We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a brilliant place to make your base while exploring Sutherland and Caithness!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutherland Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What a brilliant place to make your base while exploring Sutherland and Caithness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed here overnight while on a two-day hillwalking break. I really enjoyed my stay. Came off the hill damp & cold and the ensuite shower was piping hot - brilliant! The evening meal was excellent & plenty of it. Good varied menu. The room was very comfortable & cosy. Good, plentiful breakfast. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The locals who we met in the bar were also very friendly. I am really looking forward to hillwalking in this area again & making Sutherland Inn my base.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    44
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
39
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

welcomed by friendly staff on arrival. She explained that we had a change of rooms as a member of staff had to stay overnight. We were with another couple and they were given a twin room we had the family room.we came back to our rooms at 11pm and while our room was quiet the other room had to endure a very noisy party til 02.45 in the morning our friends came to alert us to the noise at 01am there was no one on duty or a phone number to contact anyone. In the morning a complaint was lodged and the person who was in charge waved the fee for that night and a different room was allocated to them, The owners were away on holiday seemed that when the cat was away the mice will play!!!!!! The inn on the whole could do with an upgrade very tired looking.Lack of hot water needs addressing.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmarple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brora hotels

Markinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Sutherland Inn has good quality food with reasonable portions.
My wife, my daughter and I stayed in a rented cottage in Brora for 1 week.
The Sutherland Inn was a welcoming place with excellent whisky selection and one hand pump with real ale :)

The service was excellent and the locals were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This pub-type hotel demonstrated huge potential lost through what can only been described as total apathy on the part of the proprietor whose internet whisky business clearly took absolute priority.
We were booked in for a few days whilst visiting family nearby. First impression on entering the place was one of dark and dull. The atmosphere was filled with the smell of stale cooking fat against which the Tesco value air fresheners were fighting a losing battle. We were shown to a room that was as cold as the landlady's welcome. Dark coloured bedding did little to provide any confidence in the cleanliness of the place.
Heating of the bathroom water was controlled by a remote switch but the landlady who showed us to the the room failed to let us in on the secret.
Real ale was advertised in the bar but when ordered we were informed that this was unavailable. At dinner that evening there were more menu items unavailable than were available. A situation repeated on the second night. No surprise then that we chose to eat elsewhere that and the subsequent nights. (We can warmly recommend the local Indian restaurant - 'The Indian Ocean' - a full menu and large portions!)
Breakfast at the Sutherland was the one exception to our disappointment. Everything cooked to order, generous portions and delightful service. The breakfast room was undoubtedly the brightest and most pleasant in the place.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeCoW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel over a Saturday night.
The bar was welcoming and the staff were friendly.
Dinner menu was typical for the type of restaurant it was. Nothing special but adequate. Except, there were a few items not available. These were - soup of the day; gammon steak; turnip for the haggis, neeps and tatties ran out; roast of the day.
We ordered and waited, and waited. The restaurant was busy, the waiting staff were busy, but the food was slow in coming. It wasn't excessively slow, though. It was just slow enough that you begin to notice that you've been waiting, if you know what I mean.
The food was good - not brilliant - but good enough. And probably value for money.
The accommodation was typical of this type of old Scottish hotel. It was adequate, but dated. The decor was tired. The room itself and the bathroom was clean enough, and tidy, and comfortable.
Then came breakfast.
Breakfast was served between 07:30 and 10:00. We arrived at five to nine. The waiter was there and showed us to the only remaining set table. Apparently we were last up. There was breakfast debris from previous breakfasters on other tables.
Now this is a personal dislike of mine - I don't like having to self-serve in a restaurant. Any restaurant. We were instructed on how to make our own tea and coffee from the tea-bags and coffee sachets and the hot water flask that were available. Toast was "make it yourself", too. I made myself a coffee from one of the only two Nescafe sachets left. There was no hot water left for my wife to make tea. There were no breakfast tea-bags either. The waiter was called and asked to provide, which he duly did.
He then took our cooked breakfast order.
And we waited.
And waited.
And waited.
After 30 minutes, my wife went to see where our breakfasts were, to discover the waiter chatting to another staff member in the bar.
He had FORGOTTEN to make our breakfasts.
We cancelled breakfast, settled up, minus the cost of breakfast, and went on our way.
The debris from the other breakfasts still had not been tidied away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Great lace to stay on the way to John 'O Groats - food is high quality pub food. Several hundred whiskis to choose from at reasonable prices, all listed in a catalogue. Free Parking across the street. WiFi is free, but doesn't reach as far as Room 7. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rented a cottage in brora and must say Sutherland Inn amazing wee find. Good food big portions and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
19.9 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
16.0 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Property: Sutherland Inn Hotel
Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing