We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, poor room”
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel occupies a lovely Robert Lorimer building, originally built as a private house and full of period charm. The dining room is attractive in a country house way, and we enjoyed our meal (starter and mains), although the dessert choices were so limited that we didn't find anything worth bothering with. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked, but not cheap at £15, with apparently no cheaper continental option. It flustered the waitress for guests to choose their own table ! The main disappointment was the room (no.12). It was so small and full of furniture that there was barely room to stand or move around. Where there might have been a sea or garden view all we could see was the metal roof of the swimming pool (we assume). The cost of the room was nearly twice what we had paid a couple of weeks earlier near Bury St Edmunds for a much larger room.

Room Tip: Avoid no.12 - too small, horrible outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaWTring_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Marine Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotels ambiance, the dining room and your meal. I am sorry you felt there was an insufficient choice of desserts. There is always a choice of six including a selection of Scottish cheese and oatcakes.
I noticed that you booked through an agent which may explain why you stayed with us on a room only basis, very few guests do this to be honest choosing instead to include full cooked Highland breakfast (including a choice from the continental buffet) in their room rate. This may have been a better option for you although I think you will find £15 is about the norm for breakfast taken separately. We do offer a choice from the continental buffet at £12 so I regret if this was not offered as an alternative.
I admit that room 12 is not one of our largest rooms although unfair to say there was 'barely room to stand or move around' ! The room is well equipped as a standard double bedroom with en suite bath/shower, TV, hospitality tray, quality furniture and fittings that one would expect in a 4 star country house style hotel. However you are quite right the view is not brilliant - admittedly.
I am sure we would have offered you an alternative room if we had one available and you had made your disappointment known to us.
It is also slightly unrealistic to draw comparisons with a hotel room in Bury St Edmunds to be fair.
Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. I would be pleased to accept your reservation in person so as to ensure you are allocated a room with a view of the mountains and/or sea.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Been here many times before. Wonderful location for walking or golfing. The leisure centre is excellent and the food in the restaurant never disappoints. We had a large room overlooking the front of the Hotel which on this occasion was a bit noisy. The room was nice but was a little tired as was the bathroom which was very small. The room needs a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in July.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the hotels location, our leisure centre and the quality of food in the restaurant. It is interesting that you comment upon your bathroom as we are in the process of planning a refurbishment of our many of our bathrooms this coming winter.
We are also aware that for the size of bedroom, (some of which are quite large), the bathrooms are relatively small which indeed reflects your own observation, therefore where structurally possible we are intending to enlarge a few of the smaller bathrooms.
Once again, many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Marine in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & Generral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Royal Marine is a beautiful period hotel near the centre of Brora. It's location is perfect: just off the A9 which runs through Brora and 5 minutes walk to beautiful beaches, the golf course, the station and the town centre.

We stayed in a classic room which was reasonably spacious, had good quality decor and a large bathroom.

There was a wide range of cooked options for Breakfast and the buffet was of very high quality. We had a light lunch in the garden room which was good but service was slow. We had dinner in Lorimers which was a little disappointing. Service was poor and I thought the quality of food didn't match the prices charged.

We enjoyed the leisure club and were fortunate to have We the swimming pool and jacuzzi to ourselves.

Overall we had an enjoyable experience but only 4 stars as it didn't feel like great value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay here in July.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom, the hotels location just off the A9 and our leisure facilities, however concerned that you felt the restaurant food and service was not value for money. I regret you felt this to be the case. I will certainly be reviewing your comments with my operations team. Certainly we do not receive many negative comments regarding the quality of food which makes this all the more disappointing.
It is good to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Marine in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed just for a night but in great luxury in the Lynx View Apartments, some little way from the hotel itself. These are fully fitted out as holiday cottages with a great view of the golf course, as the name suggests, but also the 'northern' beach and a stunning view of the North Eastern coast towards Helmsdale and beyond.

The hotel was animatedly full which was good to see. The restaurant provided us with a very sustaining dinner (plenty of local fare on offer) and equally sustaining breakfast the following morning. House wine at perfectly reasonable prices.

It manages to retain its old world charm whilst not being stuffy, but we did benefit from enjoying it on a particularly sunny evening and day; I could well imagine it feeling a little less warm and welcoming on a 'dreech' day in November, say.

The staff were great - on the ball, accommodating and helpful.

It wasn't our first stay and it won't be our last. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Definite bonus to have a harbour or sea view. The back rooms can be a little dark. The Lynx View Apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Colin,

Many thanks for your kind review following your recent stay in the Links View Apartments in July.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your vist. Brora does indeed provide a superb base from which to explore this beautiful part of Scotland and the Apartments especially if you prefer self catering yet with the hotels excellent facilities including restaurants and leisure club just 2 minutes walk away. I agree Brora can be a little quieter in November and the weather can be less kind, however with roaring log fires and a warm highland welcome at the hotel, guests can still have a relaxing, restful and most enjoyable holiday.
It is good to hear the team looked after you so well during your stay and I am pleased that you plan to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had booked this hotel for the weekend of our friends wedding as the reception was being held there.
I have to say it has been exceptional!
The hotel was decorated in a way that enhanced the original features but didn't modernise it in a way that detracted from the simplicity.
Staff were welcoming and helpful and certainly added to the relaxed atmosphere.
Food was lovely and beautifully presented, I would have maybe expected a slightly larger menu given what could be sourced locally, but that aside it was lovely.
Comfortable room with everything you could need.
For the wedding reception the indoor marquee was fantastic great great venue!
Really sad to hear that it will be taken down as it really is a great hidden gem.
If we were ever to be back up for a stay we would most definitely book to stay and would highly recommend the hotel to family & friends.

Room Tip: If your wanting a view of bay/harbour ask for front facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mel,
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay here in June whilst attending a friends wedding. I am delighted to read that your thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and that the team looked after you so well. The Marquee is a fantastic wedding venue as you rightly point out, however sadly there just are just not enough large functions in this part of Sutherland to make it viable.
Thank you for recommending us and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Marine in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked this dog friendly hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is a few yards from the beach and local golf course so wonderful for the dog. Good sized rooms with large bathroom. The whole house has a feel of Arts and crafts style architecture. Very comfortable, nice rooms to have a coffee or the local distillery Clynelish malt.
The staff were very pleasant, very helpful and professional. The food was fabulous, enormous breakfasts if you wanted, excellent proper porridge, dinners were superb. The stay was very good, at £175 per night B and B it was a bit pricey but we enjoyed it and so paid up and were happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Rufus,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your generous review on tripadvisor following your stay with us in June.
Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. It is most rewarding to receive such kinds words and the team do take enormous encouragement from such feedback. I am especially pleased that your enjoyed your 'proper porridge' plus other meals. It is also good to hear that the team looked after you so well.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The main hotel is a lovely old building with great wooden panelling and nice sitting areas. The staff were helpful and friendly but somehow the atmosphere was just a little stuffy. There were two restaurants with very different menus and prices so make sure you choose what suits you. I did try food from both but was a little underwhelmed by the quality given the cost. Still the breakfast made up for it - it was first class. Delicious produce well cooked and served.
The hotel has a nice location and Brora is a more interesting village than the A9 route running through it would indicate. Worth a stop and an explore, espeically with the heritage trail information to help explain what you are seeing.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 - it looks out on a shed roof. I asked for a change and was given a much better outloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion_s661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Marion,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay a few weeks ago.
I am sorry to read that you felt the hotel was a little stuffy. This is certainly not the impression we intend to portray, on the contrary, I would like guests to feel relaxed as if at home with their feet up !
However I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and the hotels location. You are absolutely correct in your observation regarding Brora in relation to the A9 that runs through it. There are many lovely places to visit and explore in the local vicinity not least Broras splendid long sandy beach, harbour and surrounding countryside. It is indeed worth stopping off for a while.
Coming from Orkney you will know all about sandy beaches and wonderful countryside. I have spent the last two October holidays there (Orphir) with my family and loved every minute.
I thank you once again for your comments and hope to welcome you again in the future on your way north.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
480 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
804 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
24.5 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Golf Road, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: £93 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty one bedroomed Four star country house hotel situated just 100 metres from James Braid Links Golf Course and miles of glorious sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing