We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with character”
Review of Clynelish Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clynelish Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Brora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely farm house in beautiful countryside right next door to the Clynelish Distillery.
We stayed in a big double room with a very large bathroom off it in the old farm house which is full of character.
Very well looked after with great choice of breakfasts and friendly host.
Short drive to Brora and it's lovely beach and Little Ferry in Golspie where we saw lots of Seals!
Will be staying again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Thank you so much for the absolutely delightful stay. I have never stayed in a house like this in my life and it was spectacular. The location, the building, the room and the food.

Also, we were looking to visit the distillery, which we then found out was only next door!

Congratulations on having such a beautiful business. A very beautiful and romantic idea which I could easily see myself wanting to run. Jealous but extremely happy.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing out to the garden is the room we had. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LainCoubert345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Clynelish farm earlier in the year and it was gorgeous! great host and yummy breakfast. beautiful property located near a scenic little seaside village. Victoria is an upbeat Aussie gal who is running the B&B with her husband, and is great value. She has put a lot of effort into doing the B&B up to a lovely modern yet country feel décor.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just spent 10 days touring the Highlands by motorcycle. Booked 2 nights at Clynelish to use as a base while exploring northern Scotland. Could not have picked a better place. Charming historic farmhouse next door to Clynelish Distillery. Perfect hosts and a very comfortable room.

Room Tip: I had the Yellow Room. Ensuite shower and views out over the fields to Brora and the North Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrParnassus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The entire experience was fantastic from the very beginning. Enquiry about booking was met with a very quick and friendly response. When we arrived we were delighted by the idyllic setting in gorgeous farmland. The farmhouse itself is large and spacious with comfortable rooms and facilities. The distillery right next door was also a big plus for whisky lovers.

Our host was wonderful, going out of her way to make us feel at home, giving us great recommendations for places to visit and activities to do nearby. Each night a welcoming fire was waiting for us and each morning we had a delicious home-cooked breakfast. Really amazing hospitality.

The countryside around Brora was wonderfully peaceful and further afield was beautifully untamed. We were never bored, but left well rested, and enriched for the experience.

Overall, the trip was a truly wonderful, thanks in very large part to our choice to stay at Clynelish Farm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lajhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Staying at Clynelish Farm was such an extraordinary experience that I don’t even know what to start with. So maybe start with the place itself? Clynelish Farm is a nineteenth century (1865) house that belonged to high-classes together with large surrounding terrain. It looks marvelous and sits surrounded by fields, farms and animals (hares and deers are a commonplace in the area) and has Clynelish whisky distillery as a neighbour, who actually owns the house and rents it to current landlords. The house is really big and quite many rooms are available for guests. On top of the rooms that we stayed at, there was a living room with a fireplace which was a perfect place for the evening and a separate dining room for breakfast with wonderful view to the surrounding fields and hares running by. The landlords are a super friendly and caring couple – an Australian girl, Victoria and her Scottish husband, whose name we didn’t learn. They run a huge sheep and cattle farm and a B&B as a side business, which you couldn’t tell, as the level of preparation, friendliness and openness to cater to all our needs was extraordinary. The choice for breakfast was more than you would expect from a B&B and the quality was there as well. After breakfast we asked if we could see the farm and Victoria took us to see the baby lambs that were just born a few days before – truly amazing. To cut the long story short – if you’re looking for a truly magic experience in northern Scotland, this is a place for you, and a place we would come back to without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A proper B and B. All the usuals done well: food, comfortable bed, clean house, etc. Jane and Murdo were truly excellent hosts; most engaging and able to offer so much information about the area as they've farmed in Brora for over thirty years. A lovely old farmhouse with beautiful gardens; one of the few B and Bs I'd return to like a shot. As Bill Bryson famously said of Durham: "Go, take my car....."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clynelish Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clynelish Farm

Address: Brora KW9 6LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brora
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Clynelish Farm Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing