We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable, homely very cosy  Auchencairn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable, homely very cosy  Auchencairn Cottage
Plenty of car parking and large front and back garden Scots Pine view of Auchencairn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Comfortable, homely very cosy  Auchencairn Cottage
Plenty of car parking and large front and back garden
Scots Pine view of Auchencairn
Garden room
Small balcony
Garden room and lovely outdoor space
Spacious garden room
Garden room with log burning stove
Cosy log stove
First double bedroom
Second double bedroom
Breakfast room
Brora beach
Brora sandy beach view
Sunrise on Brora beach
River Brora at Balnacoil
Garden room with wood burning stove
Local distillery a mile from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brora, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NicolasG3...
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Auchencairn is a great and very well equipped house. The sun room is amazing. The A9 access is very easy. And what a beautiful country ! I will come back. Thank's Mairi !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review Nicolas. I do hope you will make a return visit, you're very welcome. Thanks Nicolas . Regards Mairi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet590876
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Auchencairn
- a return visit for me and a first trip for my partner. It has all the charm of a cottage but is really a very spacious and well equipped 2 bedroom house. The piece de resistance is the Sun Lounge which is huge, very light and has a log burner. It's a great place to relax and read or 'hole up' in the evening to chat over a bottle of something...!

The weather was extremely kind to us - lots of sun and blue sky which showed the area off to best effect. We enjoyed walks along the stunning sandy beaches at Brora, Dornoch and further North at Loth. Loch Brora is definitely worth a visit, Dunrobin Castle is a 'must' and Dornoch town is lovely.

If you want to re-charge your batteries Auchencairn is a great place to do it. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, Jane. We're delighted that you and your partner had time to manage a return visit. We do hope you'll manage further visits to our sun lounge .
Best wishes
Mairi-Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maffoo100
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A holiday as it should be. Pictures do not do the house justice”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were totally bowled over by this wonderful house, the pictures actually undersell it. Fantastically well built property (the original plans are in the dining room), and the sun room is a thing of wonder. We went with a 15 and 16 year old girl,and we didn't turn the TV on all week. Board games,conversation and just relaxing in that amazing room. The linen,towels and kitchen equipment are all high quality, with the owner clearly putting long life and impression first. All in all a fantastic setting, just perfect for touring as the A9 access is so convenient (staying inland is all well and good, but it can take an hour to get to a main trunk road, making touring lengthy and tiring. This is much better). Well worth the long drive, we miss it already (currently rebooking as I type). Also, if you want good food, Sids in Brora is excellent (Indian) as is the Sutherland Inn (great steak and the biggest onion rings I have ever seen). Excellent service in there too. We can't wait to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coffee in the amazing sun room, and the all round view
Liked least: The stay was too short
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed a relaxing week. SIDS the Indian restaurant is very good. We would love to welcome you back to Auchencairn.
Best wishes
Mairi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifimar
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Auchencairn is such a comfortable house. The kitchen is well equipped and it supplies lovely fluffy white towels and the bed linen is very good quality.
My friends love visiting the distilleries nearby. We made in to Clynelish in Brora, Dalmore in Alness and Glenmorangie.
The walks on the gorgeous sandy beach are so relaxing.
The Golden Fry in Brora is great for fish and chips. The harbour in Brora is so very pretty.
My friends had an amazing week for our Highland holiday. We will return next year. Walking from Brora inland to the ford bridge is lovely. It's so nice to see the seal colony at the Sputie Burn area near the Doll in Brora.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious garden room with its comfy, large sofas
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for that kind review. I hope you'll return again.
Many thanks
Mairi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing