We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth dropping in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth dropping in.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Staff and New Owners very nice and the food is lovely. The chillaxed atmosphere is welcoming. And in prime location in Brora Village Centre.

By the way I am a Local and it never disappoints Summer or Winter. - Deirdre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    47
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
25
47
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We tried the Station Bistro for dinner, only to find it closed (and it has been for some time). However we were lucky to try the Sutherland Inn, which we understand is under new management. The meals were excellent - my salmon being the best i have ever had and my wife's fishcakes also excellent but too big for her. Prices, staff and ambience were very good too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend. We were immediately impressed by the ambiance of the bar and the welcome we received from staff and locals alike. By co incidence we had arrived just as the town butcher was delivering supplies of the finest Scottish beef , followed soon after by a fish van from nearby Scrabster delivering fresh, not frozen, fish and scallops.
As we were staying Bed & Breakfast with evening Dinner then I opted for the fresh haddock and Irene for the steak. We were not disappointed- both were superb and , accompanied by home cut chunky chips, were a feast.
There is a fine selections of wine and a range of the excellent Isle of Skye ales to top of your stay!
Thoroughly recommended and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had lunch here and it was so good we went back on the second day, the food was piping hot and freshly cooked to order, also very reasonably priced, the Staff and locals were very friendly.
This is well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berrie7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We ate here last night, I think it was only the second night of them doing food since the new management took over. The bar was buzzing.
Lovely menu, not too big, it included local produce and the food we had (fish, salmon cakes, home made burger and a sirloin) were well cooked. Real ale on tap from the Isle of Skye brewery. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hubnut23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garelochhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was working in the area for a couple of days and since this was the only establishment selling food at night decided to eat here.
On the second night it would not have mattered if a 5 star eaterie had opened next door i would have still gone back to the Sutherland.
The food is top notch and the service is excellent, When you order chips as a side you get enough to feed a family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wullie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having read the reviews I thought we'd give this a go but greatly regret it now! The staff were fine enough but there was a really shabby look about the whole place and the tables in the bar and the breakfast room table mats were definitely in need of a clean. The steak was inedible and the breakfast, though plentiful, was very average. Had we realised there was another hotel round the corner we would have gone there. Pity because the inn has a good central situation and with some cleaning and refurbishing could be okay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brora hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
296 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
415 reviews
15.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Property: Sutherland Inn Hotel
Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing