We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff, basic and clean”

Longforgan Coaching Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longforgan Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great staff, basic and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I booked a room in this inn very much last minute and was so impressed at how helpful and keen the staff were, not only at accomodating myself but also catering for my dog. The room was clean, and ideal for somewhere just to put your head down for the night, Yes it is basic but this is very much reflected in the price, and i wouldnt hesitate to stop here again on my travels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    13
    7
    14
See reviews for
12
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Ended up here after being doubled booked at another hotel. The price reflects what you are paying for.

Very basic. Needs some TLC. The staff were helpful enough. The food ok. Not on my list of re-visits.

If your on a tight budget & are looking for no frills. It will suffice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcanary76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philomena7
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

But that's about it. The hosts were lovely, very welcoming and as a single female traveller, I felt quite safe here. The food was basic but eminently edible and very reasonably priced.

The room had definately seen better days - the bed was lumpy, the carpet worn and the paintwork very, very tired, as was the linen. As other reviewers have pointed out, the quilt cover was velcro down the middle, making a noise every time you turned over. My room had a view over the courtyard and into the carpark and local schoolyard. Other rooms may have had views to the river. Car parking was ample.

Having said all that, this is still one to keep an eye on; it is a great location - literally minutes from Dundee - and the owners indicated that there are plans in place to completely rebuild/refurbish the site in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthcombeRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Longforgan hotels

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I booked this hotel last minute through laterooms.com and paid £80 for 2 nights. Quite reasonable I thought untill I got there. You check-in, inside the pub, which has I'm guessing, seen better days. When I got to the room I was speechless. There was a plastic bag sellotaped over the smoke alarm, a shelf sitting at a 45 degree angle. Not only did the two single beds velcro together but so did the sheets!!! None of which seemed particularly clean I might add. The bathroom was carpeted, YUK! I recon I would have been more comfortable camping to be completely honest. Oh and upon check out (on a Sunday) don't plan to head off early as the pub doesnt open untill half past 12 and there is no one about to check you out!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leigh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

found the saff nice food good basic but tidyer than some of your more expensiive hotels al round i found ti very relaxen quiet every thing you need

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andydiggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firenze
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

I found it very confortable, the room was clean, tasty food and helpful staff. We really enjoy our stay in the inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is very basic place to stay. I only chose the inn for its more rural location, but in retrospect, it would have been easier to stay in nearby Dundee. The decor is dated and the bed was very uncomfortable. Although the staff were helpful, I was inconvenienced on the morning of my departure, as when I tried to check out at 9am (a reasonable hour in my opinion), there was no-one to be found. I had to waste time looking for someone to hand the key to, and consequently missed my bus to Dundee and then missed an onward train. This was a frustrating experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longforgan
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
6.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longforgan Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longforgan Coaching Inn

Property: Longforgan Coaching Inn
Address: Main Street, Longforgan DD2 5EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Longforgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Longforgan Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longforgan Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longforgan Coaching Hotel Dundee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing