We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camus House Lochside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just stayed there 2 nights with a friend and we loved it. Louise and Alastair were so friendly and helpful. Louise spent time with us the first morning helping us with suggestions of things we could do in the area. We took most of her suggestions and had a great time. The house is charming, our room was huge, and we had a fabulous view of the loch. We felt totally spoiled.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Super B&B right on the Loch. Alastair and Louise were really welcoming and full of good useful info on local sights we would pass on our nest leg of our journey. They also told us know about local restaurants before we arrived so we could book due to high season. Great breakfast and the views from both our room and breakfast room were amazing. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excelent is the best way to describe Camus House.
The owners Alastair and Louise. The accommodation. The location. The views. Excellent.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The house is spectacular, especially the entrance hallway. The breakfast is lovingly prepared and good quality ingredients used. The poached eggs are perfect, not often you find that in a guest house.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in hindsight wish we had stayed here for longer.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a bay window with beautiful views over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 769WayneF769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had one night here recently, and it was great! The couple who run it are very friendly and helpful, and do everything in their power to make your stay relaxing. The rooms were big and well appointed - there is wifi, TV, tea & coffee, desk etc. Everything that you'd need. Very comfortable beds too. The style is more rustic/old fashioned - don't expect sleek modernity - but then you're in the middle of the Highlands! It perfectly positioned to, with some local restaurants close by and Fort William just 20 minutes away by car. Oban is close too.

The cooked breakfast, which is included, is astoundingly good too - some of the best haggis I've ever had! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views over the Loch, so try to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Back again to this excellent accommodation. We had beautiful bedroom overlooking the loch which was clean, comfortable with good en-suite. As usual the breakfast was very tasty and had plenty of choices. Alastair & Louise are excellenet hosts and we look forward to staying there again on our future travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I will admit that I had my hopes up based on these reviews. It was even better. My son and I had traveled all over Scotland, and we saved the best for last. As others have noted, the hospitality is excellent. We received a welcome as though we were family. The inn is in a great location. There are so many things to do nearby, including Glencoe, Glen Nevis, and several others. We took the ferry to Mull. The breakfasts were delicious; the inn was spotless and clean, and the hosts were magnificent.
I hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Alastair and Louise are such charming hosts. They go out of their way to welcome to their home Camus House. We were lucky to get the last room at short notice. A nice twin room with a side view of the garden and the loch. It had everything one could need for an overnight and the room was quiet and the bed comfortable. A lovely breakfast which was delicious and nicely presented. Lovely area to stay and explore. Fort William, Ben Nevis and Glencoe all within easy distance. This is our second visit and we intend to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
0.1 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camus House Lochside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camus House Lochside Lodge

Property: Camus House Lochside Lodge
Address: Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Onich
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character Victorian property conveniently located between Glencoe and Fort William. Standing in it's own grounds in an elevated, lochside position with magnificent far-reaching views.Offering B&B accommodation where a warm welcome and high standard of comfort awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camus House Lochside Lodge Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing