We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding and service at Glenspean Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding and service at Glenspean Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

I've just returned from a small, friendly wedding up at Glenspean Lodge. I would recommend it to others wanting a small Scottish wedding, complete with bagpipes and breathtaking views.

We arrived at the hotel after a scenic drive along the shores of Loch Lomond and around the foot of the Ben Nevis range, and past the Glenboggle castle from TV series Monarch of the Glen. The bar is well stocked (with all different types of whiskey) and the two menus (restaurant and bar) welcome the newly arrived with mouthwatering, hearty portions of pork, steak and fish.

The wedding had around 25 guests (although you could probably have fitted in more) and felt a nice size as we spread out in the hotel's reception rooms, bar and cosy lounge.

Food and especially service, was of a good standard.
Breakfasts were my favourite... haggis/veggie haggis, kippers, full fried breakfast etc.

The hotel owners were very professional, knowledgable and helpful.

Lots to do:
During the weekend they provided wedding guests with recommendations on walks and climbs in the surrounding hills and mountains, whiskey distillery visits, as well as clay pigeon shooting, and even skiing. (Ben Nevis range - was really good, and as we also had a lesson, I'd like to say the instructors were really good). Depending on the weather/season, there are also rafting, quad biking, canoeing and shooting options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelovesEcudaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    62
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
60
158
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Stopped at this hotel for only one night, I wish it could have been more. The hotel is set in Roy Bridge about 10 mile from Fort William. The location is superb with wonderful views of the Highlands.The couple who managed the hotel could not do enough for you and were efficient and attentive without being over the top, offering a wonderfully personal service, where you felt nothing was too much trouble.
We found our room to be tastefully furnished with quality furnishings, comfortable with everything we needed for our one night stay.We ate in the bar and found the food to be above average quality and value for money, and enjoyed a superb traditional Scottish breakfast served by mine host himself. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience and if we ever find ourselves in that neck of the woods would have no hesitation is staying there again.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We loved the Glenspean Lodge. The owners were friendly and very helpful. The location was excellent, and the views were wonderful. The breakfasts were great, We had three dinners here and the food was very good. The service was slow one night, but they were very busy. We appreciated the free internet access. Very quiet at night - comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Originally we planned to stay Inverlochy Castle, Scotland’s probably best Hotel – or so they say. Due to difficulties with their online booking tool, we opted fort he Glenspean Lodge, which turned out to be a very wise and money saving decision. The hotel is managed by the owner couple, hard working and extremely friendly people who are at the guest’s service from early morning to late in the night. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, very clean, quiet. The property is very well kept, high-speed internet is free. The hotel is situated outside the village in a beautiful but isolated location, which could be a drawback, but Fort William is only 15 minutes away by car. We did not eat in the hotel’s restaurant, just had breakfast there – which was o.k. but not particularly impressive. In general, however, we can recommend the hotel without reservations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionysios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at Glenspean for only 1 night.I wish we had more time. The hotel was 10 miles from Fort William, which is very busy and touristy to my liking. I made the reservation through booking.com so I was not even aware that it was a Best Western. I don't know if it is a good thing to carry that name, but the hotel exceeds my expectations when I see Best Western label on it by a mile. The owners greeted us, they were very lovely and we were very tired to go out and explore Fort William so we stayed in for dinner. We sat at the bar area and the most wonderful lamb shank and very good fresh mussels with good wine, local beer and whisky afterwards. My 9 year old was very happy with his dinner and sent his compliments to the chef. Kids played in the game room and in the jacuzzi. Our room was a good size with a king and a twin in it. Our bathroom was very clean with enough amenities. My only comment would be: if only I could open the window all night. The windows did not have screens and I am not comfortable with screenless windows. We took a little walk before dinner and found a gorge with a suspension wooden bridge tucked away behind the railroad and some houses across from the hotel. It was great.In the morning we had breakfast and found out in the menu that this was ahunting lodge for some lord. I would heartily recommend this place for families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindoslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

My partner and I stayed at Glenspean Lodge for 2 nights in Aug-09. The owners were so welcoming, and the "hello" from their parrot was a unique surprise. Don't worry - they take him to bed at night, so he's no disturbance at all! Located just 15 minutes from Ft. William, this hotel has beautiful views from the restaurant and carpark, with plenty of parking out front. Our room was well furnished (although a bit too much pink for me) and very clean. The breakfast was great and dinner service even better. After a day of hill walking, nothing beats a jacuzzi and sauna! Rather than going in town for a night out, we stayed at the hotel playing board games, snooker, and air-hockey - great fun. This hotel is a perfect all-in-one retreat - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggieamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencaitland, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We did not stay overnight at this hotel but we did visit here quite a few times in one week! We were staying in self catering accommodation close by and we had drinks in the bar a few times and also ate in the bar of the Glen Spean Lodge twice.

The owners of the Lodge and all the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were welcomed each visit with a smiling face at the reception desk. Their service could not be faulted.

The bar area is lovely and spotless (and their bar toilets must be the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel! Always a good sign!!) and the prices very reasonable. Both meals we had here were in the evening and the food was fabulous. I had the lamb shank both nights as it was the best I have tasted! My other family members had the fish and chips, scampi and chips, steak, beef & ale pie and curry - all of which were excellent and we had clean plates all round at the end of the meal!

I wanted to write this review to reassure people of the food at the hotel due to a few comments from other visitors earlier this year. It's great and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel on our next visit to Roybridge and I would certainly eat here again. We overheard two couples chatting to each other and commenting on how nice their rooms were. I just wish I lived closer!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
6.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
12.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenspean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenspean Lodge Hotel

Property: Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Address: Roybridge PH314AW, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenspean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenspean Hotel Roybridge
Best Western Roybridge
Best Western Fort William
Glenspean Lodge Hotel Roybridge, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing