We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but why so many chips?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was working in the area for a couple of days and since this was the only establishment selling food at night decided to eat here.
On the second night it would not have mattered if a 5 star eaterie had opened next door i would have still gone back to the Sutherland.
The food is top notch and the service is excellent, When you order chips as a side you get enough to feed a family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wullie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having read the reviews I thought we'd give this a go but greatly regret it now! The staff were fine enough but there was a really shabby look about the whole place and the tables in the bar and the breakfast room table mats were definitely in need of a clean. The steak was inedible and the breakfast, though plentiful, was very average. Had we realised there was another hotel round the corner we would have gone there. Pity because the inn has a good central situation and with some cleaning and refurbishing could be okay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The room furnishings were older, but the bed was comfortable. The walk from/to the train station was ten minutes or less. This is not the most posh hotel I have ever stayed in, but most of my time was spent outside of the hotel sight-seeing so it met all my needs. Definitely the best part of the hotel is the bar - I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Kristy_C26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were staying at the Brora Caravan club site a 3 mile walk along the golf course by the sea, stunning views, we had seen the Inn as we drove to the site in the north of the town. So we walked along the beach, and planned to have a meal. We ordered a real ale, which wasn't very good, and after 30 minutes we decided to leave, and seek a better place to eat, It was lunch time but nowhere else, served food, so we walked back via the harbour, and the golf club house. The Whisky shop within the Inn looked great, shame about the untidy pub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick_shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Two night stay on birdwatching tour. There is no private parking area at the Sutherland Inn, you park across the road about 200 metres away in the town's general parking area. Room was average, noisy toilet that dripped water into the cistern for a long time after flushing. Bed ok but not great. I ate in the restaurant one night, food was plentiful and good quality and value. The owner is a whiskey collector, the walls of the bar are lined with display cabinets containing rare and unusual bottles of whiskey and the bar has around 100 different ones available, only one real ale - hand pumped. Breakfast slow and restricted times, coffee is DIY using pump type vacuum flask of hot water and instant coffee, surprising in this day and age. The dining room was also a storeroom with cases stored under the table at one end and a child's bicycle propped against the serving table - not really what one expects to find at breakfast. Overall an acceptable stay but not really good value for money.

Room Tip: Roast of the day was good value and lots of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose this hotel because of its convince to a bus drop off. Reviews on tripadvisor had been mixed and I can see why. We stayed for two nights prior to going on a riding vacation and stayed a week later for one night before setting off to tour Scotland. Our first room had mold in the shower and on the ceiling though the room itself was quiet and appeared clean. I spoke with the staff in the morning and requested either the bathroom be cleaned or we be moved. When we arrived back that evening the ceiling had been painted over with fresh paint but the mold in the shower tiles had not been cleaned. Due to this fact I am unsure if the mold had been removed from the ceiling prior to its painting. We could not be moved for the night and on our return a week later planned to make sure the room we were given was mold free. The staff was/attempted to be helpful and for the most part those who waited tables were friendly - there is a waitress who appeared just generally not to care if you were there or not - but she was the exception not the rule. The dinning room food was plan fair and somewhat bland depending on the dish but edible with large portions. Breakfast was the better meal of the day. They had put us in a different room on our return - no mold and appeared to be slightly updated. Though it required the use of a pump to expel the waste water so every time you turned on the tap or used the toilet it sounded as if the room was coming apart. I am unsure if I would stay here again if I had the option for a local B&B but if there was no other option it would be okay.

Room Tip: Make sure you look in the bathroom before you accept the room (especially room #1). Room #5 had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potterkd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great place to stay if your touring the highlands, particularly if you are interested in sampling fine and rare, as well as ordinary single malts. We have stayed twice and will again this November. The rooms are spot on for an inn and have everything you need at a cheap price. The bar is incredible with hundreds of whiskies many of which you just don't see anywhere these days let alone have the chance to sample. Leon is great and extremely knowledgeable and will help you understand and appreciate the many offerings he has. The tasting trays are a great way to sample and very cost effective with the staff always willing to swap a whisky in or out if you have particular likes and dislikes. The food is good scottish Fayre and the breakfast very good. A must stop if your in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
339 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Helmsdale
47 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: £61 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing