We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Birch Tree - CLOSED

The Birch Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a bistro style restaurant located at Delny near Invergordon in the Highlands of Scotland. 'Our food philosophy is driven by our passion for cooking and the seasonal and sustainable produce that we source from our equally committed local producers and suppliers.' Wednesday to Sunday lunches Noon until 2pm Wednesday to Saturday Dinner 6pm until 10pm
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate here with friends and I thought the food was terrific and would recommend to anyone. I can eat, but be warned, you'll know you've had three courses. Read comments about the furnishings? but I felt welcome and the place is not at all pretentious. Back to the food..my steak was as ordered medium rare. I can't remember the last time I ordered steak and got it exactly as I wanted. We were a party of 4 and everyone enjoyed their meal without exception. Why 4*. The service could have been a little more polished and it's not cheap. That said, staff were really pleasant and I'd eat there any time. Well done the Birch Tree

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    14
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Timney / Holmes family meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

we have been to The Birch Tree a few times now with family. We have always had a lovely meal and the staff are very pleasant indeed. We would definitely recommend The Birch Tree if you are in The Highlands.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtimney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had lunch at The Birch Tree on a Saturday - there were only the three of us in the restaurant and I just don't know why?

This is one of the best meals that I have had in the area, with excellent service and nice surroundings.

Food was amazing, fresh and beautifully cooked. Portion size was just right and the price for the quality of food was unbelievable.

I highly recommend making the 30 - 40 minute drive out of inverness to visit this gem of a restaurant, you will not be disappointed!!

We will return again very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent food, flavours and textures. A bargain! OK, a little out of the way, but it is worth the journey. Not sure if they can make any profit at these prices but get there before too many people find out. Nice relaxed atmosphere and staff very attentive. Just go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muiryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A birthday night out which was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had booked a meal here after hearing all the positive comments locally and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. The disabled access was very good too.

The food was excellent - I had the wood pigeon, steak and sticky toffee pudding and they were all out of this world. Everyone else's food was up to the same standard. I have recommended the restaurant to my parents who intend to pay a visit soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Birch Tree also viewed

Invergordon, Scottish Highlands
 
Invergordon, Scottish Highlands
Invergordon, Scottish Highlands
 
Invergordon, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing