We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view”
Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Wales
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel is in a lovely lochside location and isgenerally good value for money. The decor could do with a refurb but staff were helpful and friendly. We were a bit disappointed with the restaurant meal - we were hoping for some more seafood choices , but the scallop starter was excellent. Unfortunately, our main course was served on cold plates and the vegetables were definitely undercooked (not just crunchy). However, there is still much to like about this hotel. I slept in a bedroom next to the road, but still had a good night's sleep (the road is not very busy during the night). The single rooms were small, but comforatble and functional and were good value for the height of the season. The hotel is frequently used as a wedding venue and I would guess that they do this very well. The marquee in the garden would be a lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culture_FanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    243
    121
    57
    45
See reviews for
111
352
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We ordered three meals in the public bar which arrived quickly enough to raise concerns. My special of the day which was 'Roast of the Day'. The lamb was like shoe leather, the brocolli was yellowing, the roast potatoes where dark in colour. The whole meal appeared to have been given a nuclear strike in the microwave so was hot but no better for it. First impressions were met by a similar taste - awfull. Polite feeedback when asked was our meal OK was met by, " I will tell the chef" then nothing more. Suffice to say we will never return and were thankful we were not booked in to the hotel itself . The hotel was looking tired in the way that some underinvested chain hotels do.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highspy-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Onich hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Just there one night. Very pleasant local staff; nice room and very nice bar supper. £141 for db&b and bar tab, which was a couple of bottles of wine. Maybe a bit steep, but depends how far in front you book, maybe get it far less with a days notice but they said they were well booked up so you take your chances. Considering it was the only room left in midweek for anywhere decent around Fort William it was well worth it. Would revisit to be honest. Comfortable, good food, lovely local staff..what more do you want in the Highlands :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmm3487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

A lovely place to stop over before our family caught the Jacobite steam train from Fort William to Mallaig. This hotel's strong points are the stunning panoramic views of Lock Linnhe and the surrounding mountains and the very pleasant staff.

Take a drink down to the end of the garden and enjoy the sound of the tidal loch lapping against the sea wall. After a drive through Glen Coe the Onich Hotel is an ideal place to rest up and enjoy the scale of the Big Country.

The bar food was fine, a fairly standard pub menu with reasonable prices and the breakfast the next morning was a good solid all dayer with no frills nor anything to complain about. There was even a cooked veggie option.

The rooms were pleasant and we had views overlooking the loch. My mother is a light sleeper and there was an audible engine hum in room 1 but the management were quick to move my parents to another room when asked.

The midgies in the evening were a pain but that's something you must expect on the West coast of Scotland in mid-summer.

Probably not the place for you if you're looking for a high concept city boutique affair but this slightly old fashioned and genuinely relaxed hotel is a great place to stop off at and switch off for a while.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very disappointed by this hotel. It did not live up to the standard we had expected from the information that we had received. The location is superb, but the much vaunted gardens were a huge disappointment to us.(small and untended). Our room was small but comfotable, the staff were pleasant, but the restaurant service was awful and very very slow. The thing that really upset me was the breakfast menu which was very limited indeed and I do not expect to pay an extra £2-50 to have a kipper or a piece of smoked haddock instead of a full Scottish breakfast or porridge. Overpriced and overated as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kettle-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

The view from the room quite simply made this hotel. Great price of £70/night - basic, clean room with all necessary amenities. Loved falling asleep hearing the noise of the waves as they lapped against the shore. Just lovely. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlemissperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Amazing location. Rooms not stunning but perfectly good. All staff pleasant and helpful and bar food very good (fantastic view of loch whilst you're eating it!) Only negative; difficult to find space in car park at times but still worth going!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,164 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
675 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Property: Onich Hotel
Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing