this.

We stayed in the Braveheart suite - do so if you can. We ate dinner there - a very high quality meal. The bar was good, and there was a wide selection of food and drink. WiFi was strong (so often not the case) and we could find no fault with anything. Best of all was the welcome from Ian. He is cheerful and professional - an excellent combination for making you feel welcome and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can offer you a warm welcome should you ever return this way! Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Glenspean Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Glenspean is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting, it is local to our village Roybridge. I have never stayed in hotel but my husband and I like to visit òccasionaly for a meal in the resturaunt. The food is excellent with a good choice and there is always a specials board to choose from. Ian and his wife are very welcoming and the whole experience of having a meal there is very enjoyable.

Room Tip: As mentioned before we have not actually stayed in this hotel but eat there quite often. The service...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank scotslass9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoy our food and hope we can welcome you up on many more occasions!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nestled away on its own a few miles outside Spean Bridge you will come across the Glenspean Lodge, a lovely building nestled in some gorgeous quiet Scottish countryside.
The inside of the building is well kept, clean and very comfortable. We decided to upgrade to one of the deluxe rooms and was delighted with our room (No: 17), spacious and very comfortable.
The public areas are clean and inviting, Wi-Fi is available in the hotel although can be temperamental which is common in the Highlands. Bar is appealing and has a good selection, there is a wide choice for on the menu for dinner and the food is plentiful and of a good quality.
Our only gripe but not in any way a complaint is there is nothing around or nowhere to walk to but it is a lovely place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle.
Ian who runs the hotel was very friendly and welcoming, good luck to you and we will be back to try out more of the large selection of whiskies.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very comfortable and very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigscot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, now you see you will have to return so I can send you off on a couple of lovely walks to the old church (from Monach of the Glen!) and down to the gorge and the "ricklty bridge"! hope we can welcome you back again one day!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Last came here 4 years ago on a break with family - this time on a short break from the family(!)
Visited Glencoe, Glen Nevis, Ullapool, Cairngorms, and the road towards Kyle of Lochalsh. Tried to make it to Applecross but just ran out of time as had to get back to Glasgow Airport for flight home - not bad though for 3 days! Hotel stay was great as last time - breakfast was lovely as was dinner in restaurant area. Great games of darts, snooker, and the hockey game in the games room! Lovely tea provided out in garden and also in the comfy lounge area. Also went to Ice Age Landscape just a few minutes away from the hotel this time (reviewed separately) definitely worth a visit if you get a chance to stay at this excellent hotel. Keep up the good work Ian & Suzanne - lovely to see you again - maybe we'll revisit next time with the family again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharan_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It was lovely to see you again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see the new additions to the family if your ever all up this way!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from spending an all too short 2 day honeymoon at the excellent Glenspean Lodge. My wife and I stayed in the Braveheart Suite and it was stunning. Everything about the hotel was perfect. Ian does an outstanding job and we look forward to returning soon.

Delighted to recommend this terrific hotel!

Room Tip: Can't beat the Braveheart Suite!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you, The Braveheart Suite is Definitely a nice way to start your honeymoon!, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were returning from a weekend wild camping on the summer solstice after sea kayaking on Loch Sunart so were both unkempt, midgie bitten, tired and hungry. We were welcomed into the bar (with a real ale on tap), refreshed and fed from an interesting and delicious menu. Relaxed, comfortable surroundings, and efficient service from staff who knew all about the menu (surprisingly rare), and the bar has a friendly atmosphere.

Lots of parking and lovely gardens with great views from its elevated position, overall a nice retreat from Fort William and certainly a place I would return to to break up the lengthy trips westward.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we like to welcome people into our home and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope we can welcome you back in the future. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is an excellent well run hotel. Ian and Suzanne have one of the better examples of a Best Western, the place is spotlessly clean, certainly our room was well appointed, food and drink very good with comfortable facilities. The Restaurant and Bar menus are varied and appropriately priced, we tried several dishes off both and found them all to very good and good value. Breakfasts were equally good. It's a good location for the West coast exploration, but locally in Roy Bridge and Spean Bridge there isn't much of interest (and it's a car journey) so we made use of the hotel in the evenings for food. A thoroughily enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front for views, back for less road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
12.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
727 reviews
6.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
949 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
571 reviews
20.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenspean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenspean Lodge Hotel

Address: Roybridge PH314AW, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Price Range: £114 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenspean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenspean Hotel Roybridge
Best Western Roybridge
Best Western Fort William
Glenspean Lodge Hotel Roybridge, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing