We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were on a tour of Scotland on motorbikes, the Sutherland Inn, Brora was a good stop enroute to John O'Groats.

The price was very reasonable, the rooms basic but clean and comfortable. We parked the motorbikes at the rear.

Ate dinner there and it was lovely, chicken stuffed with haggis in a whisky cream sauce, very recommended.

Oh and a hi to one of the customers at the bar, Fiona, who dropped a clothes line peg from her pocket and gave it me as a gift :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k100rs_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were only in Brora for one night and our hosts suggested this restaurant for dinner. It was simply delicious. My travel companion ordered the roast beef and it was the largest and tastiest beef she had ever eaten'. I had the steak and kidney pie, and it was simply delicious. The mixed veggies were lovely, and the new potatoes the sweetest ever. The atmosphere of the restaurant is warm and inviting. Five stars from me! Thank you for a truly amazing gastronomic experience. We were not billeted at the inn so we cannot comment on the hotel portion.

Room Tip: Can't seem to erase the room review or the fitness one. We didn't stay at the inn. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missuschief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

On the last evening of our holiday in Brora we went to the Sutherland Inn for Sunday lunch, tremendously good value, extremely lovely roasts - beef, lamb & pork was had - service was excellent. All round fabulous.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but had a meal here and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is on the main village road, but there's not a lot of traffic. The hotel also has a Whiskey Bar which you can buy if you don't have time to go to the local distillery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HeatherMegaMauriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

CONTEXT

Stayed here for one night whilst doing the John O’Groats to Land’s end route by bicycle. Did not book in advance. Sign outside said NO VAC ANCIES but went in to ask for advice on where to stay and was told a single occupancy room was available.

PROS

Friendly staff.

Inexpensive.

Good bar with wide range of whiskies and beers.

Comfortable room.

Great Sunday roast: £10 for three courses. Good quality for price.

CONS

None.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glevum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, good dinner. A very good place for a over-night stay. Location was great as we traveled with train and bus. Beautiful village, shop accross the street. Dinner was fullfilling (there was no way we could have eaten it all...) and coffee tasted like a piece of heaven after all-day outdoors :) Breakfast was basic, would not have wanted more. Staff was very friendly. All in all, no complains :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel lies on the main road in the middle of town and parking for the hotel is a cross the road in a public car park. When we arrived our check-in was a tad disorganized as there was minimal staff and the check-in lady was no-where to be found. Still it all worked out all right in the end thanks to Julian the barman.We had booked 2 single rooms and were given:

Room 1 - at the rear of the hotel. Room was dim but well appointed with a great big double bed, flat screen TV ( but reception was poor with some channels to jumpy to see), tea/coffee making facilities + biscuits and also bottled water. Room was of a reasonable size with plenty of hanging space but limited "laying out" space. En-suite had a toilet, shower and sink and came with handwash and moisturiser. I looked at the shower head and thought it might be underpowered - but boy was I wrong - there was a lot of water pressure there. Room had a nice "smell" to it but I could't place what is was, however.. There was some mould in the shower and a bit of wall paper falling off the roof. The room was the first I slept in - in the whole week that had "BLACKOUT curtains" - magic!.

Room 5 was pretty much identical but it faced the road and it had a bath/shower. Mum said that there was little road noise at night.

The bar/restaurant was quite busy and if you are "into" whisky there are just under 300 bottles for sampling. I liked the fact that they did whisky tasting trays. We ate in there and both thoroughly enjoyed it.

Breakfast is a help yourself affair in a small room near the kitcken. The room could do with a makeover. It was a help yourself affair but you could have a cooked breakfast on request. Coffee is Nescafe - if you want proper coffee you have to go down the road to a local cafe!

During day/evening meal service the staff were running around like banshees keeping everyone fed and watered. Boy were they working. I single out Julian for his excellent service, helpfulness and generally very positive attitude. Well done Julian.

Bearing in mind where you are and what is available - I thought this place was OK and yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
328 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Helmsdale
46 reviews
15.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing